We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
Review of Anglers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anglers Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Choppington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here for one night in order to visit my sister in Wansbeck Hospital. The room was very clean as was the hotel. The evening meal well what can I say I think it was one of the best we have ever had. The tiger prawns on a bed of salmon rissotto were to die for as were the fish cakes well done the chef. The owners were very friendly& work very hard. All in all would definately reccomend for quality rooms & food.

Room Tip: room one overlooking park & river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 85 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My dad and I had lunch on Saturday, were warmly welcomed by the host and given menus. The menu catered for all tastes. Dad had salmon and I had the burger. This was the best burger I have ever had, so tasty with a side salad and wedges which were delicious! Dads salmon was beautifully cooked and he's very fussy! We were served in no time, unlike some places (three shoes!) where you wait an age. We will definitely return.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank shirley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Passed by in the car at 1pm and thought that pub look nice. Being out for a good walk we planned to call on the return leg and were looking forward to a nice drink and a late lunch. Arrived on foot at 2.20pm to find all doors locked! A passing local told us that it closed from 2:30 to 5:00pm. We're were really disappointed and a note on the pub sign about opening hours would have been helpful.
Other would be visitors should note this, while we look forward to being able to visit in the future.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AnneandArk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Visited for the second time this weekend and we were seated in the restaurant. Staff were friendly and efficient. We ordered two roast dinners and the empty plates said it all. Great taste, great portion size and great friendly polite service. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chrissie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Went to the anglers for a family meal.
Gorgeous food & friendly welcoming staff.
Had ribeye steak which was the best i have had in a long time.
Father in law had a trio of lamb which is highly recommended. Amazing.
What really made the meals was the sides, although the meat was perfect the sides of homemade chunky chips and onion rings (very generous portion) were delicious .
Will we be going back? we will be making an effort to go back next time we are in the North East - Loved it

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Dmarsh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a review of the restaraunt....Running out of ideas we tried this place...was empty when we went in and must admit it felt cold and stark...nothing 'cosy' about it at all.
There was a fair choice of food although when it came it was just alright, nothing really to write home about.
The staff however were fantastic, really couldnt do enough for us, just wish the food and the atmsphere/furnishings (wooden floor/wooden tables) had made the place feel more 'cosy' :-(

Was the only time I have been though, and I suppose most places that are empty have no atmosphere so will be trying them again, and thats purely down to the staff, if they had been even ok, then I dont think I would bother, but they were so good that they do deserve a second chance...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Iancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, General Manager at Anglers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Hi, thank you for your feedback. It is great that you want to give us another try and we will review this feedback at our next review meeting so it really does matter to us. Thanks for praising the staff, they do work hard. Just a small point but we don't have wooden floors. We try hard to deliver a good experience for our customers and its a shame that you were not blown away by your experience last time.We hope to see you soon to sample our new menu and we also look forward to reading your next review of a visit. Thanks, Lisa, Anglers Arms Choppington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a family meal. The staff were very friendly and the food was lovely. Averagely priced and good parking facilities too. Deserts sounded delicious but didn't have one. The lasagna was amazing.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank KH2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anglers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglers Arms

Address: Sheepwash Bank, Choppington NE62 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Choppington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Choppington
Price Range: $89 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anglers Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anglers Arms provides high quality B&B accommodation with inclusive breakfast and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Anglers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing