We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy”
other travelers have booked this property
Besom Barn Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Besom Barn Exterior
The loung area Lovely log-burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Besom Barn Exterior
The loung area
Lovely log-burner
Newly refurbished bathroom
Very comfy double bed
Kitchen area
Dining area
How about a lovely coffee?
Kitchen and dining area
Lovely log-burner
Dining table
Very comfy double bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Longframlington, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
richard m
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alternative view”
Reviewed September 23, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Having read the previous reviews it wasn't quite what we expected and we should have researched more carefully before booking. Sue and Chris were very friendly and welcoming but we hadn't realised it was so close to the main Morpeth to Coldstream road which was both fast and noisy at times. The cottage was well equipped but the addition of a Cafetiere would be welcome( instead of coffee machine ) We felt it wasn't really a cosy retreat for us as it was overlooked by neighbours which is not mentioned in the Cosy Retreats information. The security night light from the neighbouring cottage shone directly into the kitchen at night and disturbed our sleep.
We were hoping to be able to walk directly from the cottage, but because of the dangerous road we had to drive everywhere.
Having said all that, we did enjoy visiting the coast, Craster, Banburgh, Alnwick, Lindisfarne and the Simonside hills.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2018
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again, hope to be able welcome you back soon! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Global702...
2 reviews
“Great little place.”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The barn was cosy and comfortable for just us and the dog. Sue and her husband made us feel very welcome.
The barn has everything you need but no washing machine. We bought plenty of clothes so that wasn't an issue. The building is next to a main road, some people have said that the noise bothered them but we did not notice the noise much at all. Sue kindly let us use her garden to let our dog have a safe run around in but when you go out at night have a good torch. There are some outside lights that come on but there are still bits not lit up. We were left milk, tea, coffee, sugar. As well as some bisuits and lovely home made marmalade.
Longframlington is a lovely village and well situated to get to various places. Lovely walks pretty much everywhere. There is so much to see and do. The views from the barn are gorgeous also. We are planning to come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2017
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we're looking forward to welcoming you back! Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback, it's appreciated. John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliechis...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“cosy retreat”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Wonderful scenery and beaches in the area we walked for miles with our dog. Besom Barn was lovely and cosy with everything needed for our stay. I didn't actually meet sue but knocked on her door the morning we left but I think she had gone out. a lovely weekend in a lovely location.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2017
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope we can welcome you again in the future :) John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourist57...
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Set in beautiful surroundings with lovely views from kitchen window the cosy retreat lives up to its name . Sue and Chris have thought of everything for an accommodating stay location is ideal for exploring the beaches and castles and not far from Edinburgh . We had a short stay but will definitely be back
Thank you both.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happyjack...
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Getting a little tired.”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Owner Sue welcoming, place was clean lovely views unfortunately though no access directly to the available garden which can be awkward if your pooch needs a pee at midnight.Road which is close to property is noisy and busy with trucks passing at maximum speed and no pavement also the public footpath system does not operate here with farmers grabbing the land for crops and not maintaining access.However back to the cottage ,it needs a new fridge,sofa,matress, towels and a nonslip mat for the shower also you can thank me for unblocking the shower drain good luck with the weather!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Dog having to be driven mainly to be exercised
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most amazing time at Besom Barn. From the view from the kitchen window, to the lovely much appreciated goodies. We had the biscuits straight away, and the wine with our locally bought fish and chips (Tuesday night van in local playground). The cottage had an abundant supply of logs, but as we picked a heatwave week, didn't light as much as we could have.
The owners are only next door, but we only saw them if needed.
I would definitely recommend a stay here. We will return as there is so much to see and do (or as little as you want). The big dark skies, walks, beaches, castles, so near to Scotland, friendly people, the lust is endless.
Great place! Well done

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback Bev, it's really appreciated! Really pleased you enjoyed your stay - hopefully we'll see you again soon :)

John,
cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing