We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melkridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hadrians Wall Camping and Caravan Site
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Recently stayed here for a couple of nights as backpackers. We were met by the lovely owners who showed us around and gave us an option of where we wanted to pitch. Unfortunately for us we chose the "backpackers stretch". The reason for the "unfortunately" is that there was no shade and was woken by the heat coming through our tent at 0600 in the morning which was unpleasant. The site itself is lovely with some great views of the countryside. I was shocked to find that you had to pay £3 for a wash load and £3 for tumble dryer after paying £3 for the facilities. We had stayed at 2 other campsites previous to Hadrian's where EVERYTHING was included.
The only other bad experience was that we had food stolen from the communal fridge.
I will be definitely be returning when up that way again next year as it was a lovely site with lovely people. I will highly recommend this site to my friends who will be attempting Hadrian's Wall in the near future.
Thank You to all ;-)

Room Tip: Ask for shaded area if pitching a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetocamp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 116 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hadrians wall campsite

I stayed here for two nights at the end of June. Campsite was very easy to find and on arrival we were met by the campsite wardens who were very helpful and pleasant. Campsite is very clean and nice to look at with a little duck pond and baskets of flowers. The campsite is on many levels with the top ones having fantastic views. The site has its own little shop and you can even get a cooked breakfast as well. The toilets and shower block was warm and kept immaculate at all times. There is also a drying room with washing machines and tumble dryers £3 each. This room includes sockets to charge phones or in my case straighten my hair. In nearby Haltwhistle there is a Sainsburys supermarket which is open till late and a nice fish shop if you get sick of the BBQ. Campsite is ten mins from the wall and about an hour from Keilder water. In a nut shell a fantastic site, clean well run and value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chynagirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights this week in order to do some walking on the Wall. The site is very well situated as its only about a 15 min walk to the wall. We were greeted very warmly by the new wardens and by Graham the owner on arrival. We were offered a choice of pitches and chose K2 just one level down from Everest. Fantastic views over the stunning countryside.
We have camped all over Britain, Europe, and New Zealand and would rate the facilities, and the attitude of the owner and staff as excellent and up there with the best . We will definately be back and would recommend the site wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Camp site , all pitches looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmic674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Camped here the Late Spring BH on the Saturday Night. Great weather so we struck Gold.
Even if it was raining, I am sure that would not have spoiled what this site has to offer. The facilites and its location to the Hadrians Wall sites and for some small pitcuresque walks are excellent. this was our first experience in our newly acquired camper Van and given the facilities and the friendliness of the staff (not to mention the location offering some amazing Scenery), this was a really succesful and enjoyable first time in the Camper.
It really does deserve its rating. Only 3 miles walk to Sycamore Gap and 10 mins drive to Houstead, Vindolanda or Roman Army Museum.

Room Tip: NA Campsite, not a hotel. All pitches are picturesque
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camos07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night in May 2013 whilst visiting my cousin, the Roman Wall and doing some walking in the area. The site was well sign posted and easy to get to. The Wardens have now left and the site is at present managed Graham the owner, who was extremely friendly and helpful.
The views from the site are fantastic and it is set in a lovely, peaceful location. The washing up area was very clean, with an excellent laundry too. The toilet block was extremely clean, warm with plenty of room and the showers were very good. They work on a push button every 30 seconds. The radio playing through wall speakers in the shower / toilet block was a really nice touch. As was the pond and lovely ducks. The site also had a small cafe and shop. The facilities overall were very good. I could not criticise anything on this site. The EHU is 16 amp. This is a fantastic base to visit all tourist attractions or just to enjoy one of the many walks that surround the site. Overall a superb site and we look forward to returning to this site very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jocorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here in early April 2013 and to be totally honest, based on several previous reviews, we weren't really sure what to expect.
The site is well sign-posted and easy to find from 'Roman Road' and certainly no mega-steep hills as one particular reviewer stated! Received a very warm welcome from female warden who really couldn't do enough for us. The onsite wash rooms and toilet facilities are spotlessly clean (and even play soft music). There are three large sinks (with covered roof) for washing dishes, etc. Again, these are very clean and tidy. We pitched two tents (was spending time with family exploring nearby Hadrian's Wall) on grassed area near to entrance. Plenty of room for kids to run around and explore (chickens and very friendly ducks that paid us several visits during our stay).
We met Graham, the site owner, on our last day and he really is a charming man (full of local knowledge and advise which he is more than happy to share).
All-in-all, a great short break only dampened by the weather which, sadly, if something no-one is able to control.
We really can't find any foundation for previous negative reviews and now wonder if there is a bit of sabotage here from an 'alternative' nearby site!
We look forward to another camping weekend during the summer month.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swededreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Irene and Vivelaginge have pretty much summed it up. The site is nice but the warden (only one of them, the other was nice) was very rude and unhelpful. He stood outside the toilet block chain smoking at 8am and when we asked about the possibility of getting some breakfast he replied "I don't start 'til 8.30" He was also extremely rude to the point of being aggressive to a member of our party who was asking about using the camping barn rather than the tent place we had booked. In addition to this one of our party had booked and paid but they had no record of this and we all got charged different amounts for our nights accommodation - varying from £7 pp to £14pp in the same sized tent?
There are so many lovely places along the wall.....Don't stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melkridge
1.3 mi away
Herding Hill Farm
Herding Hill Farm
#1 of 11 in Haltwhistle
237 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ald White Craig Farm
Ald White Craig Farm
#3 of 11 in Haltwhistle
62 reviews
22.4 mi away
Border Forest Holiday Park
Border Forest Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Otterburn
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadrians Wall Camping and Caravan Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadrians Wall Camping and Caravan Site

Address: Melkridge NE49 9PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Melkridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Melkridge
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing