We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great getaway, whatever the weather!”
other travelers have booked this property
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning
the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
The interior is bright and airy with fantastic views, especially from the bay.
The view from the cottage of the Cheviot Hills
The garden at the rear extends to over 2 acres
Level access via the garden gate, secure parking for cars. Garage parking for mobility scooters
We also take winter bookings!
fabulous sunsets
Horizon of the Otterburn ranges
On the hill behind the cottage
The Farne Islands
Bamburgh Castle
Coach House floor plan
New Year 2015 at the Coach House - Nuthatch
Roebuck in velvet 11.1.15.  Roe Deer graze on the lawns most days
We love our deer, but they are not supposed to do this!
The doe who will hopefully produce a couple of fawns around June time
May time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thropton, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ashley G
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great getaway, whatever the weather!”
Reviewed April 3, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My wife and I stayed at the Coach House over the Easter weekend and had an incredibly relaxing stay.
The winter weather continued and we had snow on a couple of the days, but this made the cosy atmosphere of the place even more welcoming. Well heated and well equipped, we were able to settle in with snacks and enjoy the views across the valley, to distant snow capped hills and watch the abundant birdlife visiting the various bird feeders, counting over 30 species of birds from the window over a couple of days.
The weather broke on Sunday so we headed to the coast, roughly an hour by car and spent the afternoon walking around Holy Island, there is so much to see and do in this area.
With many walks in beautiful landscapes on the doorstep of the Coach House, we look forward to visiting in another season. Certainly a place you would return to again and again, well recommended, even though we'd rather keep it a secret!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin...
1 review
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed March 1, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed for two very cosy nights in the coach house. Graham was most welcoming. The surprise chocolate and wine that was left for us was a lovely touch! The surroundings were extraordinary, we felt at peace. Teeming with nature. Completely cut off from the world! The coach house was warm and extremely clean. The coach house was everything we wanted and needed! My only gripe - could do with a new set of bedding. We decided to stay in both nights as the weather was rather chilly. We decided against the local pub as the menu wasn’t that enticing. The local Italian in Rothbury had a limited menu and closed at 8pm.

A short drive from Alnwick, Holy Island and Newcastle made it the perfect romantic getaway for us. We will most definitely think about returning in the summertime!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin R
1 review
“A fantastic holiday location - relaxation and tranquility.”
Reviewed February 12, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We have just returned from a two night stay at the coach house with our Labradoodle. The accommodation is lovely and cozy and the views from the windows and Decken area overlooks the Cheviots which is breath taking. Just up the lane from the Coach House accesses the moors which was great for waking the dog in the mornings. We spent our time visiting nearby Cragside National Trust. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. What a fantastic Holiday location. On return home we immediately made enquiries and booked up for a 5 night summer stay. We highly recommend the Coach House for a relaxing and peaceful break away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark b
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally Chilled Out”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We have stayed in many good hotels in our lives but the coach house offered something unique. its a wonderful experience offering a simple but quality experience. We would definitely recommend to friends and would love to return but for a longer period next time.
Loved it and thank you to Graham and Jackie for such a warm welcome and for the welcome pack of wine and chocolates .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional holiday home & location”
Reviewed October 17, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

With breathtaking views and all home comforts, the coach house is so good we've stopped looking elsewhere for a holiday let, and have been back every year since our honeymoon in 2011.
The owners are not just great hosts, but also take great care of the coach house and their attention to detail is first class.
The location is stunning and the property makes an ideal base to discover the delights of Northumberland.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaCar...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Mini Moon at the Coach House”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Well then , I will start with an apology to Graham the perfect host . I must have seemed like an excited puppy when we arrived - a little late sorry - I had been so excited from the day Phil had told me he had booked it for our 1st anniversary . And it didn’t disappoint in fact blew both of our expectations away . Now I’d read all of the reviews so thought it was going to be good , but it is exceptional . Everything you could absolutely want had been thought of . I’d taken bits in case I needed them , but Graham and Jackie had it covered from tea and proper coffee to shower gel , amazing . The Coach House is so snuggly it wraps its arms around you as soon as you walk in and gives you a massive hug . Just the place for our anniversary . We packed so much into our 4 night trip it was amazing , but I couldn’t wait to get back each day to snuggle up on the most comfy bed ever and just be . We will most certainly be back next year for longer . The best holiday adventure we have ever had . And a huge thank you for the Flowers, wine and chocolates , such a lovely thought . Ps hope the fish survived !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl3tchpau...
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing week at the Coach House”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

After a year to the day married my wife and I wanted a break away somewhere special. We found the Coach House while looking on the internet and what a gem! The perfect mix of beautiful countryside and great accomodation(cosy,warm,charming,beautiful and so relaxing). Graham and Jackie were such lovely people to deal with, great communications upto the visit and so friendly and helpful. If you have not been before do not miss out on this very special place. Plenty to do in the area, you will be busy day after day. We are already planning our return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing