We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am moved to report an excellent evening out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Three Wheat Heads Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Thropton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I am moved to report an excellent evening out”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We are staying at a self- catering place in Rothbury and Margaret suggested she take me out for a birthday evening meal. I said it was a lovely idea but that I doubted if we could find a good local place for an evening meal. Lunch-time......yes, lots of choice, but it all seems to shut down in the evenings, well, apart from pubs wih music. The thing is that my birthday this year is on a Monday and that is when all the restauranteurs take a day off. Also, Margaret is a vegetarian and I get worried about the "also-ran" type single vegetarian choices on the menu which give you the feeling of the chef deigning to produce something like a watery risotto because, it seems, meatless is no real food and they grudgingly produce somthing with a recipe considerably less imagintive than mine (and I don't even get paid for the cooking). I don't want to feed my face whilst she is being treated as a freak. Anyway, so much for that particular rant because I was wrong; again!!! Margaret found this place which offered to do the necessary.

We called in to have a look and to make a booking and were met with a very pleasant welcome. When we visited we were impressed that there was a separate fish menu and a veggie menu on offer in addition to a varied mainstream menu. The decor is unpretentious but very pleasant, as is the friendly service, and you eat behind large glass windows with a view of Coquet valley with Simonside Hills behind. On a warm day like this you may also sit outside. Some of the food on offer has a Greek emphasis and I went for one of those. The lady serving said they had a Greek chef but he was not on duty tonight but the item was available anyway. "I suppose he cooks it and freezes it to serve later" I said. "No" she said, "we don't freeze food; it is left cool and cooked fresh". True, my meal was delicious, as was Margaret's. We had such a lovely evening that we were willing to accept gracefully when the pudding was delayed.

The view at the back is fantastic and Margaret thought she would look over the wall at the back to sketch it. There is the river, the hills, the farms and the trees....but unfortunately just behind also a terrible shack with what looked like a pair of knickers hanging in a window. They say its going to be removed. Beyond that is lovely!!

Do go, have a lovely meal, but don't look over the wall! Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzandMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    56
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
71
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It may seem a little strange to find a Northumberland village restaurant with a mix of English, Greek and Moroccan items on the menu but this restaurant has a Greek chef who is creating superb Greek food. I tried the Lamb Kapama a slow cooked lamb dish served with rice and lemon potatoes - delicious. My Mum opted for the Pork Afelia - pork fillet cooked in a cream, mustard and chorizo sauce - it looked like she had a whole pork fillet on her plate and the dish was served with seasonal vegetables which included beetroot and spring cabbage. Again we could not fault the food - combined with the excellent service from Sarah behind the bar this is definitely on our list of places to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilko7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Definitely worth a visit, lovely staff and excellent food. Myself and my partner visit every Friday evening as we enjoy it so much, plenty of variety on the menu and brilliant friendly staff especially Sarah.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickihughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We live in Amble so we aren't a million miles away but this restaurant is worth a drive out.
The menu is fantastic with some beautiful Greek and Morrocan dishes. The Lamb dishes (my favourite) are always delicious. Fresh ingredients, beautiful flavours and generous quantities.
I can not recommend this place more. Catch a day when the sun is shining and sit in the back garden, the views are breath taking!
A hidden gem.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This Inn is a real find. The food is excellent, all freshly prepared with first class ingredients. Nicely appointed bedroom and bathroom. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We will highly recommend this venue to all our friends

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsannewelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night with our 3 dogs on the way back from trialling them in Scotland. What a little gem! We had been drenched in Edinburgh so were looking forward to a nice cosy room and good food - and we were not disappointed.The room was really nicely decorated and the bed comfy - though the carpet was so thick I could have slept on the floor. The food was excellent and beautifully presented and served up by friendly but unobtrusive staff. I had the Lamb Kapama and my wife had the breast of duck (though from the size it could have been a goose!!) both were fabulous. I coudn't manage a dessert but my wife had the galactosomething - a greek dessert with filo , honey and a brulee type filling. It was passed as fabulous! The restaurant had a lovely ambience with great views and was full of non-residents - always a good sign. We will definately return when we're next up there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulnJanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoesterreich
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. It's in a good location both for day trips, and for relaxing over a meal with great views of the Simonside Hills. The food was excellent, and served in such quantities that we never could manage a dessert in the whole time we were there. The Lamb Kapama was out of this world. The menu was very broad, from traditional foods (steak and ale pie) to Greek dishes (beef stefado), and a good range in-between including fish. The room was fine, a few draughts from the ill-fitting windows, but as we usually have windows open at home it didn't worry us. It was quiet, being at the rear of the building, and and had the same view over the Simonside Hills as the dining room. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and George (the owner) was always at hand either working in the kitchen, or looking after guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Russbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thropton
9.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
6.8 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Wheat Heads Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Wheat Heads Inn

Property: The Three Wheat Heads Inn
Address: Front Street, Thropton NE65 7LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Thropton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thropton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Wheat Heads Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-year-old coaching inn and B&B. A friendly traditional village pub, recently refurbished throughout with stunning views over the Simonside Hills. Five en-suite bedrooms, free car park, Wi-Fi access, excellent home cooked food, pet friendly. Enjoy a pint of local ale next to our roaring open fire. Rothbury 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Three Wheat Heads Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing