We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Text Free”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Three Wheat Heads Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Thropton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Text Free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here one night for a birthday treat. We received a warm welcome and were shown to a comfortable room on the first floor. The restaurant offered a good choice including some greek dishes which was a nice surprise, service was friendly and efficient. The views from the restaurant are outstanding. A generous full breakfast included all the usual suspects with lighter options for the cholesterol challenged. A very pleasurable experience. Oh and another bonus - no mobile reception (but wi-fi available).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    56
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
70
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This country pub has one of the best views in the North East. The restaurant has a glass front overlooking the river Coquet and Simonside hills.
The food matches the views.
An extensive menu is available as well as a carvery option on Sundays and Friday nights. £7.95 for a very generous helping.

Very friendly staff with prompt service. Last orders around 9:00

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank The-Novocastrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

There is a lovely view from the restaurant, they serve good food and have friendly staff. It is in a quiet location, and is ideal for a restful stay. It is used by the local residents and is well known (and recommended) in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We live in Rothbury and really enjoy the walk to Thropton so we visit regularly. It's also a great place to take friends when they visit us. Sunday lunch is great and can also recommend,
Greek lamb pie
Kleftiko
Steak pie
Monkfish & prawn kebab
Cod
Stifado

The house white is an easy drinking Macebo @ around £15 I think. Have also tried the Rueda by the bottle.

The menu it extensive and changes regularly with a good range of prices.

After writing this i think we may even call over for lunch today!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laidbackf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Used to live in Thropton years ago so decided to visit the area again and chose The Three Wheat Heads to have a drink & food in one lunchtime. We ordered 2 soft drinks but as they were at least 3 times more expensive than anywhere else in the country we chose not to look at the food menu. Are there different prices for tourists? I think yes. The chap behind the bar was pleasant enough though & the beer garden was immaculate with nice children's play area & beautiful views.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3wh, Owner at The Three Wheat Heads Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I am sorry that you found our soft drinks expensive but they are in line with all the other establishments in the area ranging from 90pence to £1.40 for a half pint. we also do not have different prices. locals and tourists are charged the same prices..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

After a lovely walk up on the fells over Rothbury we decided to look for somewhere for a well deserved pint and something to eat which was nearby and dog friendly. We drove along to Thropton and came across this little gem- we sat in the lounge which was a little basic and dated but warm and welcoming. The menu was huge which we were worried about but ordered anyway , between four of us we order scallops, venison, belly pork and traditional fish and chips . The starters were huge and the mains were amazing!!! The service was spot on and we couldnt find fault with any part of our visit apart we wished it was our local in Durham . Well worth a visit if u are exploring Northumberland.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank littlebrowndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The pub is comfortable and friendly, the restaurant has panoramic views over the Simonside hills.
The bar has an open fire... and the staff are as warm and welcoming as the fire!

George is a great landlord and an excellent chef. He and his team are exceptional and the food is great too. The Sunday roasts are the best I've ever experiemced, portions are beyond generous (although smaller, cheaper portions are available - I've never felt the need!)

As another reviewer has already said, extra meat for the always-welcomed dog is often offered (and enthusiastically received!).

Best pub lunch in this county, by a long chalk and not expensive.

Worth booking on Sundays, as it does get busy - but its a big pub and they always make the effort to make sure people don't go hungry.

Thanks George!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thropton
6.8 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.3 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Wheat Heads Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Wheat Heads Inn

Property: The Three Wheat Heads Inn
Address: Front Street, Thropton NE65 7LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Thropton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Thropton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Wheat Heads Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-year-old coaching inn and B&B. A friendly traditional village pub, recently refurbished throughout with stunning views over the Simonside Hills. Five en-suite bedrooms, free car park, Wi-Fi access, excellent home cooked food, pet friendly. Enjoy a pint of local ale next to our roaring open fire. Rothbury 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Three Wheat Heads Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing