We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at reasonable prices ”
Review of Three Wheat Heads

Three Wheat Heads
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Thropton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here on two occasions and the food was always excellent. We had a large dog with us and so ate in the bar. The only downside is that they could do with more staff as you have to ring a bell for service and nobody came to ask if our meal was OK.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank PETRA001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As Rothbury had nothing to offer for food, a shop owner recommended this place. 2 mile straight drive out of Rothbury, towards Otterburn. We had not booked but were advised we could have a table if done within 45 mins. We opted for Sunday lunch to save time. It was really nice. Efficient service and tasty food. Some might say rushed out in 45 minutes, but at least we had food rather than be turned away. Seemed very popular. Staff friendly, and well worth returning. The pork was outstanding.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank G9883OUdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here 2 nights whilst staying in area. Food was lovely with very generous portions. Lacked a little atmosphere but staff were lovely.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

we visited for lunch whilst on a whistle stop tour of the area last week where we received a generous portion of delicious food without much delay …..clean and tidy surroundings ,overlooking lovely countryside where there was a good mix of customers sharing a convivial atmosphere . I would most certainly return if were in the area as it was a good value and enjoyable experience

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fatjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

We arrived a bit ahead of our reservation time but were seated without fuss. There was a terrific view of the countryside from our table. The food was delicious (we're pescatarian) and the waitresses were not only friendly but also extremely attentive but without 'hovering' - really great service which doesn't happen by accident. There's clearly a lot of attention given to the quality of the food and the service and although it wasn't pricey it still felt like a bit of a treat. We found the area generally quite remote (which has its own appeal to some of us) and so places to eat (and 'corner shops' - don't run out of milk!) were scattered about - this one deserves to be sought out.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WantItGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Wheat Heads also viewed

Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Longframlington, Northumberland
 

Been to Three Wheat Heads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing