We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr.”
other travelers have booked this property
Anchor Cottage is a stone-fronted fisherman's cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Anchor Cottage is a stone-fronted fisherman's cottage
the view of the 'Bank Top' (water's edge) from the rear of Anchor Cottage with private bench the pretty rock garden at the rear of the cottage, in summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Anchor Cottage is a stone-fronted fisherman's cottage
the view of the 'Bank Top' (water's edge) from the rear of Anchor Cottage with private bench
the pretty rock garden at the rear of the cottage, in summer
the beach at Druridge Bay, a stone's throw from the cottage
Seven miles of sand and dunes, often with hardly a soul in sight
kitchen/diner with roof lantern and panoramic sea view
kitchen/diner with roof lantern and panoramic sea view
kitchen/diner with wood-burning stove, and double doors leading to living room
kitchen/diner with double doors leading to living room
kitchen/diner with wood burning stove
living room with wood burner, flat-screen smart TV and DVD
There is a comfortable leather 3 seater sofa, and two leather armchairs
There is a lovely view of a medieval Pele Tower from the living room bay window
master bedroom with king-size bed, wall-mounted flat-screen TV and sea view (morning)
master bedroom with king-size bed, wall-mounted flat-screen TV and sea view (evening)
master bedroom (looking towards the front of the cottage) with wall-mounted flat-screen TV
second bedroom, with twin beds, also with sea view
there is a spectacular sea-view from both bedrooms
view of the 'Bank Top' from both bedrooms
downstairs bathroom with bath (there is also a shower room upstairs)
upstairs shower room (there is also a bathroom with bath downstairs)
hall showing front door and stairs
stairs with sturdy bannister
Anchor Cottage
Anchor Cottage
sit back on the bench with a glass of wine and enjoy the sea view
The 'Bank Top' is spectacular at sunrise
...and equally so at dusk
view of the medieval Pele Tower from the front garden
view of the medieval Pele Tower from the front garden
In February, the woods around the Pele Tower are full of snowdrops
front gate of Anchor Cottage
front door
rock garden at the rear of the cottage in Spring
rock garden at the rear of the cottage (on a stormy day)
the view from the 'Bank Top' on a stormy evening !
fishing on the beach at dusk
sunset on the beach, a stone's throw from Anchor Cottage
sunset on the beach
sunset viewed from the bench on the 'Bank Top'
walking back along the beach to the cottage at dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cresswell, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BobZ108
2 reviews
“Mr.”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Anchor Cottage and Druridge Bay far exceeded our expectations. The place is presented in show room condition. The resources left us lacking for nothing. The chair in the lounge was so comfy it was hard not to fall asleep to the sounds of the fire. Our legs well walked across the bay with Drift Cafe a key Pitt stop for tea and all the cakes and scones you need to fuel those walks. Best meal in Amble on the quayside. Seafood platter. We shall return next year. Bob and Denise. St Albans.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2016
We're really glad you found the cottage so comfortable - and we agree it's impossible not to fall asleep on the sofa in front of the log-burner! Good to hear that you enjoyed the home-cooking at the Drift Cafe and the seafood at the Amble Boathouse too. Thanks so much for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel C
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SIMPLY SUPERB COTTAGE”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely renovated cottage in beautiful seaside location. Excellent furnishings & fittings, and exceptionally clean-the best we have found in over 30 years of self catering holidays. Just had a week here with excellent weather and enjoyed sitting on "Bank Top" right on the sea edge. Unusual for the seaside it has its own parking space. Bags of room for 2 or 4 in comfort. Excellent meals at The Drift Cafe just a short walk away, and good food pubs and farm shop in nearby villages. The owners are most helpful, and keep you updated with your booking. We can thoroughly recommend this cottage, but book early as it will be popular! We look forward to returning soon...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/size/cleanliness/right on the sea.
Liked least: Only lacking a few pictures/bath towels too small/no guest towels or kitchen towel
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
What a great review - thank you so much for taking the time to write it. Receiving feedback like this means a great deal to us, as we love the place and hope all our guests do too. We're looking forward to welcoming you back again to Anchor Cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallibora...
Widnes, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Visited the cottage early July 2016. Great first impression to walk into the large kitchen with it's panoramic windows. The cottage was sparkling clean with flowers, milk tea, sugar coffee and best of all a large home made cake (thanks Stephanie!). Over the week you realise how much thought and effort must have gone in to the renovation, whilst we weren't blessed with the greatest weather returning to the cottage after another soaking always seemed a treat. The bedrooms both have Juliette balcony's and you can open the doors and sit and gaze at the sea to your heart's content. The lounge too deserves a mention, large and uncluttered and, when we visited great for watching the swallows fledging. Beds have good quality sheets etc - ideal for peaceful sleeps! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of the cottage - clean and calm.
Liked least: Leaving?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
Thanks for the lovely photos you sent us, particularly the dolphin-sighting from the back of the cottage ! We're delighted you enjoyed your holiday at Anchor Cottage, and hope you'll come back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firtree39
Wickersley, United Kingdom
1 review
“peace & quiet”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a lovely place to chill out, Jane and Nigel have done an excellent job of refurbishing the cottage, very well equipped wanted for nothing and a lovely log fire for the chilly evenings, first visit will not be our last. WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort & cosynes
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
Thanks so much for your thoughtful comments. It makes all the hard renovation work worthwhile to hear that guests appreciate their stay at Anchor Cottage. We hope you come back soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield...
Sheffield UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great anchor for exploring Northumberland”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Industrial landscapes no problem for us but Anchor Cottage is the gateway to discovering one of the north's jewels, it's landscape. Anchor Cottage more than lived up to expectations. It was clean, comfortable, well equipped and very spacious.

The sea views from the kitchen and bedroom windows are a treat. There are plenty of home comforts if the weather is poor. But the locality also offers plenty to explore in all weathers and especially if it is fine.

A lovely place to stay with brilliant communication from the owners.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
Thanks for this lovely review. As well as the panoramic sea view from the back, we enjoy the view of the medieval Pele Tower from the front of the cottage too. It's particularly lovely as the sun sets behind it, and following requests from guests we're putting a bench in the front garden so that guests can enjoy summer evenings in the front garden, as well as on the 'Bank Top' overlooking the sea at the back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane28697
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

have to say we were a bit unsure when travelling through industrial towns on way there but this place is amazing and although only 15 minute drive from big supermarkets etc feels a world away. great base for exploring Northumbria. absolutely beautifully decorated and gorgeous views from both sides of the cottage. very welcoming owners and the drift cafe down the road and farm shop well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
The cottage really does feel like it's miles from anywhere, doesn't it ? All our guests enjoy the peace and quiet, and the chance to recharge their batteries on the seven miles of Drudge Bay beach.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine...
Wickford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a lovely weeks stay at Anchor Cottage. The cottage is beautiful. It has been renovated to such a high standard whilst keeping the character of the cottage. We were blessed with good weather during the day however the wood burners were invaluable as the evenings were cold. It was so cosy chilling with a bottle of wine, watching the fire. The view from the cottage is stunning and it was a pleasure washing up with such spectacular views.
The proprietors have thought of everything and the cottage is so well stocked. They have provided a wealth of information, including lots of tourist information, of which we have added to.
We arrived to beautiful flowers, milk and the most delicious cake. Tea and cake was most welcome after our long journey. Thanks to the lovely Stephanie, for which nothing was too much trouble.
The county of Northumberland is magical. From the cottage you are a few steps away from the beautiful coastline, which continues for miles. Definitely worth a drive along the coastal route as there are so many lovely places to stop and explore along the way. Go in a different direction and you find yourself in the beautiful countryside and the Cheviot Hills. Cragside is definitely worth a visit along with the lovely picturesque town of Rothbury.
If you fancy a bit of city life and shopping, jump on the train to Newcastle or head into Scotland. We had the most amazing day in Edinburgh.
Lastly, you can't stay in Cresswell and not visit the ice cream parlour.
I can't recommend this cottage enough and it's a great base for couples and families. We will definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything and the views were stunning.
Liked least: There wasn't anything not to like.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2016
Your review is wonderful- thank you so much for taking the time to write it. Starting this new venture has been daunting, but the feedback we've been getting has made it worthwhile. We're delighted that our guests are enjoying staying at Anchor Cottage. We agree, the views from the back of the cottage are mesmerising, we never get tired of looking out to sea or waking up to the sound of the waves. Thanks for adding to the stock of tourist information and for your lovely comments in the visitors' book. We hope you'll visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing