We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rest&recuperate”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bank Top Cottage

The sea view balcony from the open plan lounge & kitchen area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sea view balcony from the open plan lounge & kitchen area.
The decor is modern with comfort in mind.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The sea view balcony from the open plan lounge & kitchen area.
The decor is modern with comfort in mind.
Very comfortable King bed with lots of storage.
Kitchenette and open plan lounge.
Enjoy the sea view from morning to night.
Bath/shower room.
The snowy balcony in January.
You can open the bi-folding doors to welcome the outside in.
Even grey days look brilliant from Bank Top Cottage's balcony.
The cottage is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the sea view.
The Aurora Borealis viewed from the balcony!
Rainbow over Bank Top Cottage's balcony.
Bank Top Cottages balcony from the outside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cresswell, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ehcoll
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rest&recuperate”
Reviewed March 18, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Beautiful cottage. Perfect for restful break. No WiFi no distractions just walks on the amazing beach. Slight hum from the boiler in bedroom not ideal but wasn't as bad as us insomniacs thought it would be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We're so glad you had a restful break in Bank Top.
Kind regards, Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darron J
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed November 13, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at the Bank Top Cottage in beautiful Cresswell. Fist of all the booing process was simple and so easy to complete. The directions to the cottage were very clear and easy to follow. The Cottage itself was stunning. It was in a prime location overlooking the beach and North East coast with views out to nearby Islands. The views are unrestricted and the decking area is private. The Cottage itself has everything you would need for a nice break in the UK. The underfloor heating gives a warm and welcoming feel on a freezing November day. Watching the world pass by from the huge windows in the sitting room was an absolute pleasure. The bed is very compatible with pristine bedding and the bath with overhead shower is huge and also spotless. The kitchen had everything needed from cooker to wine cooler and all the cutlery and glasses etc you can possibly need Parking is at the side of the Cottage and there are local shops a few miles away as you enter the village. The welcome from the owners was fantastic and so friendly. We did not hesitate in booking again for May 2017 and will try to fit a small break in between. I would recommend trying it out of yourself if quiet ,peaceful break beautiful views is your thing. It was an absolute pleasure to have stayed at Bank Top Cottage and we cant wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2016
This is so wonderful to read, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay at Bank Top. We're so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and we can't wait to greet you back next year!
Best wishes, Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marge W
1 review
“Delightful retreat for two”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Always good to return to Northumberland, this time in the south of the county. Really comfy cottage and with a location that gives amazing views over the rocks and the water. There is much to see in the county but with such lovely accommodation, it's also good to stay in and either watch the water or, when the tide is out, watch the birds on the rocks below.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Sofa not comfy - bit low too. Would have appreciated provision of salt & pepper
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2016
Thank you so very much for giving us this lovely review! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay in Bank Top and enjoyed watching the ever-changing views.
Best wishes, Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarjorieW...
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We celebrated our 56th wedding anniversary at Bank Top Cottage and enjoyed every minute. The view is fantastic and spotting the different sea birds gave added interest. This is an excellent property with all creature comforts including a very comfortable bed; good seating in the lounge area and everything meticulous. Having not been to the area for a number of years it was good to visit Lindisfarne; the Alnwick Book Exchange and - a new attraction for us - the Woodhorn Mining Museum which houses the Ashington Group paintings. Very well worth a visit - and we saw a red squirrel in the grounds there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation and ambience
Liked least: Shower over bath - as we are ancient
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
This is such a lovely review of Bank Top, thank you both! Congratulations again on your anniversary, it's such a great milestone. There really are so many attractions in the county, it's hard picking only a few. I hope I can welcome you back in the future.
Take care,
Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
687lily
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was our second visit to Bank Top Cottage and already booked again. The cottage is stunning and has great views. There is everything you need and if you have any questions the owner is on hand. The bed is just so comfy. We just love this place. There are lots of nice eating places close by. I really grudge telling you all how lovely this place is because I am scared we won't be able to keep booking, haha. We were sitting out on the balcony when we were there listening to the sea and we could have been anywhere in the world. Absolutely fantastic and we will be going back again....and again.....and again.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Love the whole package
Liked least: No dislikes.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
This is so lovely to read, thank you for leaving this review. We're really happy that you're coming again in 2017! You are spot on with your description of sitting on the balcony, you could be anywhere in the world.
Best wishes,
Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannacla...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage,lovely location and welcoming host.”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Such a great ever-changing view all day long. Well appointed with luxurious furnishings. Lots of great walks and places to visit on the doorstep.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review for your stay. You're completely right about the view: it never stays the same from one tide to the next. We're so glad you enjoyed it. I hope to greet you both back to Bank Top Cottage in the future!

Kind regards,
Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of Cottage and views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2016
Thank you so much for this lovely review! We've just updated the fridge to a larger capacity one to offer more food storage, I'm pleased you found there to be plenty of room during your stay. It's great that you managed to have breakfast on the balcony,

We currently don't leave a non-slip bath mat in the cottage for hygiene reasons, but we will certainly look into adding an option for guests to request one during the booking process (or even during their stay).

Many thanks again for taking the time to leave a review, I hope we can welcome you back to Bank Top Cottage in the future!

Kind regards,
Ewa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;