We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cresswell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cresswell Towers Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took our three children away here in the summer for a week. We stayed in a gold plus caravan - which was well set out and a very nice van. It was very spacious and up in the quieter corner of the park near most of the live in residents. The park was small but had all the usual things to keep kids amused, swimming, park etc. We were a short walk from the beach which was lovely and we were lucky with the weather. The park was nicely central to many places we visited i.e Bamburgh castle. We didn't eat at the places on site so we couldn't comment on that. We paid just over £400 for a really big van with most of the extras that make it a comfortable week away. The entertainment passes were included and we felt it was good value for money and a nice week spent in a lovely part of the country. We would definitley consider going back again.

Room Tip: Invest a little extra for a better caravan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 872 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

We took our grandchildren away in the summer for a 5 day break having never visited Northumberland before. The setting of Druridge Bay is excellent and we enjoyed using this campsite as a base to explore a beautiful part of the country - the kids particular enjoyed the boat trip we took from Seahouses to the Farne Isles.
The campsite itself was just about ok and although the Caravan was not the most modern, it was just about clean enough (once my wife got her disinfectant wipes out). There is a "park" with swings etc and a small swimming pool which was fine. We didnt fancy the club house or it`s food much and it seemed to be inhabited by the sort of folk who never leave the campsite (or even the bar) during their holiday.
All in all, Northumberland is beautiful and we will return, but possibly not to this site.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wise-Owl997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Cresswell Towers Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hello Andie – I’m delighted to hear that you had a great time while at Cresswell. As you have indicated Northumberland really does offer some fantastic places to visit and some of our guests stay with us to explore the local areas which are second to none. Most of our guests spend their entire holiday on site to enjoy the facilities and participate in the fantastic entertainment activities that we have to offer, and so some families don’t voyage beyond the exit until their holiday comes to an end. We do hope that you will consider staying with Cresswell Towers again in the future and thank you for such lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Myself my husband and our 2 young daughters came here for the final week of the season, we knew it would be quiet as the holidays had been over with for a while, we had a fantastic time though.
the accomodation was clean and tidy, the park itself is very well kept,
the clubhouse is smaller than we expected but with the great bar staff and excellent entertainment it didn't matter.
the kids loved the pool and cried when we had to leave the ents for the last time. our meals were lovely.
all in all we will return definatley next year and hopefully buy a van at cresswell.
this was our first time at park resorts and would reccommend this site to anyone. the staff are a credit to the company.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Travelled October hald term on a newspaper break. Cost just under £100 for 4 nights including entertainment passes and all bedding with beds made up in a silver caravan.
Park was clean and friendly, Carvan was clean, comfortable and very warm (we had central heating).
Yes there were negatives, the food in the tavern was not good and quite expensive and as we stayed the last 4 days before the Park closed for winter on 31/10/12 they had run out of most things, the bar had no wine and very limited soft drinks. Most of the food choices on the menu were also sold out. The caravans need paths up to each one instead of walking on the wet grass. The pool was lovely but needed to be open longer hours.
The surrounding area and beach were lovely, quiet and unspoilt. Only 5 minutes walk to the lovely beach. We spendt hours rock pooling, walking and cycling.
All in all for the money, we had a great time and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules0469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here with one of the special newspaper deals nice quiet camp had the pool to ourselves on the three occasions we used it. good location to explore Northumbria and Newcastle area.
For the money we paid it was fine if I had paid the full price charged by Park resorts I probably would have complained but what can you expect for £40 for 4 nights for 3 people. Granted we were in the bronze catagory caravan but it had seen better days and was a little tatty but as we were only using it as a base and sleeping place. Would use again but upgrade to silver level at least but only if it was another offer through the local paper.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank skallywag66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

WE travelled with another family. Our Caravan was fine, a little chilly in the mornings but so was the waether outside and soon heated up. Our Friends caravan, on the other hand, which was also gold, was poor by comparison. Windows that didn't shut properly, filfy carets and worse of all stank of wet dogs!! So to me it totaly seemed like pot luck as we were both paid for a gold standard caravan.
The tavern was a joke. Food was cold when it arrived, and when they had finished washing the cultery, which we recieved 5 mins after the food, it was freezing and pretty awful, needless to say we ate at the local pubs after that. Our other main gripe was the opening times of the pool, which didn't really allow for trips out during the day. It opened mid morning and was then shut by 4:30pm.
We all had a great time, Northumberland was lovely, and the jokes about the park kept us entertained all week!!
... Would not return to this park

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank flobberlobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just back from a weekend break at Cresswell Towers & I have to say that everything was more than satisfactory - Carvan(Gold) Tidy & well furnished - Location was great for exploring & days out with Newcastle within easy reach - Entertainment was the as normal (cheesy) but great fun for the kids which really what it is all about(Little ones had a great time) & the entertainment team made it great fun for them with lots of effort - I would recommend do not be afraid by the negative views.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cresswell Towers Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresswell Towers Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Cresswell Road, Cresswell NE61 5JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cresswell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cresswell
Price Range: $25 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cresswell Towers Holiday Park - Park Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the southern end of a beautiful six-mile stretch of the sweeping sand that is Druridge Bay, Cresswell Towers is perfect for family holidays. Start the day with a dip in the pool or maybe you fancy going for a walk in the Cheviot Hills or the woods nearby. Later on get ready for some great family evening Entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cresswell Towers Holiday Park - Park Hotel Cresswell
Cresswell Towers Holiday Park - Park Resorts Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing