We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”
Review of Number 21

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number 21
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were in the area visiting our daughter, and helping her move. We stumbled on the advert for this B&B - and were delighted we did. Lovely room, nice little touches, and delicious breakfast. One small point to warn the unwary - take your cheque book as they don't take card payments. Helpful host though as Jane recommended a place we could find cheap floor covering for our daughter, as well as a place to eat in the evening. All in all a very successful "stumble"! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    5
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
80
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booked Number 21 to break our journey for sightseeing further north. Lovely spacious, clean bedroom with one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. Lots of little home from home touches and very welcoming and helpful hosts. We had booked a double room for one night but we were given a free upgrade to the superior room, as it was unoccupied for that night.Lovely breakfast cooked freshly to order and served with a smile!
Would definitely recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were absolutely delighted with our recent 5 night stay in the lovely house. Jane and Malc could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the double ensuite room which is beautiful. The room is huge with the most comfortable bed ever!! Jane's breakfast was delicious, made with really good quality ingredients and beautifully cooked to order. We also loved the proximity to the beach and promenade. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cafevisitor_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very friendly and comfortable. The bedroom was very spacious with quality furnishings and a huge bed. Breakfast was very good - excellent bacon and very well cooked. Jane and Malc made us feel very welcome and were very knowledgeable about the area. Thank you very much - we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete and Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We decided to break our journey to Scotland. We booked number 21 without knowing much about the area. On arrival we were met by Jane. She helped us with our bags and showed us to our room. It was perfect. Jane gave us local info and made us feel very welcome. Excellent all round. Breakfast was lovely and we will go back for a longer stay next time. Brilliant start to our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Weir
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A double room with ensuite was what we booked. We were delighted and surprised at the size, comfort and brightness of the very large room with very comfortable bed and lounge area and the biggest TV we saw throughout our trip cycling from Glasgow to Newcastle. It was a bonus to be able to book in early as we arrived tired from a very windy although exhilirating ride down the Northumberland coastline. House was cosy and breakfast good. (Our bikes also had dry place for the night)

Newbiggin proved to be more interesting than expected - it's worth having a look at art trail.

Thanks to Jane and Malc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Jane and Malc were a warm and friendly couple and very keen that our stay with them was very comfortable. Our room was very spacious, the bed large and comfortable, good quality furnishings and tasty biscuits and chocs provided on the tea tray. We stayed for four days and our room was thoroughly cleaned and tidied every day and fresh towels and sheets provided on day three. There was a good choice of breakfast perfectly cooked by Jane, the produce locally sourced and well toasted good quality bread (I hate under toasted cut white rubbish). We found the location perfect for days out to explore the beautiful beaches, countryside and places of interest in the surrounding area. Morpeth has a good selection of restaurants. All in all we couldn't fault our stay and the price per night was extremely good value for the quality of accommodation provided.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul and Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
9.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship
The Old Ship
#3 of 4 in Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Captain's Lodge
Captain's Lodge
#2 of 4 in Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 2 in Ellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Swan at Choppington
The Swan at Choppington
#1 of 2 in Choppington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 21

Property: Number 21
Address: 21 Front Street, Newbiggin-by-the-Sea NE64 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the coastal village of Newbiggin by the sea. Number 21 is located in the historic county of Northumberland with it wealth of historic sites and miles of coastal walks. We offer luxury rooms including king sized and super king sized beds with luxury bedding. Flat screen tvs and tea and coffee making facilities. An english breakfast is cooked to you liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Number 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing