We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely weekend”
Review of Number 21

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number 21
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend for my wifes birthday had a lovely weekend the room, breakfast, hospitality couldnt fault it lovely king size bed would definitely stay here again jane and malc were realy friendly and made us really welcome first time in newbiggin will come again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanshafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night during a trip to the Speedway in Newcastle.Myself and my partner were very impressed with the beautiful room,comfy bed and fantastic breakfast and all for the bargain price of £60.Thanks to Jane and Malc for welcoming us into their lovely home and making us feel welcome even though we arrived late(sorry)!!!Would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a 2 day coastal cycle. Jane and Malc were very welcoming and even made space in their shed to keep our 3 bikes safe! The room was fantastic! A huge beautifully decorated, absolutly immaculate room. Everything you could possible need in a room jane and malc had thought of... The tea and shortcake went down a treat! After a great nights sleep in the super comfy beds we had the most delicious breakfast to set us up for another day of cycling, toast and jam, ceareal and a full fry up! Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in the smaller room of the two which I found rather disappointing. It was a small room without an en-suite. We had to walk down the corridor to use the toilet and there was a curtain which could have been pulled across if the corridor to provide us with a bit of privacy. It also did not have a proper shower, and I had to use the bath. This came as quite a surprise having read the previous reviews. It also looks as if we paid the same price as the larger room.

There is no parking available. However, on arrival Jane made it clear where we could park our car which was either in a side street, or in a small car park just down the road.

The house was also not that clean and there was a damp smell in the breakfast room.

I travel quite a lot for business and pleasure. I would definitely not rate this as a 5 star bed and breakfast.

Also, as soon as we arrived we felt we were given a list of rules. For example, the breakfast was at a set time and it was made clear to us that there was absolutely no flexibility with these times and if we were down later than 9.30am the kitchen would be closed. We felt it probably wasn't really necessary to point this out, just the times would be fine.

The positives are is that it is a central location, really close to the beach.

Room Tip: Request the larger room of the two with the en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WooWooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane h, Owner at Number 21, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We are amazed you were disappointed in the room you booked. As advertised on the web site you booked the description read Double room with private bathroom with corner bath. So what was it you were expecting. We only have 2 rooms one en suite and the other with private bathroom with corner bath you chose to book the latter. Before booking and with the confirmation of your booking the description if clearly stated. If you wished to book the en suite room you should have chosen this option and if it was not available maybe you should have looked else where to find an en suite room. The private bath room for the sole use of the room you booked is down a short corridor 5 steps form the room. We are so sorry you had to take a bath this must have been tragic. Many small bed and breakfast so not afford the luxury of en suite rooms we have 2 rooms and both have there one facilities whether it being en suite or a private bathroom.
On arrival you were shown to your room and told the time we served breakfast and we explained the keys to you NO RULES. You were told the key for the front door was on you room key and you could come and go as you pleased. Just as well as you did not return until 3.00am after a night out much worse for wear and disturbing the whole house.
At breakfast the atmosphere was terrible and you made the other guests uncomfortable. You ordered your breakfast and when we brought it in you were missing. Your partner explained you had gone to walk off your hang over as you had had a lot of drink the previous evening and you were not feeling well and not in a very good mood. I made light of this as you partner you could see your partner was uncomfortable.
As for the attack on my home I do not get it as when you returned you seemed to be a bit brighter and were laughing maybe this was still the effects of the drink. Many guest have stayed with us and the reviews are true of their experience. My home is not unclean and there is no smell of damp in my home maybe it was the smell of drink clouding you judgement.
Why have you made 2 reviews on trip advisor regarding your one night stay. As you are promoting another hotel in the village which you ripped apart when you were talking to me is just beyond belief.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Arrived at 4pm and shown straight to the room (No 2). Very small and not as well maintained as I'd like to have seen (pad lock on door etc). Then showed the 'en-suite' which wasn't really. Down a corridor outside of our room. This seemed a little odd and when we asked we were told that we could pull a curtain across the corridor to make it private. Not what I expected. Also there was no shower.

Can't say much more as spent the night out and didn't manage breakfast.

Back to the Old Ship next visit.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPH_EastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane h, Owner at Number 21, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

I am very concerned you have posted two negative reviews after your one night stay at Number 21.
Your comment Not what it says on the tin is a bit puzzling as you booked the room through Late Rooms and the description of the room reads Double room with private bathroom and corner bath. We have 2 rooms in our house which we let to guests one en suite and one with a private bathroom you chose to book the latter. So I am at a bit of a loss that you were disappointed you did not have an en suite as you refer in your second review.
When guests arrive we do inform them of the breakfast times all hotels do adhere to set times for meals. You arrived for breakfast with your partner ordered and when the breakfast arrived you had gone out to walk off your hangover as you had been drinking until 3.00 a.m.
Your advise to other readers on trip advisor is to stay at the Old Ship on the morning of your departure you remarked you would not let your partner stay there so what is this all about.
As for my house not been clean I do beg to differ I think the drink must have puddled your judgement. I am sure the other guests who have stayed and given a review can not all be wrong in the standard we offer for the price we charge..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a very pleasant 4 night stay in the largest B&B room I've ever stayed in! Not only space for a queen-size bed but a lounge area with sofa and chairs too! The huge flat screen TV can be viewed from either!

Our hosts, Jane and Malc were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Full English breakfast choice 'healthily' cooked and satisfying. The whole house very clean and comfortable. Felt very much at home. Will definitely come again as we have family in the area. An ideal location for sight-seeing in Northumberland. Walking distance to sandy beach. Parking less than 100metres

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped here on the first night of our Coast and Castle bicycle ride from Newcastle to Edinburgh. Newbiggin is about 35 miles from Newcastle by bike trail. It rained on us a bit and Jane and Malc kindly dried our clothes for us and let us leave our bikes in their back yard so they were safe. The room was absolutely huge by English B&B standards and very nicely done. They only have two rooms apparently and we didn't see the other. Breakfast was lovely as well. Overall I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PA_in_the_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
0.0 mi away
Captain's Lodge
Captain's Lodge
#1 of 4 in Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship
The Old Ship
#3 of 4 in Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 21

Address: 21 Front Street, Newbiggin-by-the-Sea NE64 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
Price Range: $84 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the coastal village of Newbiggin by the sea. Number 21 is located in the historic county of Northumberland with it wealth of historic sites and miles of coastal walks. We offer luxury rooms including king sized and super king sized beds with luxury bedding. Flat screen tvs and tea and coffee making facilities. An english breakfast is cooked to you liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Number 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing