We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum is really engaging, cafe less so”

Newbiggin Maritime Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Museum is really engaging, cafe less so”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The museum is outstanding in our view. The quality of the interpretation of the 3 aspects of Newbiggin - the fishing, the village and the lifeboat, is very high indeed. Not too cluttered, and clearly explained in the exhibits and information panels. The two films on loops are captivating - the 1941 propaganda film is a gem, and the emotions evoked by the fine film under the lifeboat stay with you for ages afterward. Very tasteful film, aesthetic and moving. Well worth a visit, although the architecture and location clashes somewhat with the old solitary profile of the church. The lady at the desk was realy informative about the museum layout.

Cafe staff were friendly and helpful, but the menu and food quality was a let down after the excellence of the museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bilbo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewbigginMC, Volunteer Member at Newbiggin Maritime Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments about our exhibition area. Sorry we disapointed you with the Cafe. We will try harder in the future. We have responded to you in private with a small token of our appreciation for your custom.

Sincerly
Volunteer Member.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    63
    13
    6
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

A wide ranging selection of artefacts, photos, film - even lifeboatmen's outfits for the children - portraying the story of the town and its connections with the sea. Excellent value for the entry fee and the cafe's good as well!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank patan116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewbigginMC, Volunteer Member at Newbiggin Maritime Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Many Many thanks for your review. All at the centre appreciate you posting a positive reveiw.

Sincere Thanks
Volunteer Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
194 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amazing historical attraction”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We visited Newbiggin by the Sea on our way to North Northumberland holiday base.After a walkabout on a Monday afternoon we found the Heritage Centre. With a reasonable entry fee, we only visited the historical part which was fascinating. The exhibits were well displayed and the two videos very informative. We even found photographs containing our ancestors which was fantastic. The only negative was the buildings visual intrusion on the church when viewed from the town seafront.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveSMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewbigginMC, Volunteer Member at Newbiggin Maritime Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Many Many thanks for your review. All at the centre appreciate you posting a positive reveiw.

Sincere Thanks
Volunteer Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So impressed with this gem.”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

On route to our holiday accommodation at Berwick we decided to stop off at Newbiggin by the Sea.
What a find, Newbiggin Maritime Centre, we were delighted with the very interesting exhibition, having been welcomed by delightful volunteers at the desk.
Just had to buy some very reasonably priced seaside themed crockery in the shop.
We then sat in the cafe with a breathtaking view, sampling a tasty bacon 'stottie ? ' followed by the freshest home cooked cream filled fruit scones, delicious coffee cake with a pot of Northumberland tea, all for less than £20 for the three of us! Great experience for the money. Definitely call again on our return journey.
Maybe Newbiggin by the Sea will be our destination place for next break.
Thank you. D

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewbigginMC, Volunteer Member at Newbiggin Maritime Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Many Many thanks for your review. All at the centre appreciate you posting a positive reveiw.

Sincere Thanks
Volunteer Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very poor food”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

very nice position with a spectacular view but the food in the café was very poor. I ordered a bacon sandwich and when it came was the smallest sandwich I have ever been served and at £2.50 a total rip off. The bread was not so fresh and I didn't bother with a cake as they were sliced so small they were falling over in the cabinet. The cheesecake looked like a cheap Iceland offering, No thanks at £2 a slice I will buy a full one from Iceland for a pound.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Geordieman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewbigginMC, Manager at Newbiggin Maritime Centre, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to the Breakwater Cafe. We try to ensure that our customers enjoy the homemade cakes and scones on offer and feel that they have got value for money. We would like welcome you back to the Maritime Centre so that we can improve your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newbiggin Maritime Centre also viewed

Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, Northumberland
 
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, Northumberland
 

Been to Newbiggin Maritime Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing