We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captain's Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Old Ship(Newbiggin-by-the-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Number 21(Newbiggin-by-the-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
125
25
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
25
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedsea viewthe ownerstayed two nightsfull english breakfastfriendly landladyhear the waveswarm welcomedelicious breakfastcomfortable rooman italian restaurantmade us feela wonderful stayfirst classother guestsfirst ratevisiting relatives
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 151 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

stayed here for two nights made very welcome excellent host`s, food delicious whole house very clean and tidy, our room was gorgeous and we had a very restful and relaxing time was recommended by parents who had stopped there .

would give this place100% thanks kerry and tony.

Room Tip: nothing to add all rooms tip top no problems
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having just spent 2 nights here, I felt I had to write about it. If you are ever in Newbiggin you would be missing a rare treat if you do not stay at the Captains Lodge bed and breakfast. From the warmest of welcomes from Kathy and Billy, to the immaculate bedroom and beautiful view of the sea and the hearty and delicious breakfast, I can honestly say, I felt it was a home from home.
Nothing was too much trouble, Kathy even loaned me some shoe grips when it started snowing!. The whole place is a delight and I can't wait to tell my friends about it. I will definitely be going back there and would highly recommend it, first class.
Many thanks Kathy and Billy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Arriving after a full day cycling, it was a delight to be welcomed into this lovely B&B. access was a bit tricky to find, but we were tired it it was dark! Gorgeous room with a superb panorama of the sea - I dashed out for a bottle of fizz from the co-op and we had a lovely sit in our bay window watching as the light faded. Gorgeous dawn breaking over the sea, and a delicious full english breakfast. Bikes secure in the locked rear yard. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were made very welcome from the minute we arrived right through to departure.
We had a special reason to visit Newbiggin, the landlady, Kathy went that extra mile to help us and point us in the right direction.
Room was first class and comfortable, breakfast also first class and hospitality warm and friendly
All in all a first class experiance and highly recommended
Ken and Margaret, Beccles

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Captain's Lodge - we we given a very warm welcome and spent two very comfortable nights. Cathy was lovely and helped make our stay really good. The breakfast was very good, the room clan and comfortable and oh! the sea view. We had lovely weather and the views were just delightful. Definitely a place to stay if you visit Newbiggin.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR-CH-JMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews