We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little find”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Four legged friends welcome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Had a lovely weekend away in this cute little place. Very accessible and close to the beach. Well looked after, great host. Would come again- thank you Lesley and Tony!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancarefu...
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could have stayed loads longer, great place”
Reviewed May 28, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Located within a minutes stroll to the amazing sandy beach and scenic coastline.
We stayed a few days in The BOLTHOLE in May and loved the layout of the accommodation, it had everything we needed, was clean and airy with a homely feel to it. We chilled out straight away then took our pooch to the beach, and wow it was perfect, we walked the mile along the prom then settled on a bench to enjoy some fantastic fish and chips!!! Newbiggin by the Sea is a charming and quaint seaside village, and although small it has everything we needed! There are some lovely tea rooms offering cakes, snacks and a real Northumberland welcome. The village has some really friendly pubs that are happy to welcome our four legged friends!!
we will be booking again later in the year for a longer break as we had a brilliant holiday. Oh and Lesley and Tony are a great couple who were there if we needed them with all the information for a great holiday.

Can't wait to go back and counting days to our next visit.!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Comfortable and quiet little unit, well situated, with very helpfulll and pleasant owners, nothing was a worry.”
Reviewed May 28, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Very close to the beach and promenade, with nice walks north and south, short drive to more beaches, and beautiful Northumbrian countryside, would re- book anytime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy R
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bolt Hole By The Sea”
Reviewed May 15, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We received a warm welcome from the owner Lesley who was just next door to help with anything. The accommodation was clean bright and fresh with everything we needed and more. Convenient for the beach for our Dog and good weather on top

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stef J
1 review
“Lovely little home from home!”
Reviewed May 9, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I booked to stay at the Bolt Hole in April 2018 as a quiet getaway for a couple of days with my Mum. Tony and Lesley made sure everything was perfect for our stay, and we even got to meet Charlie (the cute pup in their photos). There's of course, facilities to cook your own breakfast, but there's also a sweet little cafe next door if you're like me and can be a bit lazy first thing on a morning! All in all, very impressed for the price I paid and will definitely be returning and recommending to friends and family. Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andhpool
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excelent”
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with friends who had booked. What a great little place to chill. Everything was to hand and the area is amazing lovely pubs and restaurants .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethBookw...
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in a gorgeous location!”
Reviewed February 15, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I would highly recommend this place if you're looking for a quaint weekend away but with charming local amenities and good transport links to Northumberland/Newcastle. It is decorated beautifully and is clean, comfortable and well presented. There's charming little pubs and places to eat with the beach a stones throw away. Perfect place for a quiet getaway or to take the kids (the nautical themed room is fantastic!), and its an added bonus that pets are welcome.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2018
Thank you for your review so glad you enjoyed your time at boltholebythesea we look forward to your next visit where once again a warm welcome awaits you.Your positive comments are greatly appreciated. Watch this space for our new beach front retreat and sandy feet retreat coming 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing