We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend ruined by lack of water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My wife and I planned to spend three nights at the hotel, but on arrival were greeted with the news that there was a problem with the hotel water system. This meant no use of washing facilities or flushing of toilets etc.
Despite various promises that the problem would be fixed within a few hours and / or the fire brigade come to fill the tanks, we were still without water in our room on the second morning and cancelled our reservation for the third night of our stay.
We formed the impression that this was an ongoing problem.
This spoiled what could have been an enjoyable weekend, as despite the rather tired room, the service was friendly and efficient, the dinner in the restaurant excellent, the grounds and location beautiful, plus the added bonus of staying in an hotel that accepts dogs.

We would recommend this hotel, if the water supply could be guaranteed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boblestock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,416 - 1,422 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed her for 2 nights on a dinner B & B package that included tickets to the Beamish Museum which is only about 20 minutes drive away. We found the hotel to be charming, we were unlucky in so much as the only view we had was of the car park but then again we didn't intend to spend hours in the room looking out of the window!
Everything was very good from check-in to check-out, the staff were all friendly and efficient and we found the menu to be excellent value for money with good food, well prepared.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indysassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Family room was large but a bit dated and the beds weren't very comfortable. The room was very hot too with no obvious way to control the temparature, other than opening windows.

We went on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal that included tickets to Beamish. The quality of the food was average but the service was painfully slow, not what you want with young children.

The childrens pool was very shallow and only suitable for babies but the main pool didn't have a shallow end and was too deep for non-swimming children. The dead flies in the pool were pretty off-putting.

Families and the impatient should avoid dinner and stick with B&B

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0lfer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed two nights, Fri / Sat. Food in both Restaurant and Grouse and Claret was excellent. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very spacious and clean, comfy, big beds. Great view out of bedroom window.

There were two wedding parties on that weekend and at times , I think the staff struggled to manage, mainly on the Sunday morning when everyone came down to breakfast at a similar time and people had to que.

Didnt use leisure facility but had a look round and it is very good, will use it if we visit again.

Altogether though a lovely Hotel , well worth another visit, a credit to the manager and his hard working staff.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopevalleydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed at Derwent Manor Hotel for a 2 night stay and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were really friendly,nothing was too much trouble, the food was really good value for money. Well worth a visit, beautiful countryside views from our hotel window. An ideal place for a realxing break. We will definately be back !

Annette

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neti7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

On arrival at this hotel we were greeted by a friendly welcoming receptionist, check in was smooth and efficient. The room was very spacious with 2 good sized double beds, cleanliness was first class. On our first night we ate in the grouse and claret bar, great pub environment, great staff and great food! The second evening we dined in guinvere's restaurant from the a la carte restaurant, we can not compliment the service and food enough! We used the leisure club on various occasions the staff again very friendly and professional, pool ideal for an early morning swim!
Overall 5 star service, in a lovely hotel set in a beautiful surroundings!! We loved this hotel so much we have booked again for xmas and bringing along our dog!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstylour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

The room was very tired. Well warn fixtures and fittings. Very poor room but reception is lovely. Staff were very helpful and it is well placed for trip to Beamish Open Air Museum.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondJimGallacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
721 reviews
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,182 reviews
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
12 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
8.8 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range: $75 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing