We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bearish Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed short break in this hotel. Friendly staff ,good rooms and food was excellent. Would recommend this hotel and hopefully go back sometime. Did not use spa facilities so cannot comment on this. Bearish break definately worth the money.

Room Tip: Did not use spa so cannot commented
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased to read you had such an enjoyable break whilst booking our Beamish break.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to derwent manor for a wedding fair and fell in love with the hotel and it's surroundings. We had our wedding reception at the hotel and have stayed there several times. I can't rate it highly enough. The staff are lovely and the whole place is just charming. The food is delicious and the rooms are delightful. I would recommend derwent manor both as a hotel and as a wedding venue.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank moony1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stays at our hotel I am delighted to read that you chose us for your wedding venue and that you continue to visit our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon...

Kindest regards

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The approach road needs re-laying, quite bumpy.
Reception was efficient and welcoming.
Our room was a good size, bed comfortable, décor dated and as a previous reviewer pointed out, the tele was like one we had back in the 80's.
The view from our room of the countryside was nice but I hope they are considering putting A/C in when they refurbish. Even with the windows wide open the room was quite hot with the curtains drawn.
We enjoyed a very nice evening meal which was well cooked and tasty.
The breakfast on the other hand was average, the toaster took forever and left it either under or overdone.

All in all, we felt that it had been a nice break and would like to return once the 1 million pound improvements have been completed.

Room Tip: We stayed in 118 which had a nice view and was near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Gran_Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you are looking forward to revisiting us once our refurbishment has been completed.

We would love to see you again at our hotel....

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

visited with friends, enjoyed the area - lots of walks also close to Hadrian's Wall - a new menu in the pub - friendly service, no one went hungry from a variety of tasty dishes. All used the pool. Bedrooms were OK, roomy with large beds and new tellys, but they are all slowly being renewed including the loos. We would recommend both the hotel and the area.

Room Tip: The newly finished elf service rooms looked excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redbreast33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your understanding whilst we refurbish the hotel fot the comfort and enjoyment of all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future so you can check out our progress.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Lovely location. Good food. Good staff. Hotel reception dingy and carpet badly worn. Swimming pool, ladies changing rooms out of commission. Beds lovely. Housekeeping not up to scratch: lock on toilet door broken, toilet seat loose, TV must have come out of the Ark. Could you please invest in some touch bedside lights.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank 680bridgetf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy parts of your stay.

As new owners of the hotel we are investing our one million pounds to refurbish the property. This is why the changing rooms were out of action in our leisure club, although alternative changing rooms are available adjacent to the changing room that is being refurbished.

As part of our refurbishment programme all of our bedrooms are being refurbished to include new furniture and TV's.

We hope you decide to return to our hotel to see the progress of our refurbishment programme.

Kindest regards


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here with my daughter for one night only on the way back from Newcastle University. Our first impression of the hotel was that it was a beautiful old building which had been very well renovated. Inside did not disappoint with beautiful beams and huge bannisters. Our room was large with 2 double bed and a beautiful view across open countryside ( this hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so I would imaging that all the rooms have good views) No wardrobe though, just a hanging rail which I find a little odd. We had not problem with the hot water unlike other reviews I have read. We were on a bed breakfast and evening meal package and we had a drink in the bar first. have to say that the bar menu also looked extremely good. however, our meal in the restaurant was excellent and couldn't fault the food, choice or service. In fact all the staff we saw were lovely and friendly - good old northern hospitality! We did go to the pool area and were a little disappointed - a very small pool, nice Jacuzzi and a small sauna. However, the ladies changing rooms were closed as they are in the process of refurbishing this area so will be interesting to see how this is done. Overall, an excellent hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Kilimanjaro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I thank you also for your understanding whilst our ladies changing rooms are being refurbished and that you found our staff to be helpful and our food good.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, so you can check the progress of our refurbishment.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I last stayed in the Derwent around 3 years ago, and was there Monday - Fri, almost every week for around 6 months, and before that I stayed on and off as I worked in Consett a lot.
I watched the place fall into diss-repair, and the food go from great to plain disgusting! I stopped staying there and went to another hotel. I now only go to Consett now and then and heard it had changed so gave it a go when the other hotel was full. Sooo glad I did! Under new management and some investment it's back to being a great hotel to stay in. Rooms have been re decorated and are clean and fresh. Staff are friendly and some old faces still there (pleased to say it is the good ones lol) And food is fantastic! Ate in the bar and meals were spot on! Breakfast was very, very good also! Tv's need updated but it's not a major thing. Modernisation is still ongoing (but nothing that's in view, all very well hidden)so hopefully it will go from strength to strength.
I will deffo be back!! Keep it up! And get the tellies sorted (I joke!).

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Rabmac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for such a positive review. I was delighted to read that you felt there was a "huge improvement" in your recent stay.

As new owners of the hotel we are committed to ensuring the hotel is returned to its former glory and I am pleased that you have found there to be improvements already.

We look forward to welcoming you back so you can check on our progress...

Kindest regards

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Derwent Manor Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
722 reviews
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,183 reviews
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
12 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
8.8 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range: $76 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing