We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

just had a lovely one nights stay here and really could nt fault it.The pool was nice after a day at the metro center and met some really nice guests to chat to in the jacuzzi who we then ended up sitting beside for dinner which made a very enjoyable evening. The 3 course meal is excellent value for money and presentation top class. We d like to pass on our thanks to the young waitres in the dining room for her spot on directions to Chopwell where we were heading to visit relatives the next day ,sorry did nt get her name but she had her hair in a ponytail and is very pleasant. Our room was spacious and spotless and warm and we will definetly be back. The only minor iritation was the other guests we spoke to had managed a better deal than us for less money (free soup on arrival and a bottle of wine with thier meal, hopefully we will be emailed future deals now.

Room Tip: 116 quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrtsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for the nice comments ,we offer lots of limited offers for the locals, please do ring and get the very best offers we have direct at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

980 - 986 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We needed a few days break and had never been to the area so found the derwent manor hotel. Check in was straightforward and we were pleased to be offered an upgrade to one of the derwent suites. This must be one of the biggest rooms I have stayed in. Immediately inside the door was a dining table that could seat 8 people and then a short corridor down to the next part of the suite containing a sofa and bed. off this room was the biggest bedroom I have seen which was bigger than some hotel rooms I have stayed in. The room was nice but a bit tired in places with small things should as holes that had been filled in walls but then never painted over. The strangest thing was that the huge bathroom had a small shower cubicle in one corner and a small bath in the other, So small that even I with my small stature could not lie flat in it, goodness knows how my larger rugby playing friends would have coped. Seemed a waste of such a large room. The views from the windows were very nice.
With the weather not being good we spent most afternoons in the Grouse & Claret bar, The service and ambience was very good and was a very pleasant way to spend an afternoon. We also ate in the bar in the evening and on the whole the food was very good the one problem being the vegetables were undercooked two nights in a row so we mentioned it to the waiter and got a very nice apology from the duty manger and a free desert.
Breakfast was in the Guineveres restaurant and was your average hotel breakfast cooked to order but there was marmite available so that is a plus point for me.
We used the pool facility on one afternoon which again was average but the problem here was the changing room in that as I entered there were already three men in their getting changed so I had to wait as I didn't know them well enough to get that intimate, very cosy. After swimming I was waiting in reception of the pool when somebody arrived to tell the pool attendant the names of some men who were now banned from the pool, I now know why they were banned even where they worked. Not very professional.
We were planning on breaking our journey back home by staying at another best western on the way. I was pleased to note in the hotel room info that "Forward booking: please contact reception who will be happy to assist you with any onward reservations you may wish to make in another best western hotel". So I checked in the hotel guide that you get in the rooms , picked out 5 suitable hotels and waited until it was quiet in reception between check out time and check in time. I asked if he could assist me and he did indeed by asking me to ring central reservations and helpfully gave me a card with their number on. not quite the help I was expecting! Also the 0845 number would have cost me quite a lot for my mobile of room phone.
The hotel itself was nice with a Scottish country house decor and many function rooms and I especially liked the Grouse and Claret bar. Apart from the forward booking I thought all the staff were very friendly and efficient and a mention for Ashleigh who at breakfast was running around like mad on a busy sat morning when they were a member of staff down but still kept smiling.
Would I stay here again ? probably , I think the good points out weigh all the small minor problems. If staying here I would also recommend a visit to the Beamish museum

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobbyec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thanks for a long and informative review ,your comments minor and major will assist us to improve our offering. Staff mentioned will be offered guidence on there behaviour , comments regards men in the pool noted and action to be taken. thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Booked another last minute one night stay 20 October, probably our 10th....not disappointed in the least...room immaculate, clean and comfortable....spa area a superb bonus....staff, 20 out of ten as always for being super friendly but totally proffessional from check in to check out.... food lovely, breakfast superb.....only thing to Paul (manager) how on earth do I qualify for an upgrade.....ask every time checking in (with our Rewards card) without luck but then speak to other guests who were advised they had been upgraded without asking and were not regulars etc ....come on please, look after your bread and butter xxxx

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnbSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear bread and butter client for a upgrade just cross my palms with silver or you could just give me a call before you arrive and i will see what i can do. As a busy hotel upgrades are selected the day before in most cases . See you soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked into this hotel for one night stay.

The hotel is really nice the staff were really friendly, the rooms were spotless and the leisure facilities were great we used them twice and were not disappointed at all.

The food in the restaurant was good although think they could have more choice for vegetarians, their was limited choice for my husband who is a vegetarian, apart from that everything was great.

I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denised207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My Fiancé and I stayed a weekend as a birthday treat. I had a few questions beforehand and Helen through email in charge of bookings was an amazing help. If you want an escape, this is it! Beautiful manor, very pleasant, professional staff & very tasty, well presented food.
The whole experience was relaxing and enjoyable. Everyone should try and book one night to see how a hotel should be run!
The spa and leisure center was clean and tidy with again, friendly staff.
10/10 guys!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armageddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Great comments thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for one night to break up a journey. Hotel a bit dated but interesting design and spacious. Situated in lovely countryside. Pool building across car park has good facilities with a gym. Staff friendly and attentive to us as a famil but I think it is more of a business hotel. Food in restaurant fine and breakfast cooked to order which is always good. Durham is about 30 mins away by car and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TortgirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

All types of customers use the hotel ,delighted to have familys here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We received an upgrade to a suite which was nice- 2 bedrooms and a living room which overlooked the countryside. Room was very clean and everything was as expected in it. However, there are a couple of things I'd like to comment upon:

Television - a bit of an old machine with quite limited channels

Menu- we booked for dinner for our two-night stay and I was a bit disappointed that we received the same menu on both evenings. Have you thought of rotating the menus over the week. I know that some things have to be on every menu , but exactly the same is rather unexciting.

Pool was unavailable. Not a lot that can be done about that but it was a down point.


That said I would like to say that the staff, especially in the restaurant in the evening, were a lovely bunch - natural and friendly.

It's a huge, rambling building, but felt quite cosy and welcoming. A perfect base for visits to Hadrian's Wall and Beamish

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thanks your comments are taken on board ,delighted overall you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
728 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,193 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
90 reviews
12 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range: $78 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing