We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Customer Service”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for one night to break up a journey. Hotel a bit dated but interesting design and spacious. Situated in lovely countryside. Pool building across car park has good facilities with a gym. Staff friendly and attentive to us as a famil but I think it is more of a business hotel. Food in restaurant fine and breakfast cooked to order which is always good. Durham is about 30 mins away by car and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TortgirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
All types of customers use the hotel ,delighted to have familys here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    479
    167
    86
    60
See reviews for
242
706
21
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We received an upgrade to a suite which was nice- 2 bedrooms and a living room which overlooked the countryside. Room was very clean and everything was as expected in it. However, there are a couple of things I'd like to comment upon:

Television - a bit of an old machine with quite limited channels

Menu- we booked for dinner for our two-night stay and I was a bit disappointed that we received the same menu on both evenings. Have you thought of rotating the menus over the week. I know that some things have to be on every menu , but exactly the same is rather unexciting.

Pool was unavailable. Not a lot that can be done about that but it was a down point.


That said I would like to say that the staff, especially in the restaurant in the evening, were a lovely bunch - natural and friendly.

It's a huge, rambling building, but felt quite cosy and welcoming. A perfect base for visits to Hadrian's Wall and Beamish

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks your comments are taken on board ,delighted overall you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Signage to reception was lacking and central heating wasn't working but...Very helpful pleasant staff, lovely 3 course meal, nice choice for breakfast, spacious room and hotel full of character. Would recommend this place and hope to return.
There was a good portable heater in the room by the way.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Audimadmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Sorry about the signage will have them cleaned and lit up .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grims
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a couple of nights at the Derwent Manor Hotel and had a first class time. We had booked a double room but when we checked in we were upgraded to a suite, the food, drink, service and staff were all first class and we will certainly return again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Many Thanks look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is nice on the outside and fine on the inside although the decor was very dated. I stayed here on business as it was the only hotel nearby and i suspect that lack of competition perhaps places less pressure on renovating rooms. I have no complaints at all but would normally be used to a much more modern bathroom suite, a flat tv in the room and nicer carpets.

Can't fault the staff. Meals in the bar were nice. Breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you ,modern rooms are great but ours have real features which fit in well with the hotel we are, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have found Best Western Hotel standards are high and Derwent Manor was no exception. We chose this hotel for a 24 hour "getaway" package this week that included Dinner, Bed and Breakfast, plus a voucher towards a bottle of wine with the meal, which was a nice touch. I even enjoyed a swim in the indoor pool - I'm 70 and unfit!

The room was spotless, the bed HUGE and the country view very relaxing. The dinner was superb with an excellent choice ... and perhaps more noticeable than anything were the friendly, efficient staff members we met throughout the hotel.

Thank you Derwent for a most enjoyable first visit to your hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a nice view and I'm sure if they are not fully booked for e.g. a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Great review thank you very much indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The last time we visited this hotel, I had a very bad experience with the receptionist.( See previous report.) At the time I vowed that I would not return. I'm pleased that I did relent. We found the hotel to the standard previously experienced, with a huge improvement in staff. Unfortunately the first night an adjacent room had their TV very loud until 1 a.m. My fault, I should have rung house service. They did explain that their old TV sets have the volume controlled, but in some rooms, new flat screen sets don't. (So pick your room carefully!!!)
However, thank you for a pleasant stay. (Pity about the weather!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigaldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Return stays that get better are always a good sign, see you soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,092 reviews
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,493 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
21.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing