We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Derwent Manor - May 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

For £160 this 2 night B&B with evening meal (bottle of wine first night) is excellent value for money. There's also a picnic lunch provided on the day you check out, which we would have preferred on our first full day there but no big deal. The evening meals are of a very high standard. There are options to pay a supplement for certain options (a couple of £s here and there and £8 for sirloin steak which seemed a bit of a jump), but the standard offerings were more than adequate. Breakfast was excellent.
The hotel has a couple of mapped out set walks (a 2 hour and a 4 hour). Both are well worth a try, nothing too difficult or too steep. They could both easily be tackled in trainers for instance.
Durham and Newcastle are only 30 minutes away and both worth a visit.
The small leisure centre (15m pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym) is ideal to soak the limbs after a day's rambling (be that through the countryside or around the shops!). Between 6 and 7 seemed to be a busy time whilst we were there - best avoided.
The staff are worth a mention. All very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the function rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Lol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Comments noted thanks for remembering the staff who work well quite hard most of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed at the Derwent Manor for one night as we attended a wedding at the nearby Allensford Youth Village. The hotel is situated a few miles from Consett on the boundary of Durham and Northumberland in glorious open countryside.
Reception allowed us to check in about an hour early which was helpful and allowed us time in the bar. The bar was more like a pub setting than a hotel bar which was pleasant and offered a full range of Sky television which the remote was left for the punters to use themselves. There was a pool table and a large dining area. We didn’t eat and the menu was very expensive for our budget. We’d suggest if you’re on a budget trying one of the pubs at nearby Castleside or Consett that you pass on the way to the hotel.
The room was really large, with two double beds and still ample space for chairs dressers and wardrobes and still plenty of standing room for us. Bed was very comfy and room was immaculate.If this was a standard room then the executive rooms will be like heaven.One of the finest hotel rooms we have stayed in.
Reception area was also immaculate and the grounds around the hotel were beautiful. There was a separate spa area but we didn’t have time to use but I’d imagine it to be in tune with the rest of the hotel and be very good.
There were various function rooms dotted about the hotel and they looked superb venues. Non were in use on the day but open to look aroud.The hotels corridors were immaculate but if you struggle with walking request a room near to reception. Some of the rooms are a little out of the way. Fine for us but not for anyone with walking difficulties. Wheelchair ramps were considerately positioned we noticed. Entrance from hotel to the bar was a fantastic stone corridor which really gave the place character.
Only negatives were the driveway up to the hotel. The pathway was full of potholes and a ditch on either side. A nightmare to walk up and a nightmare for your car wheels.
Also we had no hot water on the morning of our departure. Now this is just one of these things that happen and we were just unlucky. The reception staff would have been more than happy to allow us into a nearby room to use the facilities even after the designated check out time when we informed them of the fault but by then we’d had a cold shower which didn’t do the wedding hangover any harm.
A great hotel in a lovely area. Ideal just to get away and escape the rat race. Full marks for hospitality and standards.We will be sure to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to reception if you have walking dificulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieslegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Many thanks for a full and frank review, our bar prices are in keeping for a hotel of good standing ,the pub food in castleside is very hit and miss our clients and locals tell us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A perfect setting for a visit to the North East, positioned in the beautiful Derwent valley with close proximity to the great city of Durham and such attractions as 'Beamish outdoor museum'.
Our two night deal included dinner, bed & breakfast. We were greeted warmly when we arrived and were allocated our room which was at the front of the hotel and had great views. The room was large and very comfortable. The dinners were good with a small but varied menu. The food was well served, presented and perfectly cooked. There was a very good wine list. The breakfast selection was excellent and my wife tried the ' porridge' which was made with cream and quite delicious and gave a great start to the day. We will certainly be going back to stay in this fine and friendly establishment.

Room Tip: There are great views from every direction. It would be better for people with mobility problems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 937Grampus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you a fine grand old hotel we are though a lady never tells her age Years 27 would be about right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from Derwent Manor.We took advantage of a hot wire deal.Exceptional value.We were upgraded to suite as it was our anniversary.We received a welcome drink and crumpets in the bar.We then went for a swim .Follow by a 3 course dinner with bottle of house wine.Staff were all helpful .Nothing was a bother to them.They even supply gluton free food which is a bones for me .We will definately be back.
Sue

Room Tip: E Mail them if you are celebrating asthey may up grade your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Delighted we were able to look after you and your gluten free bones tasted good we always try to look after peoples diets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Having been tempted by an exceptional value for money 'last minute' email from Best Western, we booked an overnight stay at the Derwent Manor. Upgraded on arrival to a suite, we were off to a flying start ! Our deal incorporated a welcome drink and choice of savory or sweet crumpet on arrival to be taken in the bar area - which filled the time nicely until our room was ready . Late afternoon was spent in the spa and followed by a pleasant walk in the hotel grounds. Evening meal in the restaurant was included - along with a bottle of wine. We chose entirely different meals and thoroughly enjoyed all three courses - plus a decent bottle of Shiraz ! Breakfast was good - with enough variety to satisfy even the most picky of guests - and we checked out feeling relaxed - which was the whole purpose of the visit .. good job BW !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenandwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Delighted you had a good time look forward to seeing you soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for a chill out once at reception on time for checkin we where told the room wasn't ready so we should go and wait in the bar,one hour later we went back to reception but where told our room still wasn't ready and was offered a free down grade to a basic room as we had booked a suite. After rejecting the rather silly offer we eventually got our room keys at 5pm. We booked our table for evening meal and guess what our table wasn't ready so had to wait in the bar again. Once sat down for our meal after paying £22.00 per person everything on the menu had a supplement to be paid. Things got worse when we tried to brush teeth and wash in our bathroom next morning as the water from taps wash orangey brown with a slime covering it, my partner was ill as she had drunk water from the taps during the night. We complained by email and where told the water system had been cleaned that day but was not flushed out properly and basically tuff. I will upload photos for potential guest to see .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorr12854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

What cani say sorry ! we are a busy hotel and maids work as fast as possible, our water supply is a natural spring and water quality is excellent, but we do need to carry out routine cleaning and flushing the system is just part of it, menu is 3 course fully included but supplements are offered for more expensive items, comments are taken on board but seem very harsh and not the norm, but thanks for posting the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
721 reviews
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,182 reviews
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
12 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
8.8 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range: $75 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing