We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Derwent Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from Derwent Manor.We took advantage of a hot wire deal.Exceptional value.We were upgraded to suite as it was our anniversary.We received a welcome drink and crumpets in the bar.We then went for a swim .Follow by a 3 course dinner with bottle of house wine.Staff were all helpful .Nothing was a bother to them.They even supply gluton free food which is a bones for me .We will definately be back.
Sue

Room Tip: E Mail them if you are celebrating asthey may up grade your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Delighted we were able to look after you and your gluten free bones tasted good we always try to look after peoples diets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Having been tempted by an exceptional value for money 'last minute' email from Best Western, we booked an overnight stay at the Derwent Manor. Upgraded on arrival to a suite, we were off to a flying start ! Our deal incorporated a welcome drink and choice of savory or sweet crumpet on arrival to be taken in the bar area - which filled the time nicely until our room was ready . Late afternoon was spent in the spa and followed by a pleasant walk in the hotel grounds. Evening meal in the restaurant was included - along with a bottle of wine. We chose entirely different meals and thoroughly enjoyed all three courses - plus a decent bottle of Shiraz ! Breakfast was good - with enough variety to satisfy even the most picky of guests - and we checked out feeling relaxed - which was the whole purpose of the visit .. good job BW !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenandwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Delighted you had a good time look forward to seeing you soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for a chill out once at reception on time for checkin we where told the room wasn't ready so we should go and wait in the bar,one hour later we went back to reception but where told our room still wasn't ready and was offered a free down grade to a basic room as we had booked a suite. After rejecting the rather silly offer we eventually got our room keys at 5pm. We booked our table for evening meal and guess what our table wasn't ready so had to wait in the bar again. Once sat down for our meal after paying £22.00 per person everything on the menu had a supplement to be paid. Things got worse when we tried to brush teeth and wash in our bathroom next morning as the water from taps wash orangey brown with a slime covering it, my partner was ill as she had drunk water from the taps during the night. We complained by email and where told the water system had been cleaned that day but was not flushed out properly and basically tuff. I will upload photos for potential guest to see .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorr12854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

What cani say sorry ! we are a busy hotel and maids work as fast as possible, our water supply is a natural spring and water quality is excellent, but we do need to carry out routine cleaning and flushing the system is just part of it, menu is 3 course fully included but supplements are offered for more expensive items, comments are taken on board but seem very harsh and not the norm, but thanks for posting the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Arrived without booking on a Saurday night as we had been let down by another hotel. Alhough they were full booked in the hotel (not surprisingly) the very pleasant man on reception found us a ground floor "cottage" across the car park. This consisted of a lounge area with TV, settee, table and chairs. Through a galley style kitchenette to a bedroom with ensuite off. The bathroom needed a complete refurbishment with bad tiling and botched repairs. For £97 it included breakfast in the hotel which was very good. We also ate dinner in the restaurant which again was quite adequate costing £84 with wine. To be honest we were just very grateful to find anywhere reasonable to stay on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carriefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

We do try our best , do come back soon and book one our excellent packages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked a special deal with this hotel where we got a 3 course meal, bottle of wine and Bed with full English Breakfast. The offer is fantastic at only £85 for the night for a double room. The rooms are very clean, food and staff are lovely and the surrounding area has a lot to offer. Give it a try!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Many people do, and keep coming back see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at The Manor booked through a "deals" website. We were not too sure what to expect and as we drove up the long bumpy drive, past a broken window we were slighty worried. However the welcome , wonderful suite with patio door onto a large balcony (a complimentary upgrade) and good food showed first appearances can be deceptive. The sun shone, the food was excellent and we were well entertained at dinner by a gent in a party who complained about every morcel (without cause we thought). The staff dealt with him in a friendly and professional manner, well done. We woke to a beautiful sunny morning with rabbits and a deer strolling across the fields outside our window followed by a hearty breakfast. The staff were all so helpful and friendly. Just repair the window!

Room Tip: The suite is the size of a small apartment with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davefaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Right Window has been measured will be repaired Friday so please do come again and check, and yes the view is lovely .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Recently had an excellent stay at Derwent Manor.

As others have mentioned the quality and value for money with the dinner, bed and breakfast deals are really good.
he
Arrived at the hotel to complimentary toasted teacakes and hot chocolate in t he bar which was a nice touch. Have been here a few times and each time have experienced feeling totally relaxed and comfortable from the second we arrive thanks to the surroundings and friendly staff.

The only slightly negative aspect of the stay was a mix up with the rooms on check in which meant me having to move to a different room from the one I was first given but the staff were very apologetic about the error.

The rooms themselves are very nice. Big in size, well maintained, comfortable beds and great views of the countryside. In response to those criticising the tvs, yes they're dated but have a good enough picture and sound and were fine to watch. I understand the hotel is slowly upgrading to wall mounted flat screens and I would personally prefer this to be a longer process rather than upgrading them all straight away and needing to increase their tarrif to pay for it!

The pool and sauna facilities are really good. The size of the pool was perfect in allowing quite a few people to relax or swim as they wished, and the view from the jacuzzi is lovely! It would be nice to see the changing faciltiies a bit more private.

As ever the restaurant couldn't be faulted, from the range and quality of the food, to the nice atmosphere, to the attention to detail and friendly service from the staff. A lot of thought obviously goes into the menu for the evening meals.

Breakfast is all made from good quality products and made to order so is hot and fresh when it is served to the table.

Finally I really like the fact check out is at 11am unlike a lot of hotels where it is 10am. This allows you to have a leisurely morning and breakfast without feeling a need to rush around or get up too early.

In summary another excellent stay. Derwent Manor should be proud of what they do. Look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thanks for a a great review call again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,562 reviews
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,178 reviews
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
21.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
8.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range: $78 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing