We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exccellent overnight break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here on a deal in the local paper. room 240 .Excellent hotel spotlessly clean.large comfortable rooms with 2 x large double beds. Excellent bathroom everything worked.Spa looked great although did not have time to use it.Toasted tea cakes and hot chocolate on arrival were much appreciated and very nice.Evening meal and service were brilliant as was breakfast.views from room were exceptional as was view of surrounding countryside.my only very minor gripe was room was let down by old t/v on a stand that did not have freeview or menu so you could see what was on and could not be seen when lying in bed.This was rectified by removing tea tray from coffee table and standing t/v and stand on it.A flat screen t/v mounted on the wall between the beds would make such a difference as this was the only fault i could find and believe me i did look for them.Will definitely be going back but need to stay a little longer to take advantage of the country walks in surrounding area and the spa afterwards.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Delighted with your comments thank you ,but please be aware it is a real h@s risk standing the tv on the coffee table ,should it fall and be damaged , we would have to charge £240 to replace and yes more than likely a flat screen replacement, never thought of it but would be a great way to get them all replaced!!!! only joking ,please dont make this a habit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is an attractive hotel in a lovely in a scenic location.

We booked a package that included breakfast and a three course dinner both days.

The room was spacious and comfortable. The decoration and furnishings I believe were from the late eighties/early nineties, but were well maintained, pleasant and spot less.

The housekeeping/cleanliness of the bedroom was immaculate.

The staff were helpful. The food was good, and we enjoyed every meal.

We used the Pool and Spa both days This too was well maintained..

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend this hotel. It is a very comfortable hotel.

I would imagine that the location would be fantastic on a summers day.

The only disappointing part to the break was the packed lunch we were given as we left.

I would suggest that they stop giving them unless they improve the content. I threw my sandwich away and did not enjoy the contents of the lunch bag. No big deal really.

Cynical guests may think that it may not matter to the hotel what goes into the bags as the guests are leaving. Just a thought.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happywanderer243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Your great comments are noted, however we will now refocus on the packed lunch as we would not like our clients to see this as the last impression, especially as so many return again and again on the Ramblers deal, it is great value for money so may be we need to add a littrle more in for the packed lunch, any suggestions on content and price greatfully read.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I visited with our 21 month old daughter for one night. It was a Groupon deal which included three course evening meal. Sometimes when you use such deals, hotels can treat you differently to full paying guests, but that wasn't the case for Derwent Manor. From the moment we arrived, the staff made us feel very welcome. They were very busy due to weddings over the Easter weekend but again that didn't make any difference. They were still very attentive and didn't rush us or pay us any less attention. They even opened the restaurant slightly earlier for us so we could feed our daughter before settling her down for the night.

The room was spacious, warm and clean. The food was extremely tasty. The pool was a lovely temperature and our daughter had great fun in there. To top it off, there was a 'knight' in reception who our daughter kept going over to say hello to (she loves Mike the Knight on tv). As we checked out, the manager not only gave our daughter some sweets from his magic drawer in his office but also gave her an Easter egg. She was so happy.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Easter eggs are only given out to good little Best Western boys and girls, but were glad you also enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife, 21 month old toddler and I booked into Derwent Manor on a Groupon deal for one night at a very reasonable rate. The hotel looks a little like a castle or fortified house and sits well in this beautiful area of County Durham, atop a hill overlooking a snowy valley. It hits the mark for being in a rural area, however there isn't much in the immediate vicinity.

When we checked in the manager was great with us and our little girl, who got a little bag of sweets which was nice of him.

The room itself was easily large enough for the three of us with two beds and a cot bed and warm enough despite the cold weather. The bed was a little soft as we're used to memory foam.

Part of the deal was a meal in the restaurant. Here again Derwent Manor showed themselves to be very accommodating to families as we mentioned that we'd like to eat as early as possible with our little girl so they let us into the restaurant before opening. This meant that she wasn't as tired and hungry as she would have been and ensured that it was nice and quiet as we battled with her to eat those first few spoon-fulls... The waiting staff were lovely and took an interest in our daughter (as well as a lot of the other diners who arrived later, as she was being quite loudly cute...)

We made good use of the spa facilities. The pool isn't huge but I don't think it needs to be given the number of people using it - it was fairly quiet so we could enjoy some family splash time.

When we were checking out the manager again doted on our little girl, and she was given a gratefully-received Easter egg.

In summary a very enjoyable stay that matched what we'd heard from other people who had stayed here. We'll certainly keep Derwent Manor at the forefront of our mind when we have a family leisure stay again. We've often gone to the Durham Radisson in the past but DM is much more family friendly and gets my vote.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgncl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Delighted you stayed with us , your little girl was a joy to serve, hurry back we are always delighted to look after the little customers as a family frendly hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed for 3 nights at the Derwent Manor where we have stayed previously. The rooms are spacious and well equipped however on our first night when my partner got into bed something caught on his foot. On closer examination we found a dirty pair of mens boxer shorts in the bed. I reported this the next morning to the duty manager for which I got an apology and a promise of investigation into the matter from which we heard no more. I explained that on change over surely the beds should be stripped completely and new sheets etc placed so how could this have possibly have happened if this process had been carried out. We were offered no compensation or refund of any kind for this incident which to be honest is completely unacceptable. The hotel is good but surely more than apology would be appropriate for a matter as serious as this.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janandreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Sorry about the boxer shorts in the bed but as all rooms have large twin double beds and housekeeping saw no sign that the bed had been slept in ,this was missed however as a regular user pleaase contact myself on your next visit and we will arrange a complimentry upgrade to a suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked for a long weekend with the intention of having a relaxing break. Our room was well above expectations and was at the very end of the hotel with excellent views over the valley. The bed big was enough to sleep a small family. We were told that the hotel was full that weekend and the reason was soon apparent, there were two weddings being held there. We fully expected to have a fairly disturbed Saturday night but we never heard a thing, undoubtedly because of the position of our room in relation to the function rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout the hotel, and the food was excellent, both in the bar and in the restaurant. Initial impressions of the portions in the restaurant was that they were small, but after three courses we felt that they were just right. The drinks are a little pricey but certainly no more so than many other hotels. The Wi-Fi is free and open access, other hotels please take note and learn.
Unfortunately we were so relaxed by the Sunday that we couldn't muster up the enthusiasm to try out the leisure facilities, opting for a lazy day and afternoon tea in the bar.
We achieved what we set out to do and came away totally relaxed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear totally relaxed ,great comments do return soon call us direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Thanks to the efforts of our secretary a Luxury hotel at an affordable price. This sometimes backfires as the room is discounted but the food is overpriced, not the case here, bar meals are reasonably priced, another contributer commented on the portion size but at the price just add a starter or dessert. Rooms are exellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The Heath club is an added bonus but the pool is quite small so could be crowded when busy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Many thanks for your comments ,we can tell you are a experienced travler, The pool very rarely gets over grouded but we agree it is a great assest to have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
730 reviews
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,193 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,584 reviews
21 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
12 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range: $78 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing