We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very family friendly, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very family friendly, great stay”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife, 21 month old toddler and I booked into Derwent Manor on a Groupon deal for one night at a very reasonable rate. The hotel looks a little like a castle or fortified house and sits well in this beautiful area of County Durham, atop a hill overlooking a snowy valley. It hits the mark for being in a rural area, however there isn't much in the immediate vicinity.

When we checked in the manager was great with us and our little girl, who got a little bag of sweets which was nice of him.

The room itself was easily large enough for the three of us with two beds and a cot bed and warm enough despite the cold weather. The bed was a little soft as we're used to memory foam.

Part of the deal was a meal in the restaurant. Here again Derwent Manor showed themselves to be very accommodating to families as we mentioned that we'd like to eat as early as possible with our little girl so they let us into the restaurant before opening. This meant that she wasn't as tired and hungry as she would have been and ensured that it was nice and quiet as we battled with her to eat those first few spoon-fulls... The waiting staff were lovely and took an interest in our daughter (as well as a lot of the other diners who arrived later, as she was being quite loudly cute...)

We made good use of the spa facilities. The pool isn't huge but I don't think it needs to be given the number of people using it - it was fairly quiet so we could enjoy some family splash time.

When we were checking out the manager again doted on our little girl, and she was given a gratefully-received Easter egg.

In summary a very enjoyable stay that matched what we'd heard from other people who had stayed here. We'll certainly keep Derwent Manor at the forefront of our mind when we have a family leisure stay again. We've often gone to the Durham Radisson in the past but DM is much more family friendly and gets my vote.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgncl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Delighted you stayed with us , your little girl was a joy to serve, hurry back we are always delighted to look after the little customers as a family frendly hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    480
    167
    87
    62
See reviews for
247
711
21
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed for 3 nights at the Derwent Manor where we have stayed previously. The rooms are spacious and well equipped however on our first night when my partner got into bed something caught on his foot. On closer examination we found a dirty pair of mens boxer shorts in the bed. I reported this the next morning to the duty manager for which I got an apology and a promise of investigation into the matter from which we heard no more. I explained that on change over surely the beds should be stripped completely and new sheets etc placed so how could this have possibly have happened if this process had been carried out. We were offered no compensation or refund of any kind for this incident which to be honest is completely unacceptable. The hotel is good but surely more than apology would be appropriate for a matter as serious as this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janandreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Sorry about the boxer shorts in the bed but as all rooms have large twin double beds and housekeeping saw no sign that the bed had been slept in ,this was missed however as a regular user pleaase contact myself on your next visit and we will arrange a complimentry upgrade to a suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked for a long weekend with the intention of having a relaxing break. Our room was well above expectations and was at the very end of the hotel with excellent views over the valley. The bed big was enough to sleep a small family. We were told that the hotel was full that weekend and the reason was soon apparent, there were two weddings being held there. We fully expected to have a fairly disturbed Saturday night but we never heard a thing, undoubtedly because of the position of our room in relation to the function rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout the hotel, and the food was excellent, both in the bar and in the restaurant. Initial impressions of the portions in the restaurant was that they were small, but after three courses we felt that they were just right. The drinks are a little pricey but certainly no more so than many other hotels. The Wi-Fi is free and open access, other hotels please take note and learn.
Unfortunately we were so relaxed by the Sunday that we couldn't muster up the enthusiasm to try out the leisure facilities, opting for a lazy day and afternoon tea in the bar.
We achieved what we set out to do and came away totally relaxed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear totally relaxed ,great comments do return soon call us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Thanks to the efforts of our secretary a Luxury hotel at an affordable price. This sometimes backfires as the room is discounted but the food is overpriced, not the case here, bar meals are reasonably priced, another contributer commented on the portion size but at the price just add a starter or dessert. Rooms are exellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The Heath club is an added bonus but the pool is quite small so could be crowded when busy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Many thanks for your comments ,we can tell you are a experienced travler, The pool very rarely gets over grouded but we agree it is a great assest to have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Another fantastic stay. Food in evening amazing. Staff as always friendly,helpful and welcoming. Booked another 2 rooms in May to introduce another family member to the amazing value of Derwent Manor.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazbot07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the review, please tell all about our great value , might even put you on commission
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here with a special offer so we had afternoon tea then a swim then got ready for our evening meal, The staff were lovely and very helpful we live within 30 miles of the Hall and we will be back you can just go there for meals or a swim.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaKillhope1853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks ! look forward to seeing you soon for a meal or a swim or just a casual drink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Visited 23/3/13 - 26/3/13. Very comfortable hotel that provides a good base for exploring Co. Durham and parts of Northumberland. 20 miles to Durham 30 to Hexham 20 Barnards Castle. Clean hotel with very helpful staff. Only tried that bar meals and they were good although not over generous portions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Your views and constructive comments are taken on board ,with a new chef in place all aspects of our food are under review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,102 reviews
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,507 reviews
21.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
21.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing