We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury Hotel Budget Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Luxury Hotel Budget Price”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Thanks to the efforts of our secretary a Luxury hotel at an affordable price. This sometimes backfires as the room is discounted but the food is overpriced, not the case here, bar meals are reasonably priced, another contributer commented on the portion size but at the price just add a starter or dessert. Rooms are exellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The Heath club is an added bonus but the pool is quite small so could be crowded when busy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Many thanks for your comments ,we can tell you are a experienced travler, The pool very rarely gets over grouded but we agree it is a great assest to have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    476
    167
    85
    60
See reviews for
238
700
21
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Another fantastic stay. Food in evening amazing. Staff as always friendly,helpful and welcoming. Booked another 2 rooms in May to introduce another family member to the amazing value of Derwent Manor.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazbot07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the review, please tell all about our great value , might even put you on commission
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here with a special offer so we had afternoon tea then a swim then got ready for our evening meal, The staff were lovely and very helpful we live within 30 miles of the Hall and we will be back you can just go there for meals or a swim.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaKillhope1853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks ! look forward to seeing you soon for a meal or a swim or just a casual drink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Visited 23/3/13 - 26/3/13. Very comfortable hotel that provides a good base for exploring Co. Durham and parts of Northumberland. 20 miles to Durham 30 to Hexham 20 Barnards Castle. Clean hotel with very helpful staff. Only tried that bar meals and they were good although not over generous portions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Your views and constructive comments are taken on board ,with a new chef in place all aspects of our food are under review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is sited on top of a hill with 360 degree views of the lovely surrounding countryside. The hotel itself is of olde worlde design both inside and out. It is very well decorated and very clean throughout. Our bedroom was a good size with a queen size bed that was very comfortable. There was just two things I didn't like, there was no clothes cupboard, just a rail in an alcove, and the TV had no access to teletext or radio stations, although there was wi-fi access.
Had lunch in the bar which was OK but wasn't tempted to use it for our evening meals, used the restaurant instead - good choice. The food was absolutely excellent, cooked to perfection, nicely presented and reasonably priced, as was the wine! Enjoyed the food for three consecutive nights but felt the menu could do with changing more extensively nightly. Breakfast was equally good wit plenty of choice.
Used the swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi every day. Pool was very warm and sauna and jacuzzi both excellent.
Found all the staff we came into contact with to be polite, courteous and helpful.
All in all an excellent place to stay, would thoroughly recommend it and I will certainly stay again if I visit the area.

Room Tip: The place is on several levels so if you are of limited mobility check room location before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockman01787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
great comments thank you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire,Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked 3 rooms at this hotel for a 50th wedding celebration. All in all, the hotel was very good. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and well appointed. Public areas are well kept, in good repair and are very welcoming with traditional fires etc.Relaxing, the range of beers is good, there are plenty of food choices and the breakfasts are excellent. Staff are uniformly polite, friendly and helpful. The leisure facilities are not large but they ARE good; the pool is warm and clean with a nice jacuzzi and sauna to complete the package. All good then so what's wrong ? Simple.....the hotel charges for pets - £15 per night ! - and advertises 'pets allowed' ; but this comes with conditions which are not made clear until arrival and which if you adhere to them ( and you are asked to sign up to this ) are both contradictory and restrictive. For example, pets are not allowed in bedrooms on their own but neither are they allowed in public areas. One assumes then that they must be chaperoned in the room. They are allowed in front of house but not in a corner of the bar WAY out of any food service zone so what to do at night ? Our dog is small; and we would not think to take him to areas where food was being served or not under full control.....but we found this policy restrictive and annoying despite staff being sympathetic. This is a real shame given the hotel's other attributes. Management might care to review their policy with a view to allowing soem latitude whilst reserving the rights they currently enforce rigidly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IaninPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many Thanks for the kind comments always good to get. However we do maintain a dog policy which is friendly to dog owners and all other guests of the hotel. Sorry we did not please you on this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stay at the Derwent Manor very often, it is our little escape from the norm. Staff are lovely, food is delicious and rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the spa and gym are just an added bonus to the beautiful surrounings. However I do have one major complaint that I do mention on each visit as simple as it is it NEVER gets rectified. The floor in the sauna underneath the seats NEVER gets washed. It is absolutely filthy. Iv dropped my locker key a couple of times and when iv picked it up my hand has been filthy. Its such a simple task.Staff must wash the front of the sauna but cant be bothered to bend down to clean the back where everyone's sweat drops !!! Please sort this housekeeping issue it is a health and safety issue, so disgusting and its just lazy staff. This is an on going unnecessary problem that could be sorted with a hot soapy mop in minutes. Showers in the rooms would bever be left so why is half of the floor in the sauna !!! Rant over !!! We still love our visits back very soon

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marniekaystubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for your king comments and your RANT also we now put a belt and braces check in place to ensure you are not troubled again . Do come baxck soon and check.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
21.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
8.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing