We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full marks all round....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Check in was very smooth, room was spacious and cosy. Had everything we needed although it would have been much better with a flat screen bigger telly. Restaurant was excellent along with breakfast, the bar was also nice. Once again thank you Derwent Manor for a superb night out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Nice comments thanks, watch this space, new tvs coming soon. Flat and large!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,136 - 1,142 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Checked into our room which had 2 Queen size beds which were very comfortable. We went down for our Valentines meal and were shown to our table which was decorated lovely with a red rosé, heart shaped chocolates and packet of love hearts, candles and a chilled bottle of Prosecco. The choice of meal was lovely, service excellent and the singer was a Michael Buble tribute. If anything I think the entertainment could have lasted until 11pm but went off at10pm but other than that a most pleasant night and we both thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris1324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Many thanks will make a point of keeping the singer on later next year. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just spent two night in this hotel courtesy of Tesco deals vouchers. Whilst not the most modern best western we have stayed in it was without doubt one of the friendliest. From the very first moment we checked in it felt warm and cosy, the bar area is lovely with a big open fire, we had meals in here on both nights because we felt so welcome. The meals were expensive for what you got but you expect to pay high bar prices in a hotel these days. Breakfast was very nice and presented well. The best part for us was the lovely pool and jacuzzi which we made full use of because it was freezing outside. Would we go back? Yes I think so if we could get one of the deals that other reviewers have mentioned.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freckles-x-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thanks hope you got good value for your Tesco points, do come back soon call us for our latest and best deals direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

the hotel is on the road to slaley hall and has an road presently being refurbished , the check in was efficient and rooms large and comfortable with two double beds . the three course meal was speedily served and of good quality , the sleep was fine and breakfast again well presented even though my scrambled eggs were not hot at 10am we ere last in breakfast . overall cannot fault the hotel , just wish had time for health club

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thornabyfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Sorry your eggs were cold ,will be looked into as they should have be cooked to order, do come back soon and try the leisure club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pat and I have just spent a fabulous one night break away. The staff couldn't do enough to make our time as pleasant as possible.The hotel was spotlessly clean. The room large and comfortable.
The offer of £65 for both of us, included dinner and a bottle of wine. The food was very good, including breakfast. Well done BEST WESTERN, DERWENT MANOR.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlindsay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Delighted thank you please dont tell everone the price you paid !!! they will all want a great DEAL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We just got back from a night at the Derwent Manor Hotel and I have to say we have had a lovely time. I bought the other half a £89 dinner, bed and breakfast deal from groupon for his birthday and it turned out to be a really pleasant way to spend a Friday night. The hotel room was huge and actually had two double beds, although the bathroom was a little dated the shower was good with decent water pressure. This was probably one of the best nights sleep I've had in a hotel because it was so peaceful with good comfy beds. We couldn't hear any other guests although the place was quite busy.

The highlight of the stay was definitly the food, which was excellent. It was also nice having use of the leisure facilities as we went for a little swim and a sauna before dinner. Some of the dishes on the menu come with a surcharge, but considering the cost of the deal we had, it is still really good value for money. The duck confit wrapped in palma ham that I had for the main course was amazing and my husband was very pleased with his coffee creme brulee. Portion sizes aren't huge but I prefer it this way, so you can enjoy all three courses without being overly full at the end. The staff were lovely and very attentive.

We only live a half hour drive from the place but it did feel like getting away from it all. We will definitly be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Fair and to the point comments we cant ask for anymore, thanks call us direct for the best deals. as your only a stones through away

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We travelled up from Sussex to visit family . We had one problem with bedding on our fist night , but this was superbly addressed by the manager on the Saturday . This was our second visit and we cannot fault the hotel or staff . To add we have stayed in some very good and expensive hotel in this country and around the world , and for some reason this is my wife's favourite hotel , says I t all really !

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benfieldside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Many Thanks delighted manager on duty sorted out the bedding issue, look forward to seeing you soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
737 reviews
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,206 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,597 reviews
21 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
12 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range: $100 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing