We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
southg shields
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“fantastic night”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

we went with 2 friends and had wonderful night. good food hot chocolate with marshmallows and toated tea cakes on arrival superb salmon for dinner. staff were lovely especialy the turkish waiter in the restaurant. waited a long time for breakfast but were warned by a notice on the reception desk. all in all a fantastic night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davyboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you at least some one sees things as they are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    480
    167
    87
    62
See reviews for
247
711
21
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having booked a week long Christmas break in an apartment we were totally gutted by the quality all round, to say it is part of the hotel- a best western at that. Shabby 1 bed apartment- damp on the wall in the bedroom and dated, broken and mouldy shower room along with a lounge with a settee that was neither comfy or stylish. After 1 night of listening to the neighbours as they walked around their apartment and use the toilet we went and complained. We were offered the cottage - an awful lot better- apart from the freezer had no door and the food in the fridge froze and be thrown away. The staff after all this were brilliant and customer care was 100%. However this shouldn't have happened in the first instance. Be cautious unless the 1 bed apartment had the word refurbished attached to it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for the comments, hope you enjoyed christmas day lunch, we did try to please you but some times you just cant win.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

well what can i say we came here for christmas day lunch and yes the tables were packed in and overcrowded too close together and some were like camping tables shocking the soup was burnt to begin with nobody wanted the salmon course and then christmas dinner well a slice of turkey four sprouts and a bit of turnip with a yourkshire pud and pig in blanket not very exciting however the dessert was lovely i having the chocolate offering and everyone else opting for the christmas pud. However the staff were appauling i know its christmas day at being at work is no ones idea of fun but a smile at least would not have gone to waste missreble staff and not enough of them for the amount of people to serve we had to go up to get our own drinks in the end and were told it was table service well yes if you can find a waitress we had to wait ages for our tea and coffee had to search for a waitress to get our mince pies the smallest mince pies in the world i have to say then santa clause came out half dressed with a lovely big pillow sticking out of his red coat for all to see come on make an effort however he did bring a named gift for the children. Some staff traning needed the hotel looke lovely however a little tired we did not stay on this occasion but have stayed here in the past rooms are spacious but looking old food in bar expensive but normally very nice a good located hotel that could be so much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank new100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you comments taken on board, however the days feed back was generaly good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is the 5th year that we have taken our extended family for a Christmas break and was undoubtedly the best yet.

The hotel has been built in the style of a manor house (although it used to be a farm) with a Great Hall complete with shields and a minstrels gallery. We chose it because it has a purpose built disabled twin room which was ideal as although the hotel, being built on a hill, has numerous steps including along the corridors there were no steps to and from this room.

The bedrooms are huge. We had a twin room with two big double beds, plenty of storage space and a great view.

We received a warm welcome from a very friendly staff with lots of little extras such as the Christmas card on arrival and a stocking full of goodies on Christmas morning. A sumptuous afternoon tea was provided on Christmas Eve. There was plenty to do over the weekend including a treasure hunt round the hotel and a small but pleasant swimming pool with a spa and sauna.

On the whole the food was good although choice at breakfast was limited albeit plentiful. There was no choice of eggs, although the scrambled egg was good and no fish option ( I usually like a kipper or two). Christmas lunch was excellent as was the buffet in the evening.

The only downside was dinner on Boxing Day. Although we were asked to choose a 15 minute time slot to speed up service, the service of our main course was very slow. And when the food did come it was not very hot, possibly because it is a long way from the kitchen to the Abbotsford Suite where dinner was served. They also ran out of lamb, but didn’t tell us until the main courses arrived about an hour and a half after we had first sat down. To make things worse someone decided to supply beef as a substitute but without telling us first. Not a good idea as one of our party doesn’t eat beef.

But this did not spoil what was a superb break in great surroundings. The hotel was spotlessly clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnjo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Many thanks delighted you had a good time ,sorry for the delays on boxing day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I would just like to pass on our compliments and thank you's to all the staff at Derwent Manor who made our stay there exceptional!
The food was amazing, ALL staff helpful and friendly during a busy, busy time, the room was spacious and spotless.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable time, thank you again!





Merry Christmas and Happy 2013 to you all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

In recent years, with family all doing their 'own thing' - we have spent Christmastime at various hotels around the country. This year we chose the Derwent Manor at Allensford in Northumberland. We visited the hotel in May 2012 to view rooms and booked the Bolbec Suite (later transfered to the Athol); a bit expensive but we wanted a 'nice' Christmas stay with all the trimmings.

We arrived Christmas Eve to a warm welcome and were absolutely delighted with our suite. The hotel was superbly decorated and we enjoyed the evening atmosphere in the Grouse & Claret bar, with singers, cocktail and canapes. Our Christmas Eve dinner, reserved for 7.30pm was served in the Allensford Restaurant. The room was spacious, the service and quality of food was indeed very good. On Christmas morning we found a lovely 'stocking' hanging on our door with crackers and some surprise gifts. Christmas day breakfast started with a glass of Bucks Fizz, and the breakfast buffet was 'spot on' - so far so good.......!

We had booked Christmas lunch for 1.00pm, with (as advertised 15 minute sittings) served in the Grand Hall. Our first impression was nicely set up tables, but when we sat down, we realised how small our table was and how closely packed together the tables were (we had to move ours to let the 9 people on the next table get their chairs into position). The first and second courses were fine, but by the time we ordered our main course, the hall had filled to almost full. The turkey came plated up with 2 roast potatoes and a chipolata wrapped in bacon - the seasonal vegetables (as advertised) consisted of sprouts and mashed turnip (no new potatoes as advised on the menu). The supposed 15 minute seating-time didn't work, and suddenly the hall was filled with what few waiters there were, rushed off their feet in an overcrowded situation, and we never did get the chance to ask for cranberry dressing. For those that didn't like sprouts or gravy on the plate (my wife doesn't like gravy poured all over her dinner) - tough. During our meal, waiters were trying to get past us with large trays being used to carry 5 or 6 plated dinners - I had to keep dodging my head to one side and any sort of slip would have resulted in some unfortunate person(s) receiving their Christmas lunch in a way they weren't expecting. There were 30 to 40 people too many and we were glad to escape the mayhem. We were expecting our main course plated, but with seasonal vegetables and a gravy boat brought to the table for self-service (we didn't expect silver-service at such busy times). Next year, would strongly suggest the price be increased to £70 per guest and reduce the numbers by at least 25%. In some circumstances "less is more" and this was one of them........discussed with reception staff on our departure.

The evening buffet was fine and we had a lovely evening chatting to fellow guests and having a quiet drink in the Grouse & Claret bar. Next year, residents, like us, who had paid a lot of money for the Christmas Package should be served lunch in the Allensford Restaurant, with Christmas Day lunch being served in the Grand Hall for those who just book in for "Christmas Day" Lunch.

Having said that, the hotel is superbly located, spotlessly clean (we loved the Suite) and we can't speak too highly of the brilliant and friendly staff; and if the Best Western 3* Derwent Manor give us an assurance that they same thing won't happen again next year - WE'LL BE BACK.

Dr Allen E Cartmell

Room Tip: All rooms are well laid out with easy access to all parts of the hotel. The suites cost more but, in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Many thanks your comments are very thoughtful and constructive and will be actoined, yes the package could be put into another room and the tables will not be that small again ther mistake was on our part having ordered the wrong tables. Hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I thought I had booked to stay last Saturdy night. but due to my error I had booked Sunday.The reception staff could not have been more helpful. Finding us another Best Western hotel. The receptionist even haggled the price from£155.00 to £85.00.THANK YOU SOO MUCHFOR OVER AND ABOVE CALL OF DUTY SERVICE

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianleask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Glad we could help get the price right for you , sorry you did not get to stay here , do try again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,102 reviews
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,507 reviews
21.0 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
21.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing