We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This three star hotel is still punching way above its weight. Booked a 2-night B&B break with dinner on the first night with Superbreak for just £72pp. Great room (112), food and service. A very comfortable and relaxing stay. Will keep returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Many thanks for your kind words, next time book direct and get our latest deals, will be waiting for you with a large glass of RED WINE.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,168 - 1,174 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a wonderful location & a stunning venue in which to have an overnight catch up with my lovely friend. Our room was lovely and spacious with 2 lovely large beds but bathroom a little dated.

The pool building is really lovely too but we found the pool rather on the chilly side. However, when we asked if the swimming pool water could be heated up the staff were onto this straight away & it was a little warmer the nxt am.

As we were only on an overnight stay, the highlight of our catch up was dinnner in the restaurant over a bottle of wine & a great tasty menu. The surroundings are lovely, full of character & very comfortable with great staff who are very friendly & attentive.Unfortunately the food was a real disappointment & really let the evening down.
The "set price" menu is not set at all as for certain dishes you have to pay a supplement for £1.95 extra for certain starters & an additional £5+ for a couple of the main courses. We were actually mad enough to do this & were sorely disappointed with our choices & couldn't work out what the extra cost was for???
My friend simply could not eat her steak & chips as it didn't taste right & I had to leave my chips - a first for me!! The waitress arranged for one of the additional costs for the main course to be waived as it had spoilt my friend's meal but we are still pondering why we had to pay supplements for such small & not very special starters.To conclude, dessert was poor too & we finished our meal searching for fruit in the fruit salad.

Although the food was disappointing, every member of staff we met was so helpful & friendly but sadly not sure if we will return based on our dining experience

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Again thank you for the comments as i said on the BEST WESTERN site can not hold with your opinion, however delighted a member of the team refunded you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with very friendly staff. We had stayed there a year oreviously, spending over two weeks there and it was excellent. Some of the staff we'd got to know were still there, which projects a warm image as many hotel staff are itinerant.
The hotel in in a beautiful part of the country and the many attracteion are easily driven to, as are the local towns, with their different appeal.
One negative was that, despite telling reception about it each day, our television never worked. By a 'coincidence', it never worked when we were there a year before! If there was little or no reception in the rooms, it would have been better for reception just to say so. Thedifferent excusees each day made the situation much worse. The TV set was not even swapped with another one. For us, this was really trivial as we were out till late each night, but it was made really irritating my the excuses, plus the mumbled 'promise' on one occasion that 'perhaps we could take something off the price of the room' which never materialised! I write this in the hope that it is constructive criticism that might help the hotel (& Best Western) - both of which we really like.

Room Tip: Very populsr for weddings so, if you don't want to 'share' in the fun of hearing the hap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brindley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Many Thanks for your positive comments, sorry but the TVs have not been right since the change over but we are in the process of correcting this. Rest assured your comments will be acted upon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was overjoyed to be upgraded to a suite, particularly because it came with a four poster bed and an incredibly spacious bathroom.
The hotel has good old fashioned character and is situated far from the rat race.
I didn't get the opportunity to use their Scandinavia looking leisure facilities but they looked inviting.

Room Tip: Derwent Suites are lovely but they are on the top floor (only accessible by stairs) so not suitable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Many thanks comments are much welcomed, glad you enjoyed the stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights during the worst storms of the past 10 years but did not dull the warm welcome of the staff. Rooms excellent, nice and warm, clean & spacious. Had two double beds as twin. Food very good, reasonable choices. Bar prices no more expensive than most hotels. Internet connection free if a little slow but nothing you don't expect when you are miles from anywhere. Staff friendly and helpful. Only downside is they could do with a seperate lounge away from the bar to just relax and read etc. preferably with views of the stunning countryside around, plenty of places outside but if is blowing a gale and lashing it down hardly useful . Saw some of their banqueting suites and they looked fabulous, beautiful place for a wedding I am sure.
All in all one of the better hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor had no AC noise and beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonbon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thanks we feel we have a great hotel ,views are great and yes you are right we do have some great wedding rooms the GREAT HALL is just fab for a wedding ,party or christnas.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Absolutely fantastic hotel. Can't fault it. Great value for money. Enjoyed swimming pool and jacquzzi. Had evening meal in Grouse and Claret bar rather than restaurant. Excellent food and service. Lovely spacious ground floor room with nice views. Stayed for husbands birthday. Would stay again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LyndseyM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Hope you had a great birthday ,dont leave it a year to return, missing you already.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Whilst the room was large we had two Double Beds in the Room and plenty of space, the old wooden furnishings detracted from the original impression, and whilst we only stopped 1 night a longer stay may have more issues with storage of clothes, although a large hanging area was available.
Reception on arrival was brilliant - friendly and engaging, their was a waring about Breakfast and a traffic light system about peak times and delays that may be experienced.
Evening Meal was first class - worth the cost and service was friendly and efficient.
Breakfast - a little more confused, as we sat down and then they forgot about us for a short while, and some people were waiting to be seated but had been at least pre warned, see above.
Again service was adequate.
Small Swimming pool and facilities were good, not many in at the time we visited, so no issues, might get a little congested when busy but pleasant enough.
Pot Holes on drive have been filled, beware the speed humps though they are not as obvious so you can be caught out by them.
All in all a good experience with good views and a warm welcome and well looked after

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Your frank and honest comments are noted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allensford
15.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
721 reviews
16.6 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,183 reviews
13.2 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
12 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
8.8 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel

Address: | Allensford, Allensford DH8 9BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Allensford
Price Range: $75 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set in twenty acres of Northumberland countryside and overlooking the Derwent Valley, Derwent Manor offers the warmest of welcomes. With its country house ambiance, elegant decor and professional team, this is the ideal venue for business and leisure guests alike. Derwent Manor boasts 48 spacious en-suite bedrooms , doubles, double x doubles and suites many with stunning views over the Northumberland countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Allensford
Best Western Northumberland
Best Western Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing