We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we have ever stayed in.”
Review of Waterways Cottage

Waterways Cottage
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterways Cottage
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B we have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The room put many top class hotels to shame. Spotlessly clean, everthing needed was there, fabulously comfortable huge super-king bed, jacuzzi bath etc. Well cooked and presented full English breakfast. Very warm welcome and personal service.
The cottage is right on top of all the amenities of the charming village of Stoke Bruerne, straddling the Grand Union canal. Eat / drink in any of the two pubs or outstanding Indian Restaurante and watch the canal boats negotiating the lock, visit the Canal Museum or gift/craft shops, walk the canal paths, or take one of the boat trips available through the Blisworth Tunnel (the longest of its kind in the UK).
We will be returning asap, and would not hesitate in recommending it.

Room Tip: Check the web site for a tour of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
27
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Once again another brilliant welcome from Kath & Trevor. Their guest house is 5 star and nothing is too much trouble. In the rooms nothing has been forgotten and the cleanliness and their first class welcome complets your stay.We return again & again, thanks both once again. Maureen & Joseph

Room Tip: All extras you need for stay are already there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojoLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Just went for a short get away with my partner I'm not into big hotels unless you can afford a suite as there always so dull and basic. This place felt right at home comfy and welcoming. breakfast was nice good meat used and fresh coffee! Very clean huge bed and the bath was even bigger in person more like a hot tub fantastic would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss-English-Rose81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2010

After a hard days work it was an excellent place to relax and unwind Kath and Trevor were great and we have already booked for next year

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timjackets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

First class friendly welcome off the owners Kath & Hubby. First class attention to detail which is always appreciated when you try to travel light. Even down to a magnifiying mirror for your make up and lovely jacussi type bath, wonderful to relax in. It's a newly Thatched roof cottage near to the picturesque canal- where you can hire day boats/ trips and visit the canal museum. Good walking area, excellant Indian restaurant with another exceptional welcome from the owners. Do visit Stoke Bruerne they have a 40's weekend on 1/2nd October, go in uniform or 40's clothes and enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojoLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed in the Red room, WOW! Great jacuzzi bath! Kath and Trevor were wonderfull hosts, nothing was to much bother. Breakfast was great, Toast on tap! We would recomend to all our friends and family and we will return. Thank you for a wonderful weekend. Mick and Sarah xx

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurnerS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Just returned from a weekend stay at Waterways to attend a friend's wedding in nearby Blisworth. We received a very warm welcome from Kath and Trevor, the rooms were lovely (spotless) with lots of nice touches (fresh flowers etc) and a very large comfy bed. Breakfast was lovely - tailored to suit individual needs. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the massive jacuzzi bath (red room) and sitting in the sunshine in the charming courtyard garden. I wouldn't hesitate to reccomend this B & B and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollywoodjoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Bruerne
3.2 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
423 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Walnut Tree Inn
The Walnut Tree Inn
#13 of 29 in Northampton
213 reviews
6.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
3.4 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#9 of 29 in Northampton
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterways Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterways Cottage

Property: Waterways Cottage
Address: Bridge Road, Stoke Bruerne NN12 7SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Stoke Bruerne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Stoke Bruerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterways Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Waterways Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing