We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Sunday night treat”
Review of The Pytchley

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Haddon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pytchley
Ranked #1 of 4 West Haddon B&B and Inns
West Haddon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great Sunday night treat”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Due to the snow cancelling the planned supermarket delivery we treated the family to a Sunday night roast.

Our children rarely eat meat but were adamant they would eat a full roast with one of them insisting on having the full adult sized meal. As I was feeling generous I allowed this and was quite surprised how far the boy managed to get through his meal there was plenty on the place for a hungry man let alone a 9 year old.

Waiting staff as ever were polite and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riker666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    31
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
43
32
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Called in for a late lunch after another local pub turned us away to find food served all day, got a warm welcome on a snowy winters day & can only report good service & great food. My meal was even held back & kept warm whilst an emergency nappy change was required for my daughter (timing!) & came out unspoilt. Pleased to say baby change facilities were clean & spacious. Recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicNic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy D, Public Relations Manager at The Pytchley, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I wanted thank you for to taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to The Pytchley. We sometimes feel more inclined to write or to post feedback when our experience falls short of expectations, and overlook the opportunity to say thank you when our expectations are exceeded.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and that you and your family were made to feel welcome and valued. Your comments are very much appreciated by all our staff who go out of their way to welcome families to The Pytchley.

Customer service is paramount to us, just occasionally, when things don’t go according to our best intentions, we do everything we can to find ways to improve. Having said that, the vast majority of our customers leave The Pytchley feeling thoroughly satisfied with the value and quality of food and service we offer, and vote with their feet by returning time after time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have eaten at this pub a few times over the last few years and last night was quite disappointed. I chose the seafood taster dish which comprised of frozen mussels, soggy calamari, mass produced tiny fishcakes and frozen whitebait. I have had very good steaks here in the past. They need to stick to what they're good at i think.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HC1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy D, Public Relations Manager at The Pytchley, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I am really sorry that your recent visit to The Pytchley left you feeling
disappointed. As a family-run independent business we take customer
satisfaction very seriously and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

You are good enough to highlight our ‘very good steaks’ in your review, and it is fair to say that The Pytchley has enjoyed a far-reaching and long-standing reputation for the quality and excellent value of our British steaks and grills. As a busy and popular restaurant, we are fortunate to be able to offer a extensive and varied menu: alongside our popular chargrill options, we offer traditional home-cooked pub classics, a daily blackboard offering locally-sourced and seasonal ingredients - including fresh fish wherever possible, a comprehensive range of lighter meals, vegetarian dishes and homemade options for our junior and senior guests alike. Indeed, our aim is to offer plenty of choice for everyone.

Our sharing platters, including the seafood taster dish you refer to, have proven to be extremely popular additions to our menu, and offer great value either as a starter, or for customers who prefer a informal ‘grazing’ experience. The availability of fresh whitebait, New Zealand mussels and scampi is erratic, and we have therefore sourced quality frozen alternatives to an extremely consistent standard. The fishcakes that are included in the platter are not mass-produced, but are in fact freshly handmade by our chef on the premises. The calamari should be hot and crisp, and certainly not ‘soggy - had this been brought to the attention of a member of staff at the time,
it would have been immediately replaced.

We never misrepresent or make false claims about the provenance of any of our ingredients, and our staff are extremely knowledgeable and would have been only too happy to answer any questions you may have had about any particular dish. Our menu is constantly being reviewed and updated, and your comments will be taken into consideration as part of that process.
I hope I have been able to go some way towards redressing your concerns, and that I may be able to persuade to pay The Pytchley another visit some time soon so that you might be able the more positive experience that so many of our guests return to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My room in this excellent little hotel was extremely comfortable, tastefully decorated and very well appointed – tea, coffee making facilities, box containing items that you might have forgotten (toothbrush etc), very large and comfortable bed. The bathroom was modern, clean and spacious – my only moan would be that the water pressure in the shower was pitiful but I mentioned that to the hotel and they said they were going to have someone look into it.

The food at the hotel was also very nice – good cooked breakfast as well as all the usual cold items, plus a varied and interesting evening menu with lots of vegetarian as well as meat options. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmfcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Had a late lunch at the Pytchley Arms, having booked for 4pm (was told when booking that food is served all day). Food was reasonable, but service was extremely slow & staff surly. It was a special occasion, so particularily disappointing. No sign of a manager at the time, or would have complained.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

One of the best Sunday Lunches in the area.

Open most of the day, you can go any time you like as there is no booking for tables and it is a very big restaurant. Always a good choice of Lunches and a great variety of steaks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin_obrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We used The Pytchley as a meeting place for a pre Christmas familty get together. We have tried a few in the past in this area and not been happy enough to to a rebook the following year.From the reviews the Pytchley looked just what we wanted and we were not disappointed!
We all arrived on a Sunday at noon,11 of us and had pre dinner drinks in the bar. There isn't really a just drinking area as all the tables are used for food. The place was packed, and there are a lot of rooms, and a large restaurant. We had of course booked a table and went into the restaurant at 1pm. They don't have a "waitress come to take individual orders system". You arrange the order among yourselves them the witress comes and takes it "en masse". Despite the place being very very busy we did not have long to wait for our food and the Sunday roast dinners were excellent. Well cooked and a very good portion of everything including extra gravy. The presentation of the puddings was first class and the children's puddings were very unusual (little 6" high plastic animals and take his head off and there is your puddiing!) I had the cheese and biscuits - it was HUGE! Three slabs of different cheese.
My wife and I stayed the night in an "executive room". at a very reasonable price' It nicely decorated and very clean. Good TV and coffee etc.

The full english the next morning was one of the beat I have ever had. Just a mention of the staff - all very polite and helpful.

It goes without saying we will be back next year!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilypettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Haddon
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
10.3 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in West Haddon
10 reviews
2.5 mi away
Murcott Mill Farmhouse
Murcott Mill Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Long Buckby
44 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wheatsheaf
The Wheatsheaf
#2 of 2 in Crick
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pytchley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pytchley

Property: The Pytchley
Address: High Street, West Haddon NN6 7AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > West Haddon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Haddon
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pytchley 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pytchley is a silver-award winning four-star country inn, with a traditional and informal atmosphere. 18 stylish en-suite guest rooms offer visitors excellent value bed and breakfast accommodation, conveniently located just 4 miles from junction 18 of the M1. The popular family-friendly restaurant maintains a far-reaching reputation for the quality of their chargrilled steaks, grills and home-cooked British food. See also TripAdvisor listing under "Restaurants". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pytchley Hotel West Haddon
The Pytchley West Haddon, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing