We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and cozy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox at Farthinghoe

The Fox at Farthinghoe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Warm and cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Cozy surroundings, very nice food and wine. Have some good mid-week deals. Service was very good. Something special missing to make this excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Millie123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    59
    28
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My first time in Northamptonshire and a request for a nice pub meal from an 'unpredictable menu'.
It's in a lovely rural setting with plenty of parking. The array of 'reserved' cards indicated a popular location but tables were available on arrival. The tables are well spaced and you are allowed to choose the table you want even if it could take more customers than in your party.
Great choice on the menu as well as special nights - Tuesday offers curry in addition to the main choices. You aren't rushed but your food arrives quickly after ordering. We were served y the owner who was happy to chat and I will be looking out for him amongst my fellow 'Moonwalk' volunteers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MAtravellerSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

The service and attitude of staff was excellent. Very helpful and pleasant. Food itself was also excellent and well presented. We felt that the meal was reasonably priced and good value for money. Very good atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Setting beautiful food lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We met with friends for a Sunday lunch. The setting was beautiful and the staff and service excellent throughout our meal. We had two small children with us and they were very happy to accommodate them, providing high chairs and smaller portion sizes. We as adults, found the Sunday roast to be a bit tasteless. That said the vegetables were very good. Would we go again, yes definitely but we will probably choose off the normal menu rather than the Sunday lunch menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant...Food lacking in flavour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The menu is on the expensive side sirloin steak £19 and an extra £2 for sauce. I had the duck breast which was cooked unseasoned and the skin was hardly brown, the rice that came with the dish was overcooked..
The chicken liver and bacon starter was the best part of the meal..
Service was friendly and there was a good variety of drinks..
If they work a little harder on the quality and attention to detail with the food this could be a great place to be a regular.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox at Farthinghoe also viewed

Brackley, Northamptonshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Fox at Farthinghoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing