We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tempts us away from our home cooked sunday roast most weeks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Oak

Royal Oak
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Eydon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Banbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tempts us away from our home cooked sunday roast most weeks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Wonderful staff, fantastic food and a welcoming atmosphere. Just before putting on our Sunday roast, we always ask the question - shall we go to the Royal Oak. Having recently moved to the area its currently a 50:50 result

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    48
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A fantastic meal and wonderful service and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was our first visit to the Royal Oak. This is a country pub just as you would imagine you dream country pub. A building full of character and staff who are welcoming with a smile and very friendly. We went as a party of 6 for a very good friends birthday. The food and service was truly superb. There is a fine selection of real ales, and good wine selection and the meals we had were so good, we can't wait to find another reason to go back. The Thai Green Curry was the best we have had. Better than in any Thai restaurant we have ever been.
Do we recommend this pub - whole heartedly!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A rural gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

After visiting a nearby wedding venue we took advice and booked a table at this popular location. Proved to be a good tip as food, beer and ambience supported recommendation in Good Pub Guide. Assiette of lamb mmm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SolihullHazza52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The lady that ran the B and B advised that we should try and have dinner here. We phoned and reserved a table and were lucky to get a space. We thought the place had a very convivial atmosphere, and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.
We really enjoyed the food we had. We had artichoke soup, then I had the lamb done several ways.
It was worth the drive. Would definitely go back.
There was no "discretionary" service charge.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Horrendous Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently booked a table here for a friends Birthday. They organised our own private room at the back of the pub for us which was lovely, however the service we received has to go down as some of the most appalling I have ever received.
We were a few minutes late but they knew that we were coming and made no effort to move us quickly into the room whilst we were having drinks at the bar. It then took another 15 minutes for us to receive food menus. We were then asked what wine we wanted and the Manager was very rude when one of our party stated that it would be helpful to see what food was on offer before we chose our wine!
Throughout the next 30 mins, we were told that because we were late our food would be delayed. The staff then left us alone without taking an order so we had to actually chase a waiter to take our order. The order was taken down wrong twice and in fact 2 people were forgotten about, and we had to chase after them to give in these orders.
The staff were constantly rude and unhelpful, didn't clear plates and never came back to check if we needed anything else.
After arriving at 7.30pm our main course finally arrived just after 10.15pm! some people hadn't even ordered starters so you can imaging how they were feeling.
There were no apologies or effort to be courteous and we were left with a very bitter taste in our mouth and the host was very disappointed with their Birthday meal.
The food was pretty good to be fair although after waiting for nearly 3 hours for your food I expect anything would have tasted good.
We certainly will never be returning again and am still shocked by the rudeness and poor service

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalOakEydon, Manager at Royal Oak, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you felt you had terrible customer service when you visited the Royal oak recently.

I think you part of a party of 14-16 people that had booked a table at 7pm for 7.30.pm. We are quite a small country pub and have a 50 cover restaurant so your party was almost 30% of our bookings. When we have a large party we always block out the next 45 minutes to allow for tables being late, so we had no other bookings until 8.15pm. We had planned for your party to arrive around 7pm & be seated and ordered by 7.30pm. Unfortunately some of your party did not arrive until 8.10pm. I had discussed the situation with the lady who had organised the booking and explained to her that we were going to have to start serving people that had booked tables from 8.15pm onwards and had arrived on time. She told me that she understood the situation & apologised for being late.

We did our best to work around other tables that were booked & got your order as soon as we could, whilst minimising the impact on our other customers. We gave you free bread and olives whilst your starters were being prepared and I kept in constant communication with the table.

There was a gap between starters being cleared and mains being served as all our dishes take time to cook, using fresh ingredients and, again, we had other customers who had arrived on time to serve.

We pride ourselves on the food that we serve and customer service is very important to us. We have recently been short-listed for the Northamptonshire Pub/Restaurant of the Year and one of the criteria that the judges are looking at is customer service.

It is very stressful for the waiting staff and the kitchen when large tables are so late and it takes a lot of juggling to try and keep all parties happy. In your case it looks as though we failed and let our exasperation show. I apologise that you came away feeling you had had bad service & I hope this explanation of how it was from our side goes some way to reducing your disappointment.

John Crossan
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Oak also viewed

Towcester, Northamptonshire
Staverton, Daventry
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing