We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific lunch in traditional surroundings”
Review of Royal Oak

Royal Oak
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Eydon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Terrific lunch in traditional surroundings”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The pub is arranged in a series of rooms - based on the house(s) it would have been once. No music. Stone floors. Small bar area. In other words - traditional. This is to be celebrated.
I went for Sunday lunch with friends. The menu is imaginative and uses local ingredients to produce good quality dishes without being pretentious. I had the roast beef, which was delicious. The others in my party had the roast pork and the risotto, which were equally good.
Staff were polite, knew about the dishes, and contributed to the friendly atmosphere.
I would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IIliketogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    49
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byfield
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our new local”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just moved to the area and were taken for dinner by new friends. Everything was delicious, and staff and locals were really friendly. We went back for a quiet lunch, and had again lovely food - the fish and chips were perfect - not sure what the other review is talking about ! So much so we are taking the inlaws back tomorrow night ! Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank r_johnston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lunch was ok - staff great, food ok (pannacotta) to poor (fish & chips)”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Reviews suggested lunch might not be so good as dinner and this was good enough to tempt me back to see how it does. The starter of stilton pannacotta was beautifully conceived, I could see that the tastes would work superbly if the temperature were a little warmer so they blended better. The single walnut half didn't really contribute its share and the pannacotta was unbendingly frigid. failing to enhance the fruit.

The fish and chips were really disappointing (nice peas!). Chips bland and over-cooked, fish similarly over-cooked.

The staff were lovely, very attentive and pleasant. Price very reasonable, however. Certainly worth a second try but overall disappointing on this lunch visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mashie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top restaurant food in country pub setting”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Traditional unspoilt country pub, uncarpeted floors,scrubbed hardwood tables and chairs. Good welcome on arrival. Good beers and sensibly priced wines.
Dinner itself was exceptional, exceeding expectations. Top restaurant food in a pub setting, well cooked and beautifully presented. The menu was extensive enough to provide a good choice without being alarming that the kitchen could be overstretched; factual about what was offered and its content; and not padded out verbally with a lot of ‘culinary puff’  -  the sort of ‘drizzled with this, that and the other” touch.

We had the seared tuna loin with Kalamata olive tapenade, red pepper mayonnaise,and soft boiled Quails eggs to start; then belly of pork;and an Assiette of lamb for mains; followed by dark chocolate fondant (my wife said it was the best she had ever had) and English Cheeses, homemade biscuits, apple and fig chutney, walnuts and grapes. It was all really good, both the taste and to look at, and reasonably priced for what it was and with a sensible wine list both in terms of content and price.
We left feeling we had eaten very well, being satisfied but not bloated. The chef apparently was previously second chef at a major five star hotel in the county.
We felt the atmosphere could have been improved with softer lighting and perhaps candles on tables (we were told they usually do but had forgotten).
When commenting on our very good experience to others it has been reported to us that dinner is as we found it, but lunch may not reach those heights.

We will be returning.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hudibras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a lovely place!
A long bar, with rooms off it. A very friendly, attentive landlord. Well maintained beers and a menu that features locally sourced food. It was all very tempting. But when the food arrived it surpassed my expectations (and I am very fussy). Simply delicious. I started with panacotta of stilton. Sounded odd but was a delight. Then as a main course I had lamb assiette which was pieces of lamb cooked in a variety of ways. Melted in the mouth and beautifully cooked.
The only disappointment was the coffee which was weak.
But overall an outstanding experience in a beautiful village.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oranjezicht1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Oak also viewed

Towcester, Northamptonshire
Staverton, Daventry
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing