We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, good service but needs some refurbishment”
Review of Mai Chau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mai Chau Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mai Chau
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly, good service but needs some refurbishment”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Currently there is little choice of good hotels in this delightful, quiet country area. The Lodge is relatively small and well-positioned. It is good but showing its age. While our room (junior suite – room 201) was very spacious with a balcony overlooking the hills, the bathroom really needed modernising (the shower flooded the floor if on its bracket, the taps were not fixed to the wall and the towels were small and old) and the soft furnishings were tired – but everything was clean. There are some new hotels being built in the area.
The staff were very friendly and the food was simple but good. We used the small pool once but the real reason for staying here is to get into the countryside, see the villages and meet the people, either on foot or bicycle. Our guide showed us some very interesting places, including the preparations for a wedding in a village we visited, lunch with a family in another village and also meeting a farmer who keeps bees.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nka5355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

I would like to thank you for choosing Mai Chau Lodge whilst recently in Vietnam and for taking the time of sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to know that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. It was also a real pleasure to read that you could see the charm Mai Chau Valley has to offer and enjoyed experiencing the local life of the countryside.

We were very concerned regarding the bathroom. The bathrooms will be renovated soon but please be assured that our Maintenance Team has taken the further steps in order to avoid any recurrence of this nature in the future. I am however grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service our valued guests are entitled to expect from a hotel of our category.

I would like to thank you for having shared your impressions with Trip Advisor and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mai Chau Lodge in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    133
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
64
148
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Phuket
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

A small older style hotel. No lifts. The restaurant food is beautiful. The bathrooms are a little shabby with the shower tiles needing a good scrub, but the mould could be from the humidity.
Night turn down is a cute touch. The staff are lovely. Just watch the birds on the roof above the pool area, they poop in your drinks if the umbrellas aren't up.
This hotel is in walking distance to nearby local villages with breathtaking scenery. You really get a feel for local life and culture.if you are on a Gadventures tour you are lucky because optional group dinners at local village farms are a culinary feast, especially if you go to Mae's.
Villa accommodation is being built in a nearby village that looks fantastic.

Room Tip: This is a rural area with the main road to town right outside the front fence. Minimal traffic. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaggas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor! Our team does indeed ask our guests to leave a comment on their stay; there are valuable sources of information, which help us to improve our quality and services.

First of all, I would like to personally apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with the birds on the roof above the pool area. I have immediately brought your comments to the attention of the staff in order to prevent any other guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future.

On a positive note, it was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and especially for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mai Chau soon!

Kindest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
198 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I would agree with previous reviews that the Mai Chau Lodge is a very nice place to stay in Mai Chau. Nice little pool, good food, our room was quite nice and looked out over the pool. This area has many home-stays and we walked around the village past many of these homes which look nice. However, we preferred a proper hotel and were happy we stayed at the lodge. The surrounding area is quite beautiful and great for walking or cycling around.

There was a bit of a mix-up involving our room type and the manage graciously compensated us with a complementary bottle of wine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our property on Trip Advisor.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the food at the Bo Luong Restaurant and your room overlooking the pool. It is great to know that you had a great time in Mai Chau Valley.
Your words are very kind. It was my pleasure to share them with all our staff members and your enthusiasm for our hotel is a great source of motivation for all of us.

I would like to apologize again for the inconvenience you encountered with the room allocation. Please be assured that it was a natural gesture and a pleasure to offer you a small present to show you how much sorry we were.

I hope that you had a wonderful continuation of your trip and we look forward to the honor of welcoming you again very soon,

Warmest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice located hotel in the middle of the rice fields. Its the upmarket hotel of Mai Chai. Nice rooms, decend pool, wifi in room is good, staff is friendly, breakfast is good, if you are here its all about cycling or walking in Mai Chau Valley. The Hotel has good bikes. Of course the rooms are expensive compared to other places. But thats inevitabel if you stay in a luxury hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank twofinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and for having chosen our hotel whilst recently in Mai Chau.
Your feedback is indeed extremely important as it helps us to continually improve and provides a memorable experience to our valued guests.
Your kind words and compliments were immediately relayed to our staff who were very grateful to receive them as your satisfaction is our main priority.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in a not too distant future!

Sincerely,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved the hotel. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable. Some nice touches such as fresh flowers & fruit. We had a swimming pool view which was stunning with the scenery behind.
All staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The food is lovely. We had a massage which was great too.
Would highly recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rjw332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for chosing Mai Chau Lodge and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip advisor.

Thank you for your great words of praise for our hotel, we are delighted that your stay met with your entire approval! Your words are so very generous and will be immediately shared with all our staff members.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Mai Chau soon!

Warmest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed two nights at the lovely Mai Chau lodge as part of a cycling holiday of North Vietnam.
We found the staff to be friendly and attentive and we particularly liked the way the lodge was built and the rooms furnished to be in keeping with the local environment. Our room had a balcony and although overlooked a busy road we had no problem with noise. It is set in the most beautiful valley of Mai Chau and we loved biking around the many local villages nearby and around the rice fields. The Lodge has a very nice swimming pool and we particularly enjoyed being able to have breakfast outside, with great service. It was the 'special touches' that set the lodge apart from other accommodation, each evening a small container with a chocolate and a card with a special verse would be left in the room. then on leaving we were presented with a small handcrafted bag containing local rice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. M.,

Thank you so much for posting such a beautiful review on Trip Advisor.
It was a pleasure to read about your impressions, it is exactly that feeling we would hope all our guests experience.
We were truly delighted to know that you appreciated the atmosphere of the lodge, your room, and the staff efficiency and that you were sensitive to the special small touches dispensed to our valued guests.
Kindly be assured that your positive feedback meant a lot for us and that it has been my pleasure to share your warm comments with all the teams.

Thanking you again and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit soon.

Kindest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Spent a night in Mai Chau Lodge. It was the second time I have been there. However last time I was in the outdoor rooms they used to have over the lake. Now they have been removed and they only offer rooms in the main building.

Rooms are nice, they keep that village feeling and are a little bit dated. Bathroom is correct and what you would expect of a good lodge.

Our room was facing the road, and it is a bit noisy. However during the night it wasn't a problem. The pool is ok and the restaurant serves nice local food. Staff are very friendly.

We booked a car with the lodge from Hanoi and driver was very good for Vietnamese standards.

Do the ciclying tour early in the morning, is a nice way to see the surroundings which are amazing. We also tried a massage that was ok.

All in all probably a good choice for those of you who haven't been to the rural north :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank eddiecreagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Mr. C. and Family,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and for staying again at Mai Chau Lodge while recently in Mai Chau.

It was a real pleasure to read that you were overall highly satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and especially for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. I have brought your comments to the attention of your driver who was very pleased to learn how much you appreciated his service.

Thanking you again for your kind review, I wish you a great day and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future,

Warmest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mai Chau hotels
0.6 mi away
Mai Chau Ecolodge
Mai Chau Ecolodge
#1 of 5 in Mai Chau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mai Chau Villas
Mai Chau Villas
#2 of 5 in Mai Chau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Bungalows
Sol Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Mai Chau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mai Chau Valley View
Mai Chau Valley View
#1 of 8 in Mai Chau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mai Chau Nature Place
Mai Chau Nature Place
#1 of 31 in Mai Chau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mai Chau Family Homestay
Mai Chau Family Homestay
#3 of 8 in Mai Chau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Chau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Chau Lodge

Property: Mai Chau Lodge
Address: Mai Chau Town | Hoa Binh Province, Mai Chau 28000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hoa Binh Province > Mai Chau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mai Chau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mai Chau Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai Chau offers 15 deluxe rooms and 01 junior suite. Each room comes with a unique view of either the front side’s Mountain View or the back side’s valley view. All guestrooms are equipped with Western style bedding, en-suite bathrooms with shower, hair dryer, satellite TV, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, climate control unit and internet access. Tastefully designed with textile accents on the bedding, adorned with traditional furnishings that exude a modest charm, complemented by high ceilings and broad windows amounting to an enhanced feeling of space, the room is peaceful and somewhat exotic.The junior suite is 50 square metres (double that of the deluxe rooms) and comes with a King sized bed, LCD TV, a bath-tub and a larger mini bar. From the large windows, you can see the pretty fields and the imposing mountain ranges from that promise a lovely adventure to get away from the cares of the modern world.There is also a swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna & steam room available in the hotel for your relaxation.A variety of other facilities and services are available to make your stay at Mai Chau Lodge as comfortable as possible. * Private Mo Luong cave * Reading room * Business center with Internet connection * Printer and fax machine * Credit cards facilities * Meeting room * Outdoor swimming pool * Sauna and Steam room * Roman style Jacuzzi * Room service * Daily turndown service * 24 hours front desk * English speaking staffs * Sight seeing and tour guiding * Bicycle rental * Transportation from Hanoi and around Mai Chau * Laundry service * Souvenir shop * Luggage storageMai Chau Lodge offers a full range of great activities to make your Mai Chau experience even more memorable, from walking ethnic tour, cycling, home stay trekking, rock climbing, kayaking, handicraft tour, cooking class to cave visiting and market tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Chau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Chau Hotel Mai Chau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing