We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully located quiet hotel”
Review of Mai Chau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mai Chau Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mai Chau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Mai Chau is a great place and this quiet and lovely hotel fits perfectly. The surroundings are so beautiful. There is a small swimming pool, bikes can be borrowed easily and there is a small spa located in a small house in a lotus flower pond. It does seem slightly run down and very quiet, but we would still recommend it!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Yanzz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and for having chosen the Mai Chau Lodge.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and we are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with your family in Mai Chau.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon, maybe when you will be looking for a nice place to unwind!

I wish you an amazing day,

Sincerely,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 343 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

What an extraordinary gem we stayed at in Mai Chau. Someone very clever thought to put this oasis here and were very clever in the amenities and rooms and overall hotel ambience.
The room was delightful and so many things had been well thought out.

My colleagues and I booked in for massages at the hotel and it was a perfect way to end a long day of travel and sightseeing in the heat. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious and the view overlooking the lake and waterlillies was magic.
Breakfast was very good and the staff were lovely. The idea of coming to a place such as this is for you to switch off, but if in need of being connected, there is free wi-fi available.
I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelManagerLoveIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and for having chosen our hotel whilst recently in Mai Chau.

We are thrilled to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a wonderful time here. It is always a wonderful source of motivation for all of us to see that our efforts pleased our guests.

We endeavour to make every stay at the Mai Chau Lodge truly memorable so it is great to hear that you could unwind and appreciate the serenity of our beautiful valley.

Thanking you again for your great words of praise, we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

We wish you a beautiful day!

Kindest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

A visit puts life into perspective, the mountains are breathtaking, the lodge very clean an luxurious when compared with how the locals live, very grateful for the clean, comfortable air con room, really cannot fault it, friendly staff, good food, free Internet , visit to caves across road a must, as is trip to the village, real life, real people, welcomed with genuine warmth and loved the villagers dancing, real experience of self sufficient community, will remember always! Would love to return with partner .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyd1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Ms. D.,

We were thrilled to read through your comments that you enjoyed your stay with us in Vietnam and appreciated the services we offer.
Thank you very much for your detailed description and your recommendations!

I am glad that you were able to immerse yourself into the local culture. You memories seem as fresh as yesterday and it is so wonderful for us to read that your stay in Mai Chau really left its mark in your heart.

It has been my pleasure to share your kind comment with the staff and they were all sincerely proud to have participated in creating an experience never be forgotten.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you soon again and remain,

Yours Faithfully,

Mae Monnet
Assistant general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The are so many nice things to say about the Mai Chau Lodge. I am not sure I will mention them all. It was a nice touch to be served cinnamon tea while waiting for our room. The service was from all their staff has been spectacular. The little poem that was given with the chocolates will become a keepsake. This is how guests should be treated. The meal we had rates as one of the best. The food was perfectly prepared. It is work the trip to come up here. The mountains are beautiful. The rice terraces are so beautiful in the rainy season

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Mr. & Mrs. J.,

What an amazing review of our hotel! Thank you so much for having chosen the Mai Chau Lodge upon your last stay in Northern Vietnam at the end of July.

Thank you for highlighting that these small touches of service went beyond your expectations.

Your words are so very generous and have been immediately shared with all our teams. All the staff at the Mai Chau Lodge take pride in providing truly engaging service to ensure every visit is turned into a wonderful memory. I am so glad you could feel that it was sincere.

It was a pleasure to read to know that you found the service remarkable, that you really enjoyed the location and the food at the Bo Luong Restaurant! Your feedback reflects exactly the feeling we would hope all our guests experience.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future and wish you a beautiful day.

With our Best Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our Halong Bay Cruise was cancelled because of a nasty cyclone so we choose to stay two nights in Mai Chau. We were delightfully surprised to be warmly welcomed and immediately served cinnamon tea. The colourful furnishing in our room overlooking the pool and the mountains impressed as did the special touches...a fruit bowl, bottle of local rice wine and discount vouchers to use at the spa. All our meals were delicious, the evening of traditional dancing and music magical and our hour long massage was blissful. We spent the time walking and biking.

Room Tip: Ask for delux pool and mountain view double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cromwellwandercats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaiChauLodge2011, Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Madam,

I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed the whole experience and how highly you valued the service, especially the small attentions which are a way for us to prove that we do value our guests. Our staff strive to leave everlasting memories with all of our guests, and I am thrilled to hear we achieved that on your recent stay.
I have shared your positive feedback with all our staff and they were sincerely glad as they could share a bit of their culture with you (95% of our staff are indeed from the White Thai minority).

We all look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a beautiful part of Vietnam this is and The Lodge was amazing too! We stayed for just one night - wonderful atmosphere, great rooms and both dinner and breakfast were fantastic (we are none meat eaters). The views from the Restaurant are amazing overlooking the lake.
Try the Rice wine in the room - quite a surprising taste!
We agree with all the comments saying ' a slice of paradise' - this is the Vietnam countryside that I imagined

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Mr. B,

We really appreciate you taking the time to post a thoughtful review of your experience here at the Mai Chau Lodge
I am glad to know that we could participate in creating a memorable experience of the Vietnamese country side. Mai Chau is indeed a beautiful valley and its inhabitants are really wonderful.
Thank you for your great words of praise for our hotel, we are delighted that your stay met with your entire approval!
We do appreciate the comments regarding your meals and I will pass them along as part of our daily communication sessions. This kind of feedback is a real source of motivation for our teams.

I hope that the rest of your holidays were as great as your time here!

Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon, hopefully for a longer stay,

Warmest Regards,

Mae Monnet
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Love the night here at Mai Chau Lodge, Love the mountain view, great services, great breakfast and i really fancy the lotus pool of yours, overall, a great hotel, great service, you deserve the rank of a four stars hotel despite the fact that the room are small

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazymonkey20082001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaiChauLodge2011, General Manager at Mai Chau Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Crazymonkey20082001,

Thank you so much for posting such a beautiful review on Trip Advisor and for having chosen our hotel whilst recently in Mai Chau.

It was a pleasure to read that you were overall highly satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.
Your enthusiasm for our hotel and for our service is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for every staff.

I would like to thank you again for your great words of praise and please be assured that we all look forward to welcoming you again in our beautiful valley.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Chau
0.6 mi away
Mai Chau Ecolodge
Mai Chau Ecolodge
#1 of 5 in Mai Chau
463 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mai Chau Villas
Mai Chau Villas
#2 of 5 in Mai Chau
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Bungalows
Sol Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Mai Chau
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hoa Binh
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mai Chau Valley View
Mai Chau Valley View
#1 of 9 in Mai Chau
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mai Chau Nature Place
Mai Chau Nature Place
#1 of 41 in Mai Chau
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Chau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Chau Lodge

Address: Mai Chau Town | Hoa Binh Province, Mai Chau 28000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hoa Binh Province > Mai Chau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mai Chau
Price Range: $59 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mai Chau Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai Chau offers 15 deluxe rooms and 01 junior suite. Each room comes with a unique view of either the front side’s Mountain View or the back side’s valley view. All guestrooms are equipped with Western style bedding, en-suite bathrooms with shower, hair dryer, satellite TV, telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, climate control unit and internet access. Tastefully designed with textile accents on the bedding, adorned with traditional furnishings that exude a modest charm, complemented by high ceilings and broad windows amounting to an enhanced feeling of space, the room is peaceful and somewhat exotic.The junior suite is 50 square metres (double that of the deluxe rooms) and comes with a King sized bed, LCD TV, a bath-tub and a larger mini bar. From the large windows, you can see the pretty fields and the imposing mountain ranges from that promise a lovely adventure to get away from the cares of the modern world.There is also a swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna & steam room available in the hotel for your relaxation.A variety of other facilities and services are available to make your stay at Mai Chau Lodge as comfortable as possible. * Private Mo Luong cave * Reading room * Business center with Internet connection * Printer and fax machine * Credit cards facilities * Meeting room * Outdoor swimming pool * Sauna and Steam room * Roman style Jacuzzi * Room service * Daily turndown service * 24 hours front desk * English speaking staffs * Sight seeing and tour guiding * Bicycle rental * Transportation from Hanoi and around Mai Chau * Laundry service * Souvenir shop * Luggage storageMai Chau Lodge offers a full range of great activities to make your Mai Chau experience even more memorable, from walking ethnic tour, cycling, home stay trekking, rock climbing, kayaking, handicraft tour, cooking class to cave visiting and market tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mai Chau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Chau Hotel Mai Chau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing