We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pitsligo Arms Hotel

Pitsligo Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Pitsligo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pitsligo Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 New Pitsligo B&B and Inns
Hebburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I came up to Aberdeen on the 9th August with my Husband for a break /family tree trip as a lot of my grandfathers family was born in New Pitsligo we had to pay a visit,We wanted something to eat and tried the Pitsligo Arms and have to say we only asked for sandwiches and coffee as we still had places to visit when we were shown to our table by friendly staff we were surprised at the size of the sandwiches they were huge served with salad and very very filling I have to say the presentation of the food was beautiful and very tasty ,for service with a smile and prices so reasonable I would recommend this place if you are passing through New Pitsligo

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McIntoshForbesLtd51, Owner at Pitsligo Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi, thank you for your positive comments, glad you enjoyed your lunch with us! C&N x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    9
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
32
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Waitresses were far too busy chatting with guests they knew rather than getting on with serving drinks!
We sat and had our starter with no drink offered (after finishing initial drink at the bar), I suppose it was a bit naughty of me not to ask for a drink, but hey, you'd expect them to notice! Finally got second drink when we were served our mains.
Food was tasty, thumbs up, but the starter of prawn cocktail IMO did not warrant a supplement price!

New menu looks good, hopefully go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limmylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Excellent wedding. The staff was very good & friendly, nothing was a problem. We stayed with them for 3 days, it was most enjoyable we felt at home. The food was outstanding. We had a brilliant time, can't recommend it highly enough. Looking forward to going back.
Eugene & Eilidh

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eilidh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McIntoshForbesLtd, Owner at Pitsligo Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi there and Thank you so much for your great review - It was our pleasure and glad you enjoyed your weekend with us... Look forward to see you next visit to the area! C&N x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

First time eating at the New Pitsligo Arms on Friday evening, but not the last. Had booked a table for 6 to celebrate a combined birthday/anniversary and was pleasantly suprised. Seemed to be a very busy evening for the staff however,we were greeted warmly. The food was lovely and just the right portion/sauce size, although the vegitarian amongst us thought the choice a little limited. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McIntoshForbesLtd, Owner at Pitsligo Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, glad you enjoyed your meal with us on Friday evening - We are currently working on our new evening menus in which we will incorporate more Vegetarian options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I only wish I could write a constructive review as I have stayed here before and both food and accommodation were very good (although the smallest sink I have ever seen in my room).
However after two days and two telephone calls when I left messages on the hotel answer phone service and three unanswered e-mails I still have not heard anything from them regards my request for a single room. I am not sure whether to read into this they do not want 'single' occupancy for one night !!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a bigger sink
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carnoustie6768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McIntoshForbesLtd, Owner at Pitsligo Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello again - We have replied to both your Website enquiries with our explanation as to the delay in our reply to your enquiry - The Hotel is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays (as detailed on our Website) and Voicemails are retrieved at Intervals throughout the two days and always on a Wednesday morning.
Our Accommodation is Full all of this week - With Single Occupants in all our rooms.
As previously stated we do hope you managed to source suitable accommodation elsewhere and apologies we could not accommodate you on your required dates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

A group of four dined here on a Friday, and although we did not book we managed to get a table on the premis we left within the hour. A bit of a rush but managed to eat fast.
The service was quite friendly and efficient and the building is well decorated and quite cool. Not expected in such a village.
However the food did not much the decor. We all had entrees and they were just ok although a bit different. The pate was the first time we had seen it presented with a sauce(?), the prawn cocktails had nice prawns but again too much sauce. I had the combo which was ok.
For mains we had carbonara which was very thick, the chicken and broccali again had too much sauce, the fish with prawn topping also had a lot of sauce. My fish cakes were very disappointing, I really had to hunt for the fish, it was all potato.
With drinks and meals it came to £113 which is reasonable if the food had been better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McIntoshForbesLtd, Owner at Pitsligo Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Sorry you did not enjoy your visit to us on Friday evening, you were advised when you arrived we could accommodate you with a 'quick' supper as we required the table again at 7.00pm... and your party was presented with our 'Summer Supper menu' - You decided to opt for the evening menu and as we can recall took quite a while to order. Norman cooked the meal himself and was satisfied with the way in which it was cooked and presented, it is unfortunate you did not feel the same way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

On a Saturday I went for a drive and had decided to book the Pitsligo Arms restaurant, as I had thought about going there for a while and wondered if it would be good and as it was 3 woman I had in the car and was hoping they would like it. Well they liked it and all want to go back.
The service and food was excellent, a lovely lunch we all had and 4 happy customers loved there visit to New Pitsligo and the Pitsligo Arms Hotel. Certainly recommend a visit there

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redsargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McIntoshForbesLtd, Owner at Pitsligo Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, glad that everyone enjoyed there time with us and look forward to seeing you all again next time your out for a drive! C&N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Pitsligo
11.6 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
17.7 mi away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
16.8 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Davron Hotel
The Davron Hotel
#1 of 4 in Rosehearty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Saltoun Inn
The Saltoun Inn
#2 of 18 in Fraserburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitsligo Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitsligo Arms Hotel

Property: Pitsligo Arms Hotel
Address: 51 High Street, New Pitsligo AB43 6NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > New Pitsligo
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Pitsligo
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Pitsligo Arms Hotel New Pitsligo, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing