We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Freindly Hotel”
Review of Roselawn Hotel

Roselawn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roselawn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Burghfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good Freindly Hotel”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am in Theale on business a couple of days a week at present. Rooms are spotless food is good "pub like" food and the staff are extremely friendly and down to earth. As per the comment from Steven J, I don't understand the other negative comments. This is a cheap good hotel for business travellers and I will continue to use.

Room Tip: Get the newer ones in the extended part of the building. Bigger and no one walking round upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbone-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights in January 2013, nice friendly welcome, good value for money compared to other hotels that I have stayed in in Reading.
Surprised at other reviews as I found my room to be extremely clean.
Brekfast was freshly cooked and tasty.
Will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for a few days a week, for two weeks, a week or so ago and I wasn’t overly impressed with the hotel in general. The rooms were clean to a point; however they could do with modernising or at least touching up the wall paper, which was coming away from the wall in places. The food wasn’t great and in the breakfast room, the plates and cutlery were left out until it was used. I know this as I sat at the same table each morning and on the first day my plate was dusty and I noticed the rest of the plates were the same. On the whole, the staff were all very welcoming and extremely helpful bar a, for want of a better word, moody cow, who was the waitress during breakfast. If you are unable to get up early and be pleasant to people, don’t get a job serving breakfast! It wasn’t too bad on the whole, but little things like no bottled water in your room, drew we to the opinion that this hotel is never worth anywhere near £60 a night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kentish_Rogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Room was OK with no cleanliness problems. Service was generally effective, but sometimes seemed to be for the benefit of the staff rather than the customers ("I've done it this way for 15 years"). The food is sadly not home made, but presentation is competent. There was no salad or vegetarian option on the menu just steak, pies, curry or fish and chips. I had the latter which was a pretty poor quality frozen bake in the oven job. Had an argument with the cook, who definitely should be kept away from the customers as she didn't understand 'the customer is always right' concept.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0beron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi in India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2010

excellent family run hotel with very cosy rooms excellent bar and resturant, friendly staff, well conected with train station bus stop, well cleaned rooms, warm environment

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seby009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

The cleanliness of the rooms and the standard of hygiene is to be concerned.

I doubt that I had new clean pillow cases.
The glass in the bathroom was very old plastic.

The evening meal was totally from frozen then micro waved.

The room was cold

Shower did not work in the en suite. Only a shower room provided.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Unsure if the bed linen was clean and fresh
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burghfield hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Reading M4 Westbound
0.0 mi away
Red Kite House Hotel
Red Kite House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Burghfield
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge M4 Eastbound Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roselawn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roselawn Hotel

Property: Roselawn Hotel
Address: | Near Reading, Burghfield RG30 3RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Burghfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Burghfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roselawn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Roselawn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing