We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flexistay Reading West Aparthotel
Nearby Hotels
$69
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
De Vere Wokefield Estate(Stratfield Mortimer)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Reading M4 Westbound(Burghfield)(Great Value!)
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$120
$114
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
19
27
39
33
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
27
39
33
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconservation trustpetrol stationbasic hotelfirst morningwolflondisearplugs
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 164 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

An abominable hotel. When I arrived and during the course of my stay, there was no heating, and I had to use a small portable electric heater. The room decor was grubby, and the central heating pipes in my room were disgusting (and not working). I have the photos! Food was pile it high and sell it cheap. Limited range of wines, and beer/lager cellar not well kept. Front rooms are yards from busy A4 main road, so noisy until late at night and from early morning. Understaffed, at one point i waited 20 mins to get a drink. Stay away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardWTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKC H, Director - Sales & Operations at Flexistay Reading West Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hello Richard WTC, First of all, we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Negative comments are not always easy to accept however we do think that some of the points you raise require attention. We have commissioned a full report from the Hotel Manager and we will be discussing this matter in great detail. We would apologise for the fact that you did not enjoy your stay.

It is a shame that you did not like the food however we do get a number of good comments from guests and we really do want to highlight this. Many people enjoy both the quality and the value we provide.

The hotel is situated on the main A4 but, in all honesty we get very few comments about the noise from the road however, we can see that this was not acceptable to you.

Finally, we have addressed the issue with the heating. There was an problem with this at the time that you stayed with us however this has now been rectified and, once again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night when attending a friend's wedding nearby. On the plus side, they did let us and three other couples we were with have a room ahead of check-in time so we could get ready, but that is all i can find that's good to say about it. Rooms are really shabby with dated decor and fixtures, and a bit of a smell about them. We returned from the wedding before the hotel bar's advertised closing time, but were told they couldn't really serve us anything as there was an event on the next day and they didn't want to run out of stock for that. The event was a vintage car rally - which meant we were woken up by some very noisy cars outside our room at about half past eight. We had booked in on a deal which included breakfast - which was really really poor, badly cooked, canned / mass-produced ingredients served with little pride. When checking out, we were told that there was no record of our deal and that we would have to pay £10 each for the breakfasts. There were apparently no senior staff on site with authority to review this (at checkout on a sunday morning, surely the busiest time?), so was told to pay the extra and then contact the hotel on monday to be refunded. Emailed hotel, a month later and I'm still waiting for a reply...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mls1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKC H, Operations Director @ SKC Group at Flexistay Reading West Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear mls 1981, Personally I want to thank you for posting your comments. It is very important to acknowledge such, investigate and move on in a positive manner.

At the time of writing, I am still looking into certain points you raise however I do assure you that steps are being taken to address these. Neither myself of the General Manager seem to have received your email but if you would be kind enough to send again and cc to andrew@skcgroup.com I would appreciate this.

Thank you once again. . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here whilst working away from home for a couple of weeks the hotel is basic. However all needs are catered for its clean and tidy. What the hotel may lack in bells and whistles is more than made up for by the staff. Very friendly and always willing to assist in anyway they can. The way the staff treat people is a massive credit to the entire hotel industry.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKC H, Director-Sales & Operations at Flexistay Reading West Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hi Cadfel.

Many thanks for positive feedback. It is great when customers do so. We are a small team at the hotel and our customers are very important to us. Yes it is basic, but comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back maybe in the near future and thanks again for writing this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed one night. Very good value at £32 for a Sunday night but the rooms need money spending on them. Staff were very good and the one chap seemed to be on 24 hours a day, somehow kept his spirits up. Food wasn't bad for the price.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank rodneyburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKC H, Director of Sales at Flexistay Reading West Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Many thanks for writing you review. Being a small hotel with a small quantity of staff, they sometimes have to diversify their job roles. All the staff enjoy working at the hotel and take pride in all they do. Delighted to hear you feel you received good value. There is an on going refurbishment programme happening so hopefully in time should you return, you will see changes.
Once again thanks for writing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night in September 2013. Not a bad little hotel, single harassed member of staff running reception, the bar and acting as waiter. He did really well, and the service was very good.

Room was clean and comfortable, I was overlooking the front car park and the main road but had no problems sleeping. Room was a little cold at night, but fine once I was under the covers, heating had come on in the morning.

Only problem I had was the corridor lighting, there was a 1/2" gap under my door and the light was somewhat bothersome.

Bar choice was very limited, no real ales, just fizzy beers.

Food was terrible. Ordered wings, got 5 of the most anorexic chicken wings imaginable, not even a mouthful from each wing. Saying that they were well cooked and tasty. My main was a steak burger and chips, which was cremated, dry and yuck.

I would stay again, but I certainly wouldn't eat there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prawn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews