We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gesture of hospitality”
Review of Sunset Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chidenguele
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Beach Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Chidenguele B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We kicked off with 3 days of camping in their sheltered campground. It's a small campground so will never be too crowded. Stands are mixed between those suitable for roof-top tents and smaller ones for camping only. The beach is a 200m walk away and with only one small neighbouring lodge, about 700m north, there are kilometres of pristine beach in both directions. The private toilet & shower for each site was a plus and the lodge swimming pool and restaurant an added bonus.

On our 4th day the heavens opened and torrential rain was predicted for the next 3 days. We were not well set-up for surviving such inclement weather with 4 kids... and the prospect of having to cut our holiday short was looming as all sleeping space on the floor was soon a soggy mess. Hearing our predicament the lodge management didn't hesitate in shifting us into a really awesome cottage - the Casa Grande - at no extra cost. This was hospitality at its best. We then proceeded to enjoy the next 3 days, ducking in and out of the rain, but having ample space to dry out in between.

Big thank you to Daan and his staff - we have rated our 6 nights at Sunset Beach Lodge as probably the best family beach holiday we've had.

Room Tip: The Casa Grande cottage is ideal for a large extended families.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swazidarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 32 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2012

We had been quoted (in writing) a price of ZAR310 pppn and told prebooking was not required during quiet season. We arrived to be told that the price was ZAR500pppn with several reasons including "booking agents prices are different" "you just came off the road" "exchange rate fluctuations" and "must be 6, not 4, people sharing". It seemed they managers were just reaching for any excuse and taking a chance. Eventually they agreed that we only had to pay the price we had been quoted. But quite unpleasant to have to haggle for prices agreed in advance!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La villa con 2 camere è la sistemazione migliore
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rukola2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
7
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbow976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
Thank Rickenkarien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chidenguele
4.3 mi away
Naara Eco Lodge & Spa
Naara Eco Lodge & Spa
#1 of 3 in Chidenguele
113 reviews
11.4 mi away
Zona Braza
Zona Braza
#1 of 11 in Xai-Xai
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakeview Resort
Lakeview Resort
#1 of 1 in Chidenguele
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Lodge

Address: Chidenguele, Chidenguele 0050, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Chidenguele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chidenguele
Price Range: $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing