We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, good facilities, good sites.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broken Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broken Head Holiday Park
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The park was clean and tidy when we arrived and the staff business like, only a few tent sites left even though we arrived by 10am Saturday so booking advised. Fantastic place if you surf. I mention the park was clean and tidy, but the Sunday morning scene in the camp kitchen was one of devastation! some "campers" had left the remanants of their night time revelry lying about and of course the turkeys came in and spread it even further afield, as well as knocking off bottles onto the concrete, however within a short time the staff had returned it to normal. I would put a camera on the kitchen and not let them leave until they cleaned it up themselves. Bogans!

Room Tip: A busy site when the surf is up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at Broken Head Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Alex C
We appreciate your recent comments about our 'setting and facilities and good sites' and we thought it appropriate to respond now that we have some significant upgrades occuring as we respond, including a major upgrade to the Camp Kitchen with new BBQ's and doubling them from two to four.
We have taken on board your concerns regarding those who do not leave the facilities as they found them and will look at ways in which we might be able to improve this aspect.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 115 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We had an unpowered camp site. The ground is a little hard, but the location of the park is great. Rigt next to broken head beach and a leafy location, this is the place to camp if you would rather be just outside of Byron and next to a surf beach. The showers deliver piping hot water and the camp kitchen has a full size fridge, microwave, toaster and even a zip hot water tap. Only disappointment is the BBQ we used wasn't very hot.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissFei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Myself and some friends stayed here for the Splendour in the Grass weekend, on a powered camping site.
The staff did do a decent job of keeping the shower/toilet block relatively clean - which was somewhat of a challenge given the amount of mud us festival go-ers were bringing back each night!
Prices were pretty reasonable given it was SITG weekend. A big plus was that they organised multiple daily return bus rides door-to-door, which made a huge difference compared to others being in big queues to get on normal public transport.

The location is really very good - the holiday park next to an amazing beach, whilst Byron is only a $15 cab ride each way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkTBrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in a cabin which appears to have not had any upgrades in the past 20 years or so. The front sliding door didn't work properly & none of the windows locked. Upon checking in I had to sign a waiver that there would be no responsibility to the park for any theft. A bit rich considering it wasn't possible to secure the unit. I made staff aware of this upon leaving & was asked if I had advised any staff about it. Not really my responsibility & don't see why management aren't aware of the condition of their units. Apart from this the park is tidy & in a beautiful location. The units at $113 / night was a bit steep we thought. In it's current condition I would think $70 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at Broken Head Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Tim H,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our park. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are very much aware that there are areas in the park that need upgrading and this is something we are currently undertaking. We have recently completed upgrades to our ‘A’ and ‘C’ Class cabins, installing new kitchens, beds and paint. Unfortunately the B Class cabins where you were accommodated, had not received these upgrades prior to your arrival. We have also commenced upgrading many different areas within the park to make for a more enjoyable experience for everyone staying with us.
As part of our Customer Service Policy when customers depart, we like to check and confirm with them whether they have previously spoken to anyone else before departure, to make sure we capture any issues that may have occurred and then have the opportunity to either address and remedy any issues immediately. Where it is appropriate, it may be necessary to address issues by possibly changing your accommodation to ensure your stay is enjoyable.
We believe you will understand that if we don’t check with our departing customers that their stay was to their satisfaction, and then it may appear is if we don’t care about our customer’s experience. We work on the adage that if we don’t ask we may never know.
We would like to expect that you might return to our Park in the future and see what we have accomplished. Your feedback is valuable and appreciated. Again I apologise sincerely for your disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

when i phoned to book i spoke to a young girl who seemed to have no idea what she was doing, she quoted me $156 for 3 nights in a tent for a powered site. i then phoned back (thankfully) a week before our trip to confirm all the details & i spoke to the same girl who could not find our booking on the system. After a lot of stuffing around turns out she had spelt my name wrong (after i had spelt it out to her during the first call) saying are you sure you have the right place? I then confirmed the price with her again & the dates we would be staying & the amount of people camping & that we had booked a powered site. on arrival they charged me $250+ (cannot remember the exact amount) $100 more than i was quoted) & they had booked us an unpowered site!!! the girls at the counter did not apologise at all instead they had a smug look on both their faces. very unimpressed!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank amanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at Broken Head Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Amanda D,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our park, and please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that our booking caused you. At Broken Head Holiday Park, we aim to provide our guests with an outstanding holiday, and we regret that this was not your experience.
Our booking system and procedure is a very important part of our business and needs to be precise to avoid any misunderstanding. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it highlights an area that may need extra attention. I have spoken to our reception staff regarding this issue and implemented additional training to ensure that your experience remains an isolated one.
Thank you again and I hope you will return to Broken Head Holiday Park in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We camped at the park and paid $75 per night for a small mud patch next to the amenities block which was the least muddy! The amenities were dirty and water would not run down drains properly. The camp kitchen...ha! The bbqs would not heat up and there appeared to be food from the early 80's clogging up any space. Apart from that the park was poorly maintained and the staff were not at all friendly and seemed put out by anything! Not family friendly at all! Will we ever go there again....not a hope in hell!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Loz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Manager at Broken Head Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Loz71,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our park. I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, and offer my sincerest apologies.
Unfortunately, during the last few months we have had an excessive amount of rain, which has caused everything to be wet and muddy.
To address this, we are currently upgrading drainage throughout the park to overcome this problem. We have also just completed an extension and upgrade to our small BBQ area, adding new BBQs and a new sink area. We will be upgrading our main camp kitchen before the year is over.
Please be reassured that our amenities are cleaned thoroughly by management and our yard staff at least once a day during quiet times, and twice a day when busy.
In regards to your unfriendly staff comment, I would like to apologise on behalf of our team. Your feedback is not typical, and we strive to give each guest excellent service. I have spoken to our reception staff regarding this issue and implemented additional training to ensure that your experience remains an isolated one.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The cabin was clean modern and smelt of skittles !! :)
Perfect location on the beach and not far from town.
Polite and helpful staff at reception.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephaniejallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Broken Head Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Head Holiday Park

Address: Beach Road, Broken Head, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Broken Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Broken Head
Price Range: $651 - $1,520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Broken Head Holiday Park 4*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing