We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Sonar Bangla, a more than average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Tarapith
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tarapith
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Hotel Sonar Bangla, a more than average hotel”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night with family and friends on 8th June, 2013.We have booked for three AC standard rooms.We enjoyed our stay in this hotel.They have maintained their lobby,reception,lawn and restaurant quite good but they should have more cautious about their swimming pool.We have found a lot of insects in the pool and the water of the pool is not also up to the mark.Their rooms are average though their balcony is not properly cleaned and maintained.Children will be definitely like this hotel as they will enjoy the pool and also the small children park with a lot of swings.They also have a poolside restaurant.The disadvantages of this hotel will be the distance with the temple and the tariff which is quite high comparative with the other hotel surrounding.Definitely recommended if you are travelling with kids.Another thing I should have mentioned that there room service is a bit slow during rush period. Do not forget to negotiate about the rates if you are visiting without prior booking.What else Jai Ma Tara!!!

Room Tip: Go for the pool view rooms in second or third floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saibal558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    59
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
84
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

stay in new complex with premium AC rooms.lawn and swimming pool are superb.food charges are high.better to have lunch and dinner outside, which is cost effective in such place. temple is near walking distnace 15 mins.new premium rooms are equipped with split ac,bath tub & modern fittings.room charge is 2000 plus.

Room Tip: Rooms on the swimming pool facing in new complex are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kumarjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in a AC room on first floor for a couple of days. The hotel staffs are well behaved and very helpful. Food quality in the restaurant is also very good. The quality of service offered by them is really commendable. The rooms have a good view from the verandah. On the day of departure we were allowed to stay for around two hours beyond check out time to beat the scorching heat,for which I really thank them. Its really a remommedable hotel in Tarapith !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skm_1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Decent hotel in the region. Breakfast was poor, specially the alu parathas. Bathroom was clogged initially, which they serviced in an hour or so. The pool is the best part; well maintained and clean. Rooms are spacious. Overall a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGeek25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent there to offer puja at Tarapith as well as to njoy ourselves on d occasion of our anniversary . In my view there is nothing to complain about in this hotel. There reception was warm, rooms were clean & had a nice view of garden & swimming pool. D best rooms r d pool-facing rooms of 1st floor. Room was spacious, toilet medium sized but clean & comfortable. This is d best hotel of Tarapith as per my experience . D rate is also moderate.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rimanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KOLKATA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Front office is very professional & helpful.Service quality is good & service staff are very friendly & helpful.Swimming pool & nicely maintained garden are an added attraction for the tourists who are staying in this hotel. All of the Hotel staff are very friendly to the kids which make them very happy.
KUDOS TO THE MANAGEMENT FOR CREATING A TOTAL TOURIST FRIENDLY AMBIANCE AT THIS MAINLY PILGRIMAGE LOCATION WHICH DEFINITELY WILL BE AN GIFT FOR THE TOURIST.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
5 Thank SUBARDHAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhubaneswar
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had booked 2 rooms. We did not get what we expected. we booked rooms through cleartrip at discounted rate.toilet was worst. food quality was good but costly. ac was not working properly.room service was good. location of the hotel was good. rooms were very small.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niharswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarapith
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yashoda International
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
0.0 mi away
Deer Park Eco Home
Deer Park Eco Home
#11 of 25 in Santiniketan
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Sarada Hotel
Sarada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Siuri
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonar Bangla - Tarapith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla - Tarapith

Property: Hotel Sonar Bangla - Tarapith
Address: Village-Tarapith, Dist: Birbhum, Tarapith 731233, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Birbhum District > Tarapith
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tarapith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonar Bangla - Tarapith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing