We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant pub/restaurant”
Review of The Black Bear

The Black Bear
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Wool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited this establishment both nights of our stay in Wool, as the food, atmosphere and service were superb! All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, but the service from Carol (I think that was her name) was outstanding! It made the pub stand out from the others in the village. Our food was delicious both nights. We were lucky enough that out second night fell on Curry Night. Absolutely yummy! Thank you so much and we hope to come back and visit you in the future.

Thank Fay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roda10, Owner at The Black Bear, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit enough to return the following evening and that Karen took good care of you.
Thank You Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for The Black Bear
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 285 of 325 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Passed The Black Bear in Wool on several occasions and finally stopped in for lunch last Wednesday with my girlfriend. Was so glad I did, I had the chicken carbonara and my girlfriend the sausage baguette. Both were cooked to perfection. The staff was very friendly and welcoming and we plan to return to try several other of the dishes on the menu. Highly recommended.

Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roda10, Owner at The Black Bear, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review, I am happy that you enjoyed all of your experience, and look forward to welcoming you back soon
Thank you Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The landlady was lovely, she was friendly and welcoming. The food was good too, which all added up to a lovely evening

Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roda10, Owner at The Black Bear, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, I'm glad that I made you feel so welcome..it is always nice to hear that we are providing a good service..
Thanks again Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

to mel and the team,
a thank you,an excellent meal,
starters of soup-very tasty and a loads of bread,
my steak was cooked to my taste with an excellent pepper sauce,
we passed on the desserts as we all were very full after mains always a good sign.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roda10, Owner at The Black Bear, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for your kind review.. I am glad you enjoyed your visit & food..And hope to see you again, when you are visiting Dorset..
Thank you again Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We went for a damp Sunday morning walk and ended with a very nice lunch. Staff were very welcoming and were happy to accommodate us our two teenagers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roda10, Owner at The Black Bear, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, I remember your visit and made sure you warmed by the radiator.. We hope to see you again after another walk/train trip hopefully with better weather.
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Bear also viewed

West Lulworth, Dorset
Chaldon Herring, Dorset
 
Wareham, Dorset
 

Been to The Black Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing