We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little gem in the south”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whitemead Caravan Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wool
Certificate of Excellence
Halsteren, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice little gem in the south”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent about a week on this beatifull campsite near the Tank museum.
Lovely people, good service and very, very wel maintained and cleaned toilets and showers.
There,s tons of things to do in the area and we also liked Wool a lot, specially the Black Bear.
The trains and sometimes the tanks exercising can be heard but the noise never went on at night.
The owner is very helpfull and did regular inspection rounds to check everything is ok. During our stay there was a problem with the hot water pressure but as soon as this was detected people were personally informed and the repair was done immidiatly.
Very wel done! We,ll definitly will come back one day,
Rob and Iris from The Netherlands

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobPlas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    33
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
43
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights recently. Was a lovely, well kept campsite, very clean, hot showers. Nice little playground for children, easy to access everything on site. Owners are quite often around to ask questions and have a chat. Would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just spent 6 nights camping at Whitemead and was very impressed with the site. On arrival we were shown to our pitch and it was a very good size. The showers were very clean and the shop had a good selection. It is very close to local shops and pubs including chinese and fish and chip shop. We took our dog and it was ideal for walking with plenty of fields close to the site. It is quite close to the train station but you soon get use to them. We would definately be booking to go next year.

Room Tip: middle field got the sun later in the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengarry, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent five nights camping at Whitemead, primarily to attend Tankfest. The Park was full to capacity, but the pitches were a good distance from each other, so we never felt it was too crowded.
The Park itself is really lovely and clean. It's very attractive and obviously well-maintained. The amenities block was a bit of a hike from the camping ground, but really not a problem. It was very convenient having a good working laundry, and my son loved the playground.
As the Park is right next to a busy train line, it might not suit anyone sensitive to noise. There was also a lot of gun fire from over at Bovington Camp. And of course, there was excessive tank noise, helicopters flying overhead and explosions during Tankfest!
We really liked Whitemead and were very comfortable there. Would definitely stay again if camping in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend at the beginning of July, and found it to be wonderful. Very clean campsite, lots of space, excellent facilities, free showers. The on site shop was a welcome addition but the site is excellently situated for the train station local pubs and village amenities. We found the owners to be extremely friendly and welcoming. There was some noise from trains and the nearby pub, but this stopped over night so was not an issue.
Overall, we had a really good time here and would recommend it and visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAisannoying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

What an excellent park this is! We cannot praise it highly enough. It is in a great location for local attractions and is extremely clean, well managed and maintained. The owner actually takes the time and trouble to cycle around several times a day just to check that all is well, which is very reassuring. This is a really superb site and we will return again soon. Elaine and Allen Andrews

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gluceste
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

just back from a brilliant weekend break at whitemead, site facilities are superb, cleaned everyday looked like was fitted out yesterday, large quiet pitches which are well maintained,owner also fly's around for a chat / weather update etc, we had pitch 85 which faces west for plenty of lazy afternoons sunbathe, the trains that have been mentioned what trains!! central for Monkey world and tank museum, caught the train into Weymouth on the Saturday had a few drinks in town got back into Wool and popped into the Railway in for a couple more,
every thing aout the village is ideal with chip shop and chinese local we will be returning again next year and for longer visit, and great value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wool
5.2 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
8.2 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bere Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
8.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.0 mi away
Frome Dale
Frome Dale
#2 of 5 in Wool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitemead Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitemead Caravan Park

Property: Whitemead Caravan Park
Address: East Burton Road, Wool BH20 6HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wool
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitemead Caravan Park 4*
Number of rooms: 95

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing