We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic summer getaway”
Review of East Burton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East Burton House
Ranked #5 of 5 Wool B&B and Inns
Denton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A romantic summer getaway”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My partner & I had planned a few days away in the Dorset area , as we wanted to escape the pressures & stresses of life just for a short while.
And we certainly found our Utopia! East Burton House is in an idyllic setting, down a quiet country lane; both the house & the "secret" gardens, complete with wandering hens, are beautiful & peaceful; Shaun & family could not have been more helpful & friendly, yet unobtrusive; our room was clean, comfortable & tranquil & the breakfasts were delicious (& special mention must go to Mike for his professional & efficient service) & enough to set us up for a busy day's exploring at Monkey World, the Tank museum & Weymouth,just to name a few places on the doorstep.
I won't forget strolling down the lovely country lane to the local for a delicious supper of steak and ale pie & the peace and quiet was just what we needed to unwind and recharge our batteries. We will certainly return; probably as part of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterflies62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
26
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable and extremely friendly hosts. Ideally located, especially if you are visiting Monkey World, or the tank museum. Good breakfast choice. Highly recommend.
Thanks for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy-Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The B and B is in a good location for the Durdle Door and Wareham. It was, however, hard to find on the GPS and on the road. Rooms were very nice, beds were comfy and the bathrooms were good. The shower fixtures were flimsy and great care had to be taken not to break them. The breakfast was good and nicely prepared with eggs from the resident chickens. There are several pubs in the area for dinner. We had to use Expedia to book this place and the owner did not know how much Expedia was charging. I'd rather use Booking.com

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42golf56_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashford
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Having a short break in Dorset, East Burton House proved to be an ideal base to explore the Isle of Purbeck. A short drive from Monkey World, the Tank Museum, Lulworth Cove, Wareham, Swanage, and all the main attractions. Room a good size, bed comfortable, breakfast tasty, and made with eggs from their own chickens. Despite being near the railway, the peace and quiet at the end of the day is the perfect antidote to a hectic day's sightseeing. Within walking distance of two very good pubs, what more could you want?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisandick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Welcoming and friendly hosts, helpful and able to answer questions about the area. The room was very pleasant, comfortable and kept relatively cool in the very warm weather. Tea/coffee available and replenished each day. A television was available in the room. The location was just off the beaten track and away from traffic noise. You could mix with the other guests or not as preferred. There was nothing to dislike in my view and opportunity to appreciate the peace and quuiet if desired.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We found this hotel online because we were going to monkey world very close by and needed a place to stay the night. We booked in advance and check in was at 4 o clock but we got there an hour early and were pleasantly surprised to find we were able to go in our room n hour early. The hotel is lovely- very clean and quiet. Our room was spacious with a choice of double bed or single with two fold up beds in the cupboard too. There was free wi-fi and a choice of complimentary teas, coffee's and hot chocolates. There was a nice tv with free view and you can rent a dvd from the hotel for just £2. The beds were extremely comfortable and very clean, the bathroom well looked after with free shower gel and a nice shower. We walked a short distance down the road to the local pub and had a lovely vegetable curry- the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
In the morning we got up for breakfast which we chose from a menu. Everything was fresh and well prepared. I could not fault this place- the staff were lovely and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights and found everything to be as described on the website. Rooms nice and clean, comfortable and facilities good. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice and the location is ideal for the attractions of the area. The local pubs (recommended on the website) are all very good and although we couldn't walk to them because of my wifes' disability are within walking distance for the normally mobile. Hope to be back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fellside13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wool
5.6 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
67 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bere Regis
132 reviews
5.5 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Frome Dale
Frome Dale
#2 of 5 in Wool
70 reviews
1.6 mi away
Countryman Inn
Countryman Inn
#1 of 1 in East Knighton
166 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Burton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Burton House

Property: East Burton House
Address: East Burton House East Burton Road, Wool BH20 6HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wool
Hotel Class:4 star — East Burton House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Burton House is ideally situated within almost 1 acre of gardens in a rural location less than 3/4 mile from the picturesque village of Wool. Wool is a beautiful village situated in the of the Isle of Purbeck on the south coast of Dorset. We are situated in the heart of Thomas Hardy country, Lawrence of Arabia's grave & cottage, Monkey World and Bovington tank museum are just five minutes drive. The sandy beaches of Weymouth, Swanage and Studland, the world heritage Jurassic coast line, Corfe Castle and the Purbeck Hills offering beautiful walks through some of the finest countryside in southern England are all within a short distance of East Burton House. These are just a few of the many attractions and things to do that are located close by. We are a non-smoking establishment and offer excellent accommodation with ample off road parking facilities. Whether you stay on business or pleasure, we are sure you will enjoy your stay with us. There are 3 local public houses within walking distance offering excellent lunch time and evening meals. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your East Burton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing