We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Tabor

Mount Tabor
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Full-Day Christian Tour of Galilee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Welt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“peaceful oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

after climbing the mount tabor from its back, reaching the church and its nice garden is a lovely experience. a nice little garden with trees for shadow, some tables and water for hikers is a welcoming spot for a break after the steep ascent. the church itself is an oasis of peace and calm though there are many visitors coming. unfortunately, the winding road leading to the place is pretty much frequented by cars and mini buses transporting tourist and pilgrim groups and disturbing the silence. walking down the steep road towards mount deborah and deburieh beautiful view. small souvenir shop for pilgrims with very friendly religious from "Mondo X"; possibility for pilgrims to book lunch or to stay over night in the small guest house with a stunning view over Jisreel Valley

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank krogfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    49
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant suprise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Didn't know what to expect here so was quite delighted when we got to the top to find a beautiful church there alongside some ancient ruins. There is also a great viewpoint to see for miles around. You could walk up but we were all ferried up the winding twisty roads by taxi minibuses for a small charge which I think is the best way to get up this mountain unless you are super-fit and up for a mountain climb. We spent a couple of hours here and really enjoyed it. Of course this is a highly significant place for Christian pilgrims.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 830pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Martizpan ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

we went to the marzipan place and found ourselves having a ball. worth every second. the marzipan figures and chocolates and the movie that explains everything.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awe-Inspiring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Church of the Transfiguration, located atop Mount Tabor, was a highlight of our visit in late August 2013. Our lovely guide, Mimi, drove us to the top of the mountain and we braved the heat to take in the beauty of the crusader era ruins which lead into the rebuilt Church. The ruins, along with the multitude of blooming flowers which surround them, were breathtaking. Even absent the cathedral, they would warrant a visit. Upon entering the church, however, we were spellbound. The story of the Transfiguration is told in exquisite detail through the mosaic ceiling of the main chapel, but everything about this place is spectacular - even the smaller side chapels, windows and floors. We were both humbled and inspired. This is one of the most beautiful churches man has built on the planet, and the setting and attendant history render it unforgettable. GO THERE. Even if your interests run more to architecture than religion, this place is awe-inspiring.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FriscoTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
696 reviews
230 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive up to the top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

It's a long winding route up to the top, with many switch backs, but it is certainly worth the drive. We visited the Catholic Church of Transfiguration and walked around the church grounds. There is also a Greek Orthodox Church there. I remember reading somewhere that before the road was built, the only way to reach the summit was by climbing over 4000 steps. The views from the top are good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FlyAtNIght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Tabor also viewed

 
Kfar Tavor, Galilee
 

Been to Mount Tabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing