We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good overnighter”
Review of L'Ile de Sees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Ile de Sees
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mace
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good overnighter”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed over night on our way to Toulouse. Nice quiet location,lovely room and great meal, If i were picky the bathroom could be looked at, shower screen etc. Would not hesitate to use again next time we are in the ares

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandit1200k6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    55
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
90
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here - and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants a hotel in the countryside yet only a few miles from the motorway. The staff are friendly, the owner is charming and speaks good English. The rooms are comfortable and light. The restaurant is spacious and has a relaxed atmosphere. The menu is excellent and good value. My wife is a diabetic and her request for fresh fruit for her dessert was willingly provided - and what a delicious mixture of fruit with a touch of fresh mint.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Al Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We found this in a Logis book, when looking for a place to stay en-route from the Uk to the Dordogne. It was a great find! The location is just a few kms off the main autoroute in farming country. The presentation of the hotel and restaurant was excellent for it's star rating. The restaurant is to be recommended. Worth a visit, just for the food. The staff were all top-notch, and the owner was special. Will be happy to stay there anytime, and not just for a stopover. Would stay there for a few days and explore the area.

Room Tip: Avoid the room with the cuckoo outside the window for it's special rendition of the dawn chorus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raypcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is a former dairy now converted to a lovely country inn. Excellent food in the countryside of France.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Have just returned from holiday in SW France stopping off at L'lle to break the journey. As previous reviewers have said the exterior of the hotel is lovely as are the public rooms. It was raining heavily the night we arrived, so we didn't have a chance to use the bar terrace or explore outside.

The bedroom we stayed in was slightly tired, but it was spacious and clean, perfect for an overnight stay. Nicolas was very welcoming and demonstrated a great sense of humour throughout our stay, something lacking in many hotels. Having read some of the previous reviews of meals, I can only think that the people must have been very unlucky. The hotel offers a range of good value set meals from 20 to 30 Euros, as it was the last night we opted for the 4 course 30 Euro menu and a great bottle of wine, yes this added quite a bit to the final bill, but the meal we were served was well worth it. It was certainly good value in relation to what you would have paid for a similar meal elsewhere.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed overnight on our journey from Cherboug to Aveyron and we really wished we could have stayed longer. From the moment of our arrival and the warm welcome offered to us by Nicolas Leriche we felt at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was excellent and the most wonderful way to begin our French sojourn. The room we stayed in was quaintly individual & very comfortable. We arrived exhausted and left the following morning fully refreshed. We would not hesitate to recommend L'lle de Sees and will definitely be back ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugly050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This is an attractive converted farmhouse ably run by the proprietor.
Bed was 69 euro plus 9 for the buffet breakfast.
Dinner, in a pleasant dining room, and I had the Menu Logis de France at 25 euro.
A rather nice Nuit Saint Georges and some other drinks knocked the price of the stay up somewhat, but even so the prices were reasonable.
If one takes a ferry before 11 AM it is a suitable drive if aiming at Le Mans to avoid Paris when going south to Bordeaux. Not a trip I do very often but I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGavroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mace
3.2 mi away
Le C Gourmand
Le C Gourmand
#1 of 1 in Sees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant du Tribunal
Hotel-Restaurant du Tribunal
#1 of 4 in Mortagne-au-Perche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
7.1 mi away
Le Pavillon de Gouffern
Le Pavillon de Gouffern
#1 of 1 in Silly en Gouffern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
La Maison du Vert
La Maison du Vert
#1 of 1 in Ticheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
15.4 mi away
Chateau de Saint Paterne
Chateau de Saint Paterne
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paterne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
12.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
#3 of 3 in Valframbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ile de Sees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ile de Sees

Property: L'Ile de Sees
Address: Lieu Dit Vandel, 61500 Mace, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Mace
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — L'Ile de Sees 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Ile de Sees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing