We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Litchi Tree
Nearby Hotels
Allamanda Hotel(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
$47
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
$146
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Jardin Exotique(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Le Petit Paradis(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))(Great Value!)
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Sakalava(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Village Diego(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le 5 Trop Pres(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
$23
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Hotel Valiha(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))(Great Value!)
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Le Colbert(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
La Belle Aventure(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))(Great Value!)
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
70
21
1
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
21
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslitchi treenational parkplace to stayfrench owneran oasisbeautiful groundsmontagne d'ambrelittle girlcomfortable roomscourse mealbreakfast is servedfront porchguest suitesmosquito netchefterracemadagascar
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 95 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

What an experience. In the middle of nowhere with the most amazing views of the coastline. The charm is all down to the owner who has hands on control of everything. He shops daily for fresh produce - makes his own bread and provides sumptuous food for dinner. No choice but in 3 nights we were never disappointed. Nothing is too much trouble - as soon as he realised we liked afternoon tea he made wonderful cakes to go with it. And he has a decent wine selection. My only gripe is the lack of wardrobe/shelf space in the room.
We had a major problem with a guide(not his) and he quickly sorted it with our Agent.

Room Tip: The corner room is biggest!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadingDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here mid July. Wonderful grounds with small cottages. The cottages are extremely clean and comfortable. The owner Herve has designed and built them all himself. Herve is also a great cook and serves excellent food. He was able to set up all of our activities and transportation. This was one of the nicest places I stayed in Madagascar and I would definitely recommend staying here to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikethurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The food here was imaginative and delicious without exception. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed every meal, including the packed lunches.
The setting of the hotel is lovely, although a few places to sit and enjoy the view would have been welcome.
The room was charming and the limited period of electricity each day still gave me time to charge my camera. My reading material was on a Kindle paperwhite which has its own light and a battery that lasts weeks so the limited lights caused no difficulty, but my husband was reading by torch, which was trickier.
The lack of internet was not a problem for us although it meant that my morning paper did not come to my Kindle, which may have been just as well.
The nearby dry forest national park was a delight, the trails easy to negotiate and the chameleons amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for three nights whilst visiting the Amber Mountain NP, just up the (very bumpy) road. The house and location are beautiful, with fine views out over towards the coast. Our room (No. 1) was very spacious and comfortable - the only downside (at all!) being a rather puny shower. The rooms are in the old stable block, and are surrounded by bougainvillea and other flowers - and home to some very pretty bright green day-geckos!

The main house has a comfortable bar area - great for meeting up and chatting with other guests - and the dining room. The food here is fantastic, cooked by the owner Herve himself. All our meals were absolutely top class. Herve is the perfect host, and provided us with a first-class packed lunch when we asked (at short notice).

There was plenty to see for two days of walking in the National Park, although many guests seem to spend just a day here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

What an unexpected delight this guesthouse turned out to be! On the outskirts of Joffreville this renovated house offers high quality accommodation. The room was spacious and clean with stylish furnishing and solar heated showers. Herve and his staff go the extra mile and opting for the 3 course dinner is recommended, delicious food and vegetarians are well catered for. It is 4 km from the park entrance and set on lovely gardens with a view towards Diego Suarez. Although slightly pricey it is well worth treating yourself, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supertraveltracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews