We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Litchi Tree
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Joffreville
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Allamanda Hotel(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kartiffa Hotel(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
La Poste Hotel(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Emeraude(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Le Jardin Exotique(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
View Hotel
Hotel Le Petit Paradis(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Sakalava(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Village Diego(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel de la Baie(Antsiranana (Diego Suarez))
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
69
20
1
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
20
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslitchi treenational parkplace to stayfrench owneran oasisbeautiful groundsmontagne d'ambrelittle girlcomfortable roomscourse mealbreakfast is servedfront porchguest suitesmosquito netchefterracemadagascar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 93 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were booked in here through Rainbow Tours - they know Madagascar very well and this was an excellent choice.

Beautiful location, wonderfully restored old building, excellent food and wine (amazingly given they have to be brought by car from 'Tanna).

Hervé, the owner and restorer, is a great host with helpful local knowledge and a great sense of humour.

The location is very convenient for the Amber Mountain park and you'll see great wildlife from the hotel grounds as well - Bee -eaters, Madagascan Kestrels, Sunbirds, Crested Drongos, Madagascan Hoopoes to name a few. Giant House Geckos and nocturnal visits from Ring-tailed Mongooses too.

You'll not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenuineFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A lovely old colonial building with nicely kept grounds to wander in and spot the odd chameleon or snake. Accommodation is 5 rooms in a converted stable block away from the main house; rooms are very large with nice pieces of furniture however they mostly have only double beds and although we checked several times with our agent that we had 2 twins rooms we were given a room with 2 beds and one with just a double. It was sorted out the next day but led to a stressful arrival.
A problem was electricity only being availalble in the rooms from 6-10pm, this meant you couldn't come back from a trek during the day and make a drink nor an early morning cuppa and it was reading by torchlight in the evening! Also, although the rooms had a lovely terraced area there was nowhere comfy to sit and read and relax, just a hard wooden bench; a small investement to provide some deck chairs or even some plastic cafe type armchairs would make a difference.
The food was amazing, sourced and prepared by the host/owner and worthy of any top city restaurant. As in most places we stayed there was no menu just a confirmation of anything you didn't eat, but we were not disappointed by the flavours, presentation, quality and variety in the meals. Litchi Tree also has a great bar for evening drinks and a decent selection of wines, all at reasonable prices.
The service is excellent in all aspects ( I needed 2 T shirts washed and these were done and left on my bed with no charge, thank you!). and everything used is a quality product .. from the dining room to the bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I absolutely loved this place. It is probably the poshest place i have ever been in. The food was fantastic, the location stunning and it is run superbly - and yet it is affordable. I realy cannot rave about the place too much. Try it out if you want style, comfort and cordon bleu.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 2 days in this boutique hotel in Madagascar and it was a really pleasant surprise especially after 10 days of travel and having experienced the less than satisfying hotel standards in the country. Only 6 rooms but with great taste and attention to details while maintaining an eco-friendly approach and blend in with the wonderful natural surroundings. Beautiful garden. Dinner is also a pleasant surprise. One of the few places with european standards we found in our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ttalevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Was by the far loveliest place we stayed. We only wish we had longer there! I'd absolutely recommend this place to anyway. As well as wonderful rooms, the food was absolutely head and shoulders above anything else we had during our time in Madagascar.

Definitely go here if you get the chance!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chameleon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews