We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Jail

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Willowmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Jail
Ranked #1 of 4 Willowmore B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I spent 3 days in the lovely Old Jail. The service as well as Karen and Oleg, the owners, were very friendly. It's a beautiful oasis in the Karoo, with big gardens and old, preserved guestrooms which have their own individual courtyards. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Hospital Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is an amazing place to stay. Fantastic rooms, great breakfast and best of all your hosts Karen and Oleg will make sure you are well looked after. Attention to detail is the norm. Learn about the history of your "cell" and those who have served their time before you. Absolutely fascinating. We stayed here for 2 nights and were made to feel so welcome and at home in this very comfortable and stylish guest house..if you are looking for somewhere to stay in the Willowmore make sure you stay here. Thank you Karen and Oleg for looking after us.

Room Tip: The hospital is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLouBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen v, Owner at The Old Jail, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Wow, thank you, glad you were so happy to stay with us and do come again, you were such lovely guests to have. Keep well and all the best, love Karen and Oleg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Unfortunately we never got to stay a night here at this beautiful spot but were at least able to drop by for a quick visit. When we arrived we were met warmly and were treated to a homemade cake and delicious coffee, plus we were able to take a tour of their beautifully restored venue. Karen and Oleg are wonderful people and wonderful hosts so if you ever drive through Willowmore make a point to stay here at the Old Jail, you won't regret it! Thank you again guys!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jjdutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen v, Owner at The Old Jail, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
wow, yes, thank you, we too would have enjoyed you staying over for longer... and it was a pleasure showing you the building and the cells and the cellar!!
Come again, and you will be heartily welcome! Regards to all....karen & oleg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

After a long 10 hour drive from Johannesburg, a respite was needed and The Old Jail offered the very best I could ask for. The rooms were incredibly comfortable (even the solitary confinement room). It was a truly an unforgettable and pleasurable experience with friendly service, beautiful gardens & scenery and comfortable beds which were sorely needed after a long drive. The Old Jail is definitely my recomendation for everyone driving down from the North to the South of South Africa. Now all I need is to get a life sentence to The Old Jail (Willowmore).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raddy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen v, Owner at The Old Jail, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks Raddy99 .... you and your wonderful family are always welcome, would love to meet the head of the clan one day, so please do come back.. have a wonderful holiday and Xmas at the coast.. and much success in the new year, xxx Karen & Oleg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, KwaZulu Natal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

When choosing places to stay for our trip through the Eastern Cape, we were looking for 'interesting' places. The Old Jail most certainly fit this criteria. Karen and Oleg were able to share the history of Willowmore and The Old Jail with us.It is apparent that the renovation and decoration of The Old Jail has been a labour of love! Karen and Oleg continue to search for antiques to add to the amazing collection that are already incorporated in the decor.
Guests are warmly welcomed to The Old Jail and are made to feel at home. The luxurious Hospital Room is beautifully decorated as is the large en suite bathroom. We were sent on our way with a delicious and substantial breakfast.
The Old Jail is at the top of our list of places to stay when travelling through the Eastern Cape in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyBenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is by far the most unique room we have ever stayed in. The Old Jail is surrounded by a beautifully landscaped garden. It is a quaint old building that has been impeccably restored. We stayed in the Hospital room with bathroom attached and fire place. The hosts were friendly and helpful. Our breakfast was delicious. This is a definite stop - you can't ask for anything "More" in Willowmore

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgem13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Old Jail is not like any guest house we've ever stayed in... the sensitive restoration of a genuine jail in this quaint village is fantastic, and to experience the luxurious fittings juxtaposed against the stark jail architecture is an experience in and of itself. Our hosts Karen & Oleg were wonderfully hospitable but never intrusive, and we decided to spend 3 nights instead of the 2 we originally booked as we were enjoying the surrounds of the Baviaanskloof, Graaff Reinet etc that much, and although we would happily have paid the full amount, Karen let us know that they offer a discount for three night stays!

Willowmore, is hardly what one would call an attraction, but as a place to stay to explore this forgotten corner of SA, with the amazing Baviaanskloof etc I don't believe you could do better than to stay here!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SeanoPienaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willowmore hotels
0.2 mi away
The Willow Historical Guest House
0.2 mi away
Keurfontein Country House
Keurfontein Country House
#3 of 4 in Willowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
15.8 mi away
Duiwekloof Lodge
Duiwekloof Lodge
#1 of 6 in Willowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Zandibela Private Game Lodge
Show Prices

Been to The Old Jail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Jail

Property: The Old Jail
Address: 15 Blignaut Street, Willowmore 6445, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Willowmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Willowmore
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Jail 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three luxury rooms in the main building of the Old Jail and one family self catering unit with kitchenette and barbaque ( braai) area in the Old Stables sleeping 2 to 4, also on the same property with very large and safe parking area.See the web site for more specifications on all the 4 different accommodation options. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing