We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural motel”
Review of Church Farm Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Church Farm Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Harrington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rural motel”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The rural motel in the farm buildings alongside the pub worked really well. Quality breakfast with business folk and tourists up early at 7pm. Fast broadband too. Thoroughly recommend. Wear a West Ham shirt to wind up the young lad in the family: optional.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    65
    13
    12
    7
See reviews for
24
98
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We used this as our base for the Silverstone GP. The room was spacious and beautifully furnished, with an extremely large bathroom. The bed was so comfortable, and it is so quiet here that we both slept really well. Even though breakfast was supposed to start at 7am the staff opened a little early so those of us off to the Grand Prix could get on our way nice and early. The breakfast itself was mostly self service and was impeccably cooked with a good choice of cereals, juices etc. All in all we were very impressed by this little gem of a place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BessTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

7 of stayed overnight at this delightful barn conversion. The rooms were light and airy, with exposed beams. Beds were very comfortable, staff extremely helpful. Full English breakfast was really well cooked, and the whole experience was top class. Why would anyone want to stay in a plastic hotel when they could have this. Oh - and the price was very reasonable too!
We ate at the pub - a 30 second walk away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley5899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I booked a room here via a telephone coversation for a very resonable price of £65, which was cheaper than others we had called within the area, however my 1 year old daughter was suddenly taken poorly (serve sickness & diarrhea bug) there was no verbal agreement/contract on cancelation fees ect, however my partner called to cancel our room with no problem at all as our daughter was too poorly & was admitted to hospital, that was the end of our weekend away or so we thought, a week or so later upon checking my account i notice that Church Lodge Farm had deducted £87.50. i obviously called to find out why we had been charged as no mention of this when we cancelled or booked our room.
I have never come across such a vile excuse of a human being, who not only used foul language towards me, also made remarks of how little he cared about my daughter being poorly as i didnt give a second thought for him nor his business & he was sick of people cancelling on him? .......confused? yes me also! was i being punished for the actions of others? not only did he hang up on me serval times, he did not have a vaild reason for charging me a lot more than the room price itself! i also had his wife screaming in the background down the phone, very professional! i simply wanted to know why he chose a ramdon amount to deduct from my account.
This resulted in us personally having to travel up to church farm lodge to resolve this matter as he was refusing to talk to us via telephone upon arriving at the lodge he then changed his story to say that the room price was infact £87.50 (i was quoted £75 else where & booked here as cheaper) he also had the front to print of a hand typed invoice quoting £87.50 for theroom. bare faced liar! he refused to speak to my partner so we had no choice to call the police for assitance with this matter, we managed to get £43.43 refunded back to our account. i found this whole situation very stressful & the verbal abuse & foul language used was shocking. i would advise any one not to share their bank details with this hotel, fraudulent activity may take place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Easy to find, well with a sat nav anyway. Booked on-line easy, check in easy and friendly. Stayed in room 8 a lovely barn conversion low windows cosy and comfortable room with tea and coffee making facility nice en-suite shower etc. We had evening meal at a lovely pub next door called Tollemache Arms its literally a stones throw away the food is excellent and very welcoming. Breakfast was indeed as was expected from the comments we read on here and did not disappoint in any way. Great value for money at 67.50 including breakfast per couple, and very well run clean and organised. We chose this accommodation for the price and good comments they had received we had to visit family for a funeral in Kettering Crematoria it was not far.

Room Tip: No pool and did not have children with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazza1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I were attending a family wedding at Kelmarsh Hall and stayed at Church Farm Lodge. The room (in a converted barn) was just what we were looking for (comfortable, tidy and well appointed). Breakfast was great, the staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful. Harrington is a bit remote from other towns, so bear that in mind, but we were quite happy to stay here.

If you need some food, the Tollemache Arms (which is almost next door) serves good food and we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillinhoBamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed here as we were attending a wedding at nearby Kelmarsh Hall.
The rooms were very clean, cosy and comfortable, with lovely high wooden beams.
The place was very remote, with not much around to do. If you don't have a car, getting around is expensive. The cheapest cab quote from Church Farm Lodge to Kelmarsh Hall down the road was £25! You can negotiate cabs to and from Kettering down to around £15.
The window for breakfast was from 7am to 8:30am. This was far, far too early for us to make. It should be served until later. The staff, while always helpful and friendly, were hardly ever around, and the reception was not continually manned.
All in all, I would say it's a nice place to stay, but given it's remoteness, basic services and unsociable breakfast times, I find it hard to justify it's £67 a night price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharmVara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrington
6.9 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kettering
9.7 mi away
Travelodge Northampton Round Spinney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
217 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
5.2 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#1 of 5 in Market Harborough
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Lodge

Property: Church Farm Lodge
Address: High Street | Harrington, Harrington NN6 9NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Harrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Farm Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, luxury barn style accommodation set in the peaceful rural village of Harrington. Located 2 miles from J2 or J3 off A14, with Kettering and Market Harborough 10 minutes away. Bed and breakfast with single, double, family, suites and kitchenette rooms. Ample free parking, free internet, sky sports and full English or continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Church Farm Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing