We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really special experience”
Review of The Ruin

The Ruin
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grewelthorpe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ruin
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I picked this as a surprise weekend destination for my husband's 50th birthday in March. It was outstanding in every way. The property is beautifully and sympathetically kitted out, it was spotlessly clean and toasty warm. The view from the terraces was breathtaking, particularly in the snow! We lit the stove in the bedroom and even managed to sit out on the terrace, well wrapped-up on the Saturday. The area is lovely too - we visited Fountains Abbey and had tea at Betty's in Harrogate and then returned to the peace of The Ruin to enjoy a bottle of wine and the scenery. It was not cheap, but it was worth every penny for a special occasion. Absolute bliss - and the look on my husband's face when we arrived and then when he saw the view from the terrace was priceless.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Nicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for The Ruin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Its all been said in earlier reviews but if your looking for somewhere to stay for that special occasion this is the place to be. We came back here to celebrate my birthday with my hubby Stu. We were here 6 years ago and we had always planned to return and so glad we did. The building is one of many follys in the area and at Hackfall. Some brilliant walks in the area. The Ruin is a quirky building and has to be seen to be enjoyed. The midnight naked dash between the bedroom to the bathroom is fun, which involves a run outside between the two rooms The underfloor heating helps. The view from the terrace is outstanding.
The Landmark Trust manage the bookings for the Ruin and keep the building wind and water tight. Thanks LMT.
The local town Masham is well worth a visit as is the Theakstons brewey for a good pint.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Bearscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Can only encourage anyone wanting to experience something entirely unique and English to investigate the Landmark Trust property - called 'The Ruin'. It is set within a larger landscape that includes other follies and a river with plenty of space to wander and enjoy the local environment. Even better - its a short walk to a local town for lunch at the local pub. The Landmark trust do amazing work restoring and managing fabulous properties. Can't rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SDit54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Three great things about this place:
(1) an unusual 'dual character' Grade II* listed 1760 Gothic/Roman semi-folly beautifully restored as a comfortable and refined accommodation
(2) a Grade I listed woodland (and SSSI) literally on your doorstep in which to enjoy scenic and invigorating (if often muddy) walks at your convenience
(3) a fabulous view from the terrace [or even inside the main room and bedroom] that is so easy to become addicted to - spending quality time simply absorbing the view and casts of light at different times of day/types of weather, with the constant background 'gurgling' of streams and the foaming River Ure.

The howling noise of the wind, the dashing across the terrace (with torch at night) to/from the bedroom/toilet, the paranoid locking of all doors [to keep out over-inquisitive passing ramblers] all added to this truly remarkable experience.
The furniture is sparse and antique, in character with the building, but the storage heaters and underfloor heating ensured I was comfortable in each room (despite the stone floors!). And a conscientious housekeeper had seen to it that everying was clean and spick and span before my arrival.
So clever how they devised the special wooden sash blinds instead of curtains, and the mahogany-cabinet concealed sink and stove units.
And I really enjoyed browsing some of the fascinating books and reading material having some connection with the site (e.g. about Follies, or the very detailed Conservation Management Plan for the Lottery-funded restoration of the building and adjoining Hackfall woodland).

It's a bit of a hassle accessing the site with four farm gates to open and close behind you each time, but once you're settled in, quite frankly its so cosy that you don't want to leave (except for a bracing woodland walk - don't miss the mini-sandy beach by Sandbed Hut on the 'shore' of the river, or the charming and unusual Georgian follies in their mysterious semi-restored state!).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dlp6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

A stay in The Ruin is a unique experience. It is a former Georgian banqueting hall in an isolated spot high over the Hackfall woods. The setting was not immediately apparent to us when we arrived in the middle of a freezing February night, but sunrise revealed a truly magical view over a wooded gorge and distant hills beyond the Vale of York. The property has been lovingly restored and ingeniously incorporates modern facilities without compromising the historic charm. It is simply but elegantly furnished with Georgian pieces, there is underfloor heating throughout with an open fire in the bedroom. The Landmark Trust makes sure that everything you might need for your stay is provided. It is an extremely comfortable and romantic place to be when the wind is howling outside. Access to the three rooms is via an outside terrace at the back of the building so a torch is a must for a night-time visit to the loo. As the terrace is a public right of way, we also encountered the odd curious rambler, but fortunately only in daylight!
The nearby town of Masham is charming with its useful traditional shops and galleries in the huge market square and no fewer than two breweries. The Ruin is the perfect spot for a gloriously secluded and very romantic weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BirKer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I booked this Landmark Trust property for a long weekend in December one year for my husbands birthday.
It was a great place but a bit spooky. We arrived in the middle of a howling gale in the dark and had to run up the path form where we parked (You cannot park immediately outside the property but have to drive past it beyond some trees,) Once inside it was quite cosy but the wind howled and the shutters rattled! To go from the loung to the bedroom or bathroom you had to go outside at the back and dash along the cobbles.
As it was pitch black this too made it quite spooky. It is amazing how many noises you hear in the middle of nowhere! I made my hubby get up and accompany me every time I had to visit the bathroom at night.
All in all it was a great experience and I would go again, however the Landmark Trust have so many interesting properties I may have to try out a few others first.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
7  Thank crazeemaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ruin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ruin

Address: Hackfall, Grewelthorpe, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Grewelthorpe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grewelthorpe
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This little pavilion is dramatically perched above a steep wooded gorge, in the remnants of an outstanding 18th-century garden at Hackfall, conceived and created by the Aislabies. A richly decorated sitting-room opens onto a terrace and from under the ‘ruined’ arches miles of Yorkshire countryside roll out before you. The sitting-room is flanked by a bedroom and bathroom; flitting between the two wings across a moonlit terrace is a truly Gothic experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing